We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Teeny tiny rooms but location sort of makes up for it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Teeny tiny rooms but location sort of makes up for it.”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Do not stay in this hotel if: you have large luggage, you intend to work in your hotel room, you have to stay in the room with a friend, or you have to stay in the room with anybody else for that matter. They gave me a free upgrade to a superior room, but it was still so small you could never live in it with another person.

The good stuff: awesome location in the heart of Chinatown and surrounded by restaurants and tourist attractions, half block away from MRT, generally clean enough for what you pay, hotel is new, large TV, fast in-room Internet for free, great food everywhere around it

The bad: small small small, TV had 6 channels, no restaurant or room service, my room had a window that overlooks the street, after around midnight the garbage truck wuld arrive and collect from the restaurants below which meant loud clanging noises and stench of rotting food for about 15mins, at around 5pm the whole hotel starts smelling like food because all the restaurants around it start cooking.

The OK: service

Recommended for solo budget travelers who don't want to live in bunk beds or backpacker style inns, or business travelers who will spend all day in offices and not in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccd_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    297
    302
    108
    69
See reviews for
80
299
157
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Rooms really are tiny, even the so called "superior" is only 12 square meters! comfortable beds , though small too. Biggest problem for me, no curtains. Why oh why do so many hotels these days assume you want to wake up at 6.30 soon as it gets light? NO!! I want to sleep!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo1969crawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Room is just a little larger than a casket . . . Seriously. The good? 1. Location is great, right in the heart of Chinatown. 2. Fixtures in room done in contemporary style. They attempted for boutique chic, but missed the mark with regard to functional design. The room, for me (standard double; queen bed), was actually so small it was uncomfortable. One has to maneuver even to put shoes on. There is no space for luggage, so whenever you need something, you dig under the bed, wrestle your suitcase (mine was a carry-on) up to the bed, retrieve, then replace. And forget doing any work, as there is just no place to do or set anything, except for the surface of the bed. The glass walls for the bathroom enclosure are interesting, but I doubt many couples want to toilet in front of one another. (Pooping inside an illuminated glass case, anyone?). The hallways are very dark, almost a safety concern, and there is absolutely NO light above the public computer in the first florr hallway. These are all oversights that definitely impact the guest experience at your hotel.

Regarding service: This is a new hotel, so some growing pains might be expected. But for housekeeping to have missed the mark so badly on day two (no vacuuming, no toiletries, etc); for a desk clerk to say there is absolutely no way to print a boarding pass, then later offer to do it for $.50 a page; for a wet mop to be left in the hallway outside my door for 9 hours (after I mentioned it); and for the Internet to be out/spotty for 1 1/2 days and the staff be rather apathetic about it (or just completely confused), well .. these are things that will hurt you in the long run. In my opinion, with the rooms being so small (even compared to Japanese rooms) the only way the Porcelain will win is on service. And they've a long way to go in that regard. The next time I'm in Singapore, I'll pay a little more for a more comfortable room and more polished level of service. Unless I'm traveling with vampires or a corpse ... then they'll be right at home.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrozzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Good things:
1. Received complimentary foot soak & welcome drink voucher upon check-in.
2. Room design is really cool.
3. Bed is cosy & large (I stayed in a Standard Double)
4. Washroom is spacious.

Bad things:
1. The room is really tiny. When I entered the room, I could already reach the bed. I think only 3 people can stand in the room at the same time. If you have large baggage, you won't be able to open it.
2. Fire alarm was on in the middle of the night (at 4:45am). Following was the announcement of false alarm which had been repeated for 6 times. Although the bed was cosy, I could not sleep well and this stupid false alarm really pissed me off.
3. I requested a hair dryer at 1:00am and what I got was 'hair dryers have been loaned out'. I requested once again in the morning and was finally delivered after 10 minutes of my request. Thanks god.
4. Soundproof is not done very well. You can hear people/ staff talking/ walking in the corridor.
5. Washroom is partitioned by glass. It may not be very good if you stay with your friend.

I love the style of this hotel but the service and amenities could be better. If the rate is very low, I don't mind staying here once again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halenhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I paid sgd$139++ for a standard rm which I was told tat I had been upgrade to an executive rm as it was our 1st visit to the hotel. E rm is windowless. We stayed on e ground floor. It wasn't sound proof but it was noisy. It is really small. But e bathroom took about half e rm. There were lotsa tiny tiny bugs crawling ard on all wooden surfaces. N somehow e bedsheets felt dusty. Perhaps there weren't many visitors to Tis hotel since it opened recently? Anyway, all toiletries provided which is gd. E tv is big and it's nice experience if u love watching tv. I'm just put off by e mites n dust. Otherwise it's a pretty urban and chic boutique hotel. Oh there's free wifi. U can't get any 3G signal on e groud floor rooms. E price is consider steep to me as there r better boutique hotels around chinatown tat offers betta cleaner rooms!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noside666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

When I arrived at the Porcelain Hotel the service was not very warm and friendly, and we were standing at the reception for a while before the concierge organised our room for us (although when we left the staff then was very attentive). The room itself is on the small side, and it was a bit tricky fitting our luggage in. The hotel also does not have a swimming pool or gym which 4 star hotels usually have. The bathroom is separated from the bed by a glass enclosure, which may be a bit uncomfortable if you are sharing a room with a friend!

Although we didn't hear much street noise, around busy periods such as Chinese New Year I can imagine it may be a problem as I could hear some sounds even at the 4th level. Mosque Street is also not the nicest street in Singapore, and maybe even a little seedy at night. Another very minor point is that we found that the towels 'moulted' or left white bits on you when you used it.

However, the hotel itself is new and so very clean. The bed was really comfortable, and the room had a flat screen TV and air-conditioning. Most importantly, the hotel is walking distance to Chinatown MRT which is quite close the Orchard Rd, and Maxwell Food Centre which is a Hawker Centre in Chinatown with great and cheap food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s_phung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
668 reviews
Hotel Boss
#150 of 312 in Singapore
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,404 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
847 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing