We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - no windows!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Porcelain Hotel
Ranked #5 of 79 Singapore B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Warning - no windows!”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

What a crap hotel. This is the only hotel that I have actually left from in the middle of the night. The first room I checked was a single room with now window. This should be against the regulations - in Australia it certainly is. The room was tiny and claustrophobic. I knew it would be tiny but the not window aspect really upset me. For an extra $30 I upgraded to a room with a window. Again tiny, which wasn't really a problem however the bed was pushed up against the window, the air conditioner blasted a stream of cold air directly onto you in bed, the sheets were itchy and I was kept up all night from the noise on the street, the smells and the garbage trucks. I checked out of the hotel at 3am. Because I am being honest, I will inform you that there were some positive aspects. The location was reasonable - close to ChinaTown. The Free Wi-Fi and free local calls were also useful (to book another hotel at 3am) and at the 24 hour reception the person was polite and efficient. The hotel has been newly renovated. The single room (single bed,no window, about 8m2 including the bathroom) was $100/night and the upgraded room (double bed, window, about 10m2 including the bathroom - room was the width of the bed) was $130/night. This hotel is not good value.

Room Tip: avoid, otherwise get room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p_soccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    297
    302
    108
    69
See reviews for
80
299
157
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalajoki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2011

staff were very friendly. didnt like room bathrooms glass walls... weird. no private at all. room was allways very hot (aircon didnt help much) and humidity was very high, could dry our wet clothes well. room was small, 14squares.
Chinatown MRT station was very near, just cross one street and chinatown market place was behind corner witch was also good thing. not bad hotel if can sleep in warm. free wifi was also good thing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joonasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My personal opinion is that this place is a gem. The hotel is in a very convenient location around the corner from Chinatown MRT and is beautifully renovated in a most interesting way. We found it super clean and the staff attentive. We requested a window room well in advance. They told us that 2/3 of the superior queen rooms have windows and gave us one.

This hotel has had interior design to within an inch of its life. Our room was extremely small (think camper van), but so cleverly arranged that we found a ledge for everything and happily squeezed past each other. The bathroom is generous (perhaps at the cost of the rest of the room) and well designed, but the shower does wet the rest of the floor. The glass walls were frosted and there was no privacy problem. We thought that we would sleep with the window open, but late stayers at the pub across the road had us shutting the window and resorting to the good, silent air conditioner.

Whether you like it will be more about personal taste. The rooms are painted dark blue and the bathroom has black tiles. There is a magnificent ceiling light with the blue porcelain design, nearly 1.2 m (4 ft) in diameter. If you want a spacious, light and bright room, definitely don't choose this hotel. If you want a unique and unforgettable yet affordable interior design experience, then try it.

Room Tip: state your preference when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidStephensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Most of the rooms have NO window. The rooms are SO small, only one person at a time can stand an get dressed. The divide between bed and shower AND toilet is made of glass, so you can see ALL the business from the discomfort of your bed. There is a reason there are NO online pictures of the room on the hotels'website.....

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchGuyAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This is a great little hotel just a few meters from the Metro station which takes you too and from the airport. It is slap bang in the middle of China Town and at the end of Mosque Street which has the first Mosque built in Singapore on it as well as a Hindu Temple and a Budhist Shrine a bit further down the road. Consequently you do not have to go far from the hotel to see a few sights. It is only a 10-15 minute walk to the river and all the tourist bits of central Singapore and the open top tour bus passes nearby if you want to hop on and off that on a 24 hour pass. Rooms are small but hey it is Singapore where land is scarce!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This Chinatown hotel says it's 4-stars but I trully think they don't deserve at least 1-2 of the stars. But, I like staying there.

It's modern hotel and it's affordable and super close to MRT (2-min walk). The standard room is quite small but it’s ok for me and the interior is interestingly pretty. For cheaper rate, make sure you do bookings through an online reservation agency. This Chinatown hotel exceeds my expectation. It’s 4-stars modern hotel but so affordable and super close to MRT (2-min walk). The standard room is quite small but it’s ok for me and the interior is interestingly pretty. For cheaper rate, make sure you do bookings through an online reservation agency instead directly with the hotel.

The reason I think they don't deserve to be classified as 4-stars hotel is because they don’t provide breakfast at all. Even my fave backpacker accommodations serve at least toast, cereal, and some fruit juices.

The good thing is the hotel is surrounded by affordable restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oilalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Easy to get to hotel as it is near MRT. Room is very small but bed is very comfortable. If you don't mind to stay in 9-12 square metres room..this place is one of your choice. Free wiseless and local call.
Only 8 TV Channels. should have more. such as cartoon network and discovery channel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutthakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Hotel Boss
#150 of 312 in Singapore
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,404 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 312 in Singapore
847 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Porcelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Porcelain Hotel

Property: The Porcelain Hotel
Address: 48 Mosque Street Porcelain Hotel, Singapore 059526, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Porcelain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China has long been endeared as a precious jewel of the east. Infused with a rich history of refinement, it is a cradle of cultural and intellectual civilization rich as gold and precious as porcelain. Just as porcelain is deemed a treasure, China’s undaunting lead to create a new chapter in the new century weaves a priceless tapestry of fine china.A journey so precious, we invite you to be a part of. Here’s wishing you a treasured stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Porcelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Porcelain Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing