We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped and uninviting...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 77 Singapore B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cramped and uninviting...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, there's nothing redeeming about this hotel, suffice to say, if you were really hard up and needed a place to stop over in for the night, this would do, but other than one night, forget it. Tiny cramped rooms, poor air con/flow made for a very poor experience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the service was good, but the rooms were just too small and cramped to write anything positive. Basically, it's one room with your toilet, shower and sink partitioned off by walls of glass. Unfortunately, if you're staying with anyone, they get the pleasure of watching you poo while laying in bed. I'm serious... Not cool. Plus with poor ventilation, this glass room fogs up and takes forever to clear... I can't unfortunately reccoment this hotel to anyone... Sorry. Location and service were good, but that's about it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunningMan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    289
    294
    104
    67
See reviews for
75
290
151
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Other reviews have summarized it well - rooms are small - I had a single room, and it was a single bed. When lying on the bed one hand could touch the windows and one hand could reach out and touch the glass bathroom wall. The whole room is pretty cool, but the black tiled bathroom with a rainshow was especially as it is takes up a third of the room in a glass cube. Think of a small glass quare room inside of another small square room. Only complaint is that given the "cool vibe" it's pretty dark as well. All part of the desired boutique effect I guess. But like others have said, the room was clean with tea/coffee and a kettle, flat screen tv, nice amenities. My room at the front did have windows looking out on Mosque street which was great. My room was also quiet. The hotel has a great location in Chinatown and within walking distance to the CBD and the river/Clark Quay etc.

So for me it was great. As mentioned by others if you are a little claustrophobic or have a lot of luggage, it may not be the best option for you, but given the price of many hotels this was a cool place to be based for a couple days. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a front street facing room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewilsonswanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The good:
1) love the interior design. very artistic.
2) Service at front counter: okay, but informative. (Can ask them to get around Singapore)
3) Clean room.
4) about 100m away from Chinatown MRT (exit A)
Note: if travel on wheelchair, go to exit C, take the lift to level 2 (garden), cross the bridge, head in Lucky plaza down to level 1 to reach the other side of the road.
5) taxi stand is just outside the hotel

The down side:
1) lights were dimmed, quite dark inside. be careful in case you trip over.
2) Rooms are small (can't fit my wheelchair in!)
3) Breakfast not inclusive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The room is so tiny 8m2, without door that make me have a terrible feeling. I will never come back this hotel and I would like not recommend you to stay here if you are afraid of closing box.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thai Dzung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Porcelain is not you typical hotel room with the queensize bed touching 3 walls and no robe just hooks on the wall ,bathroom is adequate but the Decor is funky and the space is reminds me of staying in a hotel capsule in Shinjuku....it's good to change the norm..staff are friendly and the place is spotless

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank StephenTKidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

small room but very clean, quite, convenient location

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thaolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The reviews are true: the rooms here are very small. Luckily, we were traveling light and did not have any large suitcases because there would've been no place to put them.

The room was laid out in a very compact and interesting manner, which for some reason reminded me of an RV.

The TV only got 8 stations, but the wifi was free and pretty fast.

Overall, I felt as though the price was a bit high for what they offered.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying here if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtxguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#81 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Naumi Liora
#97 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing