We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 15, 2013

An old row of Chinese shophouses converted into a modern hotel The hotel is non smoking, the rooms are small but well cared for. The location is superb right in the heart of Chinatown. For travelers without a lot of luggage take the MRT from Changi airport to Chinatown station. The hotel is a matter of two minutes walk away from exit A or exit E.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimmyTaipei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 870 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked online for this hotel. Came in late in the afternoon. Front counter staff gave me an upgrade from the standard room that i booked...so immediate plus for me and for the hotel!...came into the room...boy was it dark...but it had character!...overall it was perfect for a single traveller like me. Wasn't going to stay in room all day anyways...had work to attend to...so when i came back to rest, the queen sized bed was super soft and good. A/C was right above the bed and felt great. Day of departure i asked to extend checkout time twice it was free till 1pm and they charged SGD 23 for an extra hour...o didn't complain...great stay!...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klazeem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are so tiny you get claustrophobic and also the entire room is painted in black! It is so depressing.
We saw it online and looked fine but when we got there we couldnt believe how awfull and sad the room was. Also you enter the room and there is a huge step to get to the bed really weird like to divide the small table from thebeds. No windows nothing so dark

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutefati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

my other half and i made a booking at the hotel, we made an error on the booking from 1 room for 8 nights to accidentally typing 1 night for 8 rooms!!
we realised after booked, so we rang and spoke to agoda.com
who said, they could change the booking..
once agoda.com spoke to the hotel, the hotel refused to change or even help us.
we rang the hotel saying we are close by, the receptionist had no idea if they had a manager or even if she had an answering machine!!!
absolutely diabolical customer service, i have been told to just keep calling back to try and catch this elusive manager!!!!!
we are still willing to stay at this hotel, if they would help rectify our situation....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alicemorbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Initially when we got to the hotel is was a bit of shock how small the room was, the pictures on the website were quite deceiving. We stayed there for 6 days. It can get noisy as others have mentioned. It seemed like every morning a siren from outside would go off, but after the first night we slept right through it (I think we got used to it).

Wifi seem pretty good, I got a voucher for a free massage which was good. Staff were friendly, not problems at all. Even though it was small it was still good. 2 bottles of water were provided everyday and bathroom necessities were replaced.

The best part of the hotel was that it was so close to everything, food, mrt. This place isn't for everyone but if you're not fussed about a small room and want something close to chinatown and MRT I would recommend this hotel. I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pictures can be deceiving... Everything seem fine, until you walk into the room. The room is too small for even for a single occupancy. Location is good with food readily available, just minutes away. MRT is just within 5min walk to the China Point. People's Park Shopping is just across the road, if you want some off season shopping items. Being in Chinatown and not too far from Little India, its not too bad.

Room Tip: Always make sure you ask for a window-room unit..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I went to singapore for manytimes and i always chose the hotel in chinatown because of it's good location. This time i tried this new hotel. I checked in for 4 nights on Feb 22, 2013. Although the room was small but it provided everything with a good decorations. it located near MRT exit (chinatown station) and near the famous "pork" sigapore shop. 2 bottles of drinking water a day also provided, too. The staff were very helpfull and there a free Wifi (but the signal was quite slow -*-). If u want a restful, chic hotel with a reasonable price, this could be 1 in your choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannyDeMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 82 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: $80 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing