We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
LinuxFox
Turin

Only if you are on a tight Budget

Review of Amrise Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 4, 2012
We stayed here 2 nights. The worst thing of this Hotel is the location: it is a dirty a smelly area (the smell of rubbish in front of the Hotel is quite strong) and non nice place around for dinner (only street food).
The distance from the closest MRT station is 15 min. by walk
Rooms are small and clean, but there is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up and down (we where on the second floor). I think that beds are a little bit too soft.
I'd spend a bit more a stay in a more pleasant Singapore area.
Date of stay: July 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$88
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $88
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Vio.com
    $88
1.1 miles from Amrise Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
$88
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    $88
  • Priceline
    $87
  • Vio.com
    $88
2.2 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$155
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $174
  • Agoda.com
    $125
  • Priceline
    $131
1.7 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Facade
$88
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $87
  • KLOOK
    $72
  • Vio.com
    $88
1.3 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$109
  • Priceline
    $106
  • Expedia.com
    $102
  • Hotels.com
    $102
2.3 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$201
  • Hotels.com
    $202
  • ZenHotels.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $201
8.2 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$110
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • KLOOK
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $116
3.0 miles from Amrise Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
$123
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Priceline
    $109
3.3 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Facade
$107
  • Priceline
    $101
  • Agoda.com
    $98
  • Hotels.com
    $100
3.4 miles from Amrise Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
$760
Fully refundable
  • MarinaBaySands
    $746
  • Trip.com
    $760
  • travelup.com
    $812
2.5 miles from Amrise Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Singapore
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
12
60
89
39
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
12
60
89
39
39
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 239 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

the amrise hotel is close to the metro station in a noisy (real asian) part of singapore close to the city centre!
rooms are small, clean, comfortable but really noisy (had to sleep with ear pluggins)
cold shower
all in all its worth!

Room tip: if you want a quiet room, choose one without window!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Before we booked this room, my cousin and I checked various forums, blogs and reviews about Amrise Hotel. Sleeping in a small room is not a problem for us. We just needed a place to sleep in anyway.

I have only good comments for Amrise. :)

Location - it is located in a safe place in Geylang area. They say it's a red light district but it's actually more of just a busy place. There is a convenient store beside the hotel, and several fruit stands across the road. There are small food stores around the area. At night, you would find tables along the street with people hanging out or drinking beer, but it's definitely safe. We would walk along Sims Avenue, towards the hotel at around 11PM, and there wasn't any danger or problem at all. From Kallang MRT station, you can take the Bus 2, 63, 67, 80 or 100 then alight on the second bus stop, which is the Yi Xiu Building. Amrise Hotel is just across the bus stop. However, when going to MRT from the hotel, there is no bus available, so you just have to walk maybe 15-20minutes. Bring an umbrella because it can get really hot. For families travelling with a baby, bring a stroller. Kallang station is a few stations away from Changi Airport. It's in the same mrt line (green line).

Room - as mentioned in other reviews, the room is small/cramped. There are no cabinets where you can hang your clothes. But the basic necessities are addressed. There's a TV, telephone, kettle, hot/cold water in the shower, towels. Coffee and 2 bottles of water are replenished daily. If you want them to clean your room, you have to make a request at the reception for make-up room. The room is clean. Bedsheets and pillow cases are clean, toilet is clean too. Just bring toiletries (toothbrush, soap, etc.) coz they dont provide any.

Service - We booked a standard room via booking.com. Checking-in was a breeze. We arrived at the hotel almost 11am, and we were allowed to check in early :) im not sure if it was because we have a 2-year old baby or the room was just available for us. :) all the receptionists are kind, especially Ms. Alice. They accept credit card and cash payments. On checking in, you will be asked to pay the full amount of your stay in the hotel.

Over-all, I really like my experience at Amrise. :) i will definitely book here again!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LalaDelaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for one night as a stopover between flights elsewhere. I've stayed in Geylang before at one of the Hotel 81's so the area itself wasn't a surprise. I believe I ended up in a standard room which didn't bother me, and as other reviewers have said, they are small and windowless - there was a TV (no fridge in this one) the A/C worked very well, although it's either on or off, no temperature control, which would have been fine except for some reason my room didn't come with a top sheet on the bed! Although a blanket was on the bed, I really didn't want to use it without some sort of barrier between me and it. If it hadn't been so late when I checked in I would have gone back to reception to ask for one - I assume they do normally provide them - but as it was I managed with what I had with me. The floor I was on (the 2nd) also smelled strongly of gas when I arrived, which was a little disturbing, but once inside my room it was OK (I also opened the windows on the landing!)

Cleanliness was a bit below average - there were random hairs floating about the room and bed and there was mould on the ceiling, but it's not that surprising if there's no window in the room. The bathroom door looked like it was made of temporary material of some kind, but it still functioned well enough as a door, which might be important to couples. It had a separate shower i.e. it wasn't a 'wet room' - this was actually a nice feature in such a cheap hotel here.

I'm not sure about the security in this hotel, I doubt that I would have been comfortable leaving valuables in the room while out, the door had a traditional rather than electronic key lock and the door itself was cracked slightly right down the middle. The building backs onto roofs and the landing windows I opened did not have locks, they just slid open.

I don't know if higher rooms were better but the noise coming from one of the bars downstairs was pretty darn loud and went very late - it was a Saturday so I don't know if this is normal or just on weekends. This would definitely be a problem for some and I'd recommend earplugs.
The wifi worked well enough for emails and facebook and the staff were friendly.

It was fine for what it was, a stopover night on a tight budget, but I don't think I'd be in a hurry to stay here for more than the one night.

Room tip: The deluxe rooms are on the 3rd floor, if reception asks you what you want, choose the 3rd - the second floor only has standard rooms and you'll be further away from the noise, hopefully.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank H0lly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

If ever you'd likek to organise ballroomdancing in you room:don't come here; if ever you'd like to see paintings against the wall, don't come here; if ever you'd like to practise rollerskating in you room:stay away!
My "deluxe'room(228) was more than ok, large enough, good AC, fridge, TV with financial channel which is important nowadays, comfy large bed. Bathroom, Asian style ok.
Don't worry, Sims Ave is not the red light district! Red balloons can be seen between xxxx(censored by myself) What I've liked so much is the warm atmosphere, there is always someone around for a chat; reception very helpful e.g. buslines and the location can't be beaten. Best food is at the Viet stall, 75 meters from the hotel(left when you go out of the hotel)
No elevator, true, but my room was only 21 steps up. Easy to get there: MRT from airportr to Kallang(not Aljunied!!!); then take bus 2,13,51,63,67,80,or 100. It's 2 stops, then cross the road. Standard fare is 1.10 SGD
Book a deluxe room indeed, standard rooms are small, Change money at the airport, telling them you need coins for public trnasport, so that they give you 10 cent coins too. Enjoy!

Room tip: deluxe rooms on the lower floor are best value for money
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jerome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel in crowdy neighbourhood, a lot of food spots nearby. On walking distance to the mrt. The room was just fine but there was also a mouse!!

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarciaRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews