We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Salt grill & Sky bar
Ranked #69 of 11,073 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $120
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Description: Salt grill & Sky bar by celebrity chef-restaurateur Luke Mangan presents a refreshed look with an added exclusive dining area on the 56th floor for diners seeking utmost privacy as well as a brand new bar on the mezzanine floor. The kitchen of the all-day restaurant is helmed by recently-appointed Chef Mathew Leighton, the youngest Executive Chef in the group. Serving modern Australian cuisine and New World Wines, diners can enjoy stunning views of Singapore amidst a modern-chic setting coupled with unparalleled service.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my wife were here on our anniversary and can't fault a thing.
We're not big on the whole fine dining thing but this really was fantastic.
I ordered the chorizo to start and my wife the salt cod croquettes, both of which were superb.
For the main course I had a sirloin steak and my wife chose the snapper with a capsicum sauce, we were very happy with both.
By this time we were quite satisfied but thought we would share a dessert, we opted for the hazelnut cake with salted caramel, it was sweet, salty, nutty, and we even considered ordering 1 more but we chose against it as we had prior engagements.
All in all an excellent meal, expensive but quite worth the cost.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frankchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Salt grill & Sky bar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

517 - 521 of 635 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

found this place by accident. being australian i have heard of but haven't tried his food. it was superb, all the chefs recommendation were divine. the view was fantastic and the ambience very relaxing.staff was very attentive, the dirty martini is a royal thumbs up

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant is more charming for dinner than for lunch. If you would like to enjoy spectacular views of Singapore, get there for lunch or just for early dinner, before dawn is best!
Night time is also,very charming place for dinner, high up on 55th floor, city lights outside and night classic looking lamps with soft red lighting inside, making the place good venue for a quite dinner with your couple or friends in small group.
When you book make sure you ask for a window table. Most tables are by the window but some small ones for two people are not. They also,have a space reserved for big celebrations where they fit a long table for 20 people or so. However with no direct view outside.
Food is really good, very tasty, well cooked and portions are not as terribly small as at other places in Singapore. Meat is greatly cooked and tender, fish is fresh, and desserts are tasty.
The service at this place is, so far, over the Singapore standard and this is a great feeling for a change. You are treated very kindly, with care and the personnel is at your disposal; it is a great surprise, because some other similarly expensive restaurants do not have staff that genuinely care as the staff do at this restaurant. It makes you feel like going back.
The wine list is where I can give the restaurant a minus,... Probably wines are great, and the one we ordered was, at 120 dollars the bottle... But it was one of the cheapest, with prices going on a very steep up curve into the three hundreds and six hundreds,... And more. I hope my very nice Chilean wine at 120 dollars the bottle stays in the menu for long!
A very nice venue for celebrating something special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LuisMiguel808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair F, General Manager at Salt grill & Sky bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Many thanks for your comments: it's great to hear when we get it right!

We are proud to serve quality wines, with an emphasis on Australian and New Zealand product, but also with a good selection that we hope represents the best of Old World styles. Our wines start at $59++ per bottle, with the majority of our wines between $100 and $200, and indeed we do offer a small selection of super premium product for those with a more indulgent budget. We offer 13 wines by the glass, plus dessert wines.

Thanks again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Salt grill soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We popped up for a quick lunch while shopping at Ion and ordered brunch items and a tapas dish. The tapas arrived 25 minutes after the rest of the dishes due to problems in the kitchen. The waiting staff apologized twice but should have really removed it from our bill. Red wine was served at around 4 degrees which was disappointing. Food was reasonably good but the whole experience was not top drawer at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SingaporePhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alasdair F, General Manager at Salt grill & Sky bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Many thanks for your comments, I'm sorry you waited so long for your food. My understanding is that you ordered an additional dish as your main order was being delivered, and while the dish was ordered immediately, the kitchen was already packing down from lunch service by this time as we had officially taken last orders for main dishes and indeed there was a miscommunication. We have discussed this issue already with the team and I would hope it does not happen again.

Regarding your wine, our wines are all stored in VinTech wine fridges and we normally serve our red wines at around 14 degrees. The 'correct' temperature for red is 18 however we find that it does warm up quickly. Temperature of wine is a highly subjective thing: some people like wine almost at freezing point, others like it very warm, and ifa guest tells us that they'd like the product warmer, or cooler, we will always do our best to change this.

Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The whole experience was wonderful.
Made reservations via Reserveit.sg with some inquiries. By noon, I got an email, then a call from Suzana to confirm my reservations and requirements as it was a special occasion.

On the day itself, the staff called to remind the reservations.

The experience from the reception to the restuarant took about 5-10mins.
We were asked to go into a mini art gallery which led us to a very dark lift lobby. It was so dark that one could totally not see the lift except for some floor lights. It felt like space. Me n partner were alone there and it felt so magical. We thought that if we were alone in the lift during the ride up, it would have been great. The lift was also dark and magical. Reminded me of the Charlie and Chocolate factory story.

We were ushered to our seats quickly and I got a table by the window which gave us unblocked view of Keppel Bay. It was dark and we could not really see anything though.
There were alot of caucasian and filipino staff, but they were all very friendly and knowledgable. One caucasian lady staff spontaneously introduced the menu and recommendations.

We had Scallops with black pudding and entree portion of Potato gnoochi with parmesan etc.
Main was the Crispy skinned salmon, king prawn(x2) which we shared.

All 3 dishes were great! The scallops had no fishy taste/smell, the gnoochi tasted so good with the truffle oil n parmesan. Good mix

Desert was the chocolate souffle with mint icecream. The icecream was good and thick. The souffle was a little too sweet on the inside and too wet. I felt a little overdose of chocolate after 3mouths. Both of us couldnt finish the souffle.

Inclusive of San pellegrino (?? spelling) gst n svc charge, bill was 207.

Svc throughout was good, attentive.

My partner who is very particular about FEEL, loved the place for her ambiance. It's a great place to bring someone for a romantic dinner.

We had the whole elevator to ourselves on the way down. It was wonderful. You need to be inside to know.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank stitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt grill & Sky bar also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Salt grill & Sky bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing