We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food.. Totally Value for money”
Review of Taste Of India

Taste Of India
Ranked #4,145 of 10,645 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Rochor
Description: Taste Of India promises to bring you the freshest, best quality ingredients to make your dining experience incredible.Step into Taste of India to experience the unique decorations, paintings and the wonderful fusion of taste from North and South India. We have a wide variety of Indian cuisine such as Tandoor dishes, Chettinaadu dishes and many more for your taste buds.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food.. Totally Value for money”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We followed the reviews and went looking for this place. We asked for the South Indian meal. The portion size was really good. And the variety in the meal was also good. Nice yogurt and great dessert. The curries were tasty. And we could not resist the urge to ask for more papads. We did stuff ourselves and the price for each meal is just 8.5 dollars.

Definitely a place worth visiting every time you find yourself hungry in Little India.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kituw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    33
    14
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
370 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Just nothing to be excited about”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The interior looked nice but the material covered chairs needed something of a vacuum to make it look presentable. Pakoras was nice and not oily which is a plus. Starter chicken wings came way after the mains were eaten. It was batter covered deep fried large winglets. Was not good. Indian restaurants should not be experimenting with this. The mutton dish was yummy but the chili chicken dish was very chinesey. Was not good. Another experimentation. I didn't know it was a Chinese dish as it was under North Indian. Overall we had tummy problems the next day and I can only credit it to the food at this restaurant. Service was poor. The rice ordered didn't even come. The waiter stood near yes and stared at us for tens of minutes. Weird. And then when you wanted then it was tough to get ones attention. Table was never cleared and I had to pile the dishes one side. I should not expect too much but I really wanted indian food and did not get any there. Lets hope the management attend to these issues to really win business in these tough times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pt2pt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surprisingly execellent!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Touring around the streets of LIttle India, we ended up in this restaurant by a stroke of luck, From the name and interioer my expectations were ok food - maybe a bit high prized as it seems targeted for tourists.

We had a chat with the waitor and ordered what he recommended - Different curries, veggies, lamb and chicken. And i must say - it were the best indian meal I ever had. We met a Indian couple there whom were on business in Spore - they ususally drive across the city when they visit to dine there (and they found it better than the food they could normally have in Mumbai)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gulgaio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food great value in the heart of little India”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Exactly what the title says. We had the set meals and they were more than enough and very tasty. If you are looking for a nice quiet meal it may not be ideal as its in a grungy neighbourhood, so less intrepid travellers may be put off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emerald_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and efficient service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is in a pretty basic setting but the food is as good as you'll find anywhere and is inexpensive by local standards. Don't be fooled by the headings for starters and mains - it all comes at once or even in reverse order but this mustn't put you off. The food is freshly prepared to order and it tastes that way. The menu is extensive and caters in equal measure for vegetarians and meat eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seawind10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of India also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Taste Of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing