We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked an Executive Room and stayed for one night at this hotel. Room was quite small but offered everything I needed. I also like the contemporary style. Room featured a wet cell style bathroom. Bed was very comfortable. It would be nice is the TV program selection is a bit poor. Only CNN is worth mentioning. Check-in area and floor ways are bit dark. Black colored to be precise. What is missing is a nice hotel restaurant/bistro. Hotel location is one of the best features of this hotel. Right in Chinatown and a 2 minutes walk to Chinatown MRT station. It's not a hotel for families or honeymooners, but fits the profile for younger guests and business people.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 875 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for one night enroute to Bali and we were not looking to book anywhere to epxensive. the hotel is in the heart of Chinatown so lots of food options around. The Porcelain branding is well used throughout the hotel. The rooms are small but very functional, clean and my bed was very comfortable. My only real critique for this hotel is that the reception staff could do with a but more presence, the check in was dull and robotic and the staff lacked any sort of enthusiasm or character. Check out was a little better but again, nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We arrived a little after midnight and the staff were still friendly and helpful.

The rooms, as mentioned were tiny. But if you do your research and view their website, you would see this in the room photo's.

For us, we were only needing to bed down for the night befor moving onto somewhere else. So we weren't looking for much.

As for the room, I thought it was funky and they tried to use what little space there was available. I felt it was pretty clean, but found a few dirt marks on the bedcover, and what seemed to be a shoe print on a pillow case. Being so late, couldn't be bothered requesting another.

Would I stay there again? Maybe not as a couple as the room was tight for 2. Solo, I think would be fine. But then again, I sort of felt in my opinion that it was a little over priced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankiej_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

If it's a great location you are looking for this is, BUT besides the location this has little to recommend it. Having reserved a room for four nights we arrived in Singapore and were taken to a claustrophobic box with no windows that contained a bed, TV small bath and that's it! They had a SGD10 upgrade which we asked about and were taken to a little larger room but also without a window or any spare space. Finally, at an additional cost of 31 SGD/night we upgraded to a room with a bed, TV small foyer and bath. The room had no hotel information book and we had to co0nstantly badger the front desk for information on where to find things. A small switch next to the front door turned on the make or do not disturb light but there was nothing to indicate this and we returned after a long, hot day to a room that had not been made up. The staff was helpful, the room decor is relatively new and the bathrooms are exquisite but be aware the standard guest room is only 8-12 sqm and has no windows nor work space. The location is perfect, right in the centre of Chinatown, surrounded by restaurants, shops, boutiques and the Chinatown Night Market is right around the corner. The MRT and SBS stops are less than two blocks away and as a place to rest your head it is perfect but don;t plan on spending a great amount of time in your room! No restaurant, fitness facilities,business center, etc.

Room Tip: If you must have a window make sure you specify this on your inquiry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here on my own for 4 days in January. When I arrived (late at night) the hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. I was upgraded to a superior deluxe room with no extra charge. The room its self was lovely and a lot larger than I had imagined, the room was very clean and tidy and the bathroom was large with a huge walk in shower cosmetics were provided in a box (toothbrush, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and moisturizer along with the usual shower cap and sewing kits)
Location- the location of the hotel was fantastic I couldn’t have asked for better set right in the middle of Chinatown it is in the perfect location, for great food, good quality cheap markets and is very close to two big indoor food courts which I had no problem’s eating at and is walking distance to most things.
I also went on 3 tours whilst staying here all companies pick up from this hotel to meet at a central meeting point

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
I only have one negative and that is that the inside of the hotel is quite dark (the corridors leading to rooms are not well lit)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

OK, get the obvious out of the way first, the rooms are small, basically a bed, small counter and bathroom, not a lot of floorspace and nowhere to put your luggage. BUT, its just out of the centre of Singapore, right in the middle of Chinatown, close to MRT, and has very reasonable rates. Room was clean, bed was comfortable, staff friendly and helpful so living with the room being a bit cramped was worth it for getting a bargain in this location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cymrokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed a night in this tiny hotel, the room barely fit for 2 persons in my opinion, the bed is extremely small, i can't stretch my leg fully! The worst part is that the hotel is horribly noisy, i could hear every noise clearly, noise from upstairs, next door rooms, even i could hear somebody playing with his/her phone at middle of the night!!!

The only good things for this hotel that i could praise are the lovely location, multi-national cuisine are around the proximity, the white-washed colonial building...that's all, nothing to sing more about it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liandy_Vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#96 of 317 in Singapore
694 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#70 of 317 in Singapore
1,355 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#63 of 317 in Singapore
467 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#68 of 317 in Singapore
6,672 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 83 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: $75 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing