We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 82 Singapore B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Room small but recently renovated, Good lacoation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 870 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

And would not stay again - small rooms and poor service on a few aspects (rubbish collection and late checkout when travelling with an infant). No compendium or information, terrible A/C, not to mention the tiny rooms even though we had booked an Executive Room. Disappointed for the price we payed ($165 AUD) but would have been furious paying $350++ SGD. Finishing details all cheap (i.e. plastic fixtures etc) despite nice design and good concept.

Having read previous reviews, we still booked here for one night as there were no other hotels in our price range, and would not stay again. Have learnt our lesson for Singapore - book accoms well in advance!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenp_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A queen bed room now equipped with hair dryer. The bed is great for sleeping. However the fridge is small and use heat sink hence not providing sufficient cold to store anything but beverage. The restroom is sol small that the toilet bowl is adjacent to the shower hence web everything after a bath. This time the room has window and the toilet wall has 3 side in solid wall. The safe above the fridge is warm because of the heat from the fridge. The receptionist is warm as always.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, there's nothing redeeming about this hotel, suffice to say, if you were really hard up and needed a place to stop over in for the night, this would do, but other than one night, forget it. Tiny cramped rooms, poor air con/flow made for a very poor experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the service was good, but the rooms were just too small and cramped to write anything positive. Basically, it's one room with your toilet, shower and sink partitioned off by walls of glass. Unfortunately, if you're staying with anyone, they get the pleasure of watching you poo while laying in bed. I'm serious... Not cool. Plus with poor ventilation, this glass room fogs up and takes forever to clear... I can't unfortunately reccoment this hotel to anyone... Sorry. Location and service were good, but that's about it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RunningMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Other reviews have summarized it well - rooms are small - I had a single room, and it was a single bed. When lying on the bed one hand could touch the windows and one hand could reach out and touch the glass bathroom wall. The whole room is pretty cool, but the black tiled bathroom with a rainshow was especially as it is takes up a third of the room in a glass cube. Think of a small glass quare room inside of another small square room. Only complaint is that given the "cool vibe" it's pretty dark as well. All part of the desired boutique effect I guess. But like others have said, the room was clean with tea/coffee and a kettle, flat screen tv, nice amenities. My room at the front did have windows looking out on Mosque street which was great. My room was also quiet. The hotel has a great location in Chinatown and within walking distance to the CBD and the river/Clark Quay etc.

So for me it was great. As mentioned by others if you are a little claustrophobic or have a lot of luggage, it may not be the best option for you, but given the price of many hotels this was a cool place to be based for a couple days. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a front street facing room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The good:
1) love the interior design. very artistic.
2) Service at front counter: okay, but informative. (Can ask them to get around Singapore)
3) Clean room.
4) about 100m away from Chinatown MRT (exit A)
Note: if travel on wheelchair, go to exit C, take the lift to level 2 (garden), cross the bridge, head in Lucky plaza down to level 1 to reach the other side of the road.
5) taxi stand is just outside the hotel

The down side:
1) lights were dimmed, quite dark inside. be careful in case you trip over.
2) Rooms are small (can't fit my wheelchair in!)
3) Breakfast not inclusive.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The room is so tiny 8m2, without door that make me have a terrible feeling. I will never come back this hotel and I would like not recommend you to stay here if you are afraid of closing box.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thai Dzung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#91 of 317 in Singapore
691 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Chinatown
The Southbridge Hotel
The Southbridge Hotel
#2 of 82 in Singapore
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range: $80 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing