We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amrise Hotel
Ranked #272 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed two nights at this hotel. Chose it because of price and location near an MRT and if those weren't true then this place would suck!
You stay on Durian St so it always smells, there's an hourly rate advertised at the front desk and the room was literally enough for a bed two bags and not much else (let alone windows). All-in-all nothing was really wrong with the place just decidely average. Unlikely I'd return. Perhaps try getting twin room - less chance someone has spent the previous hour in it haha. I'd recommend for people on a budget but try the YMCA first because the location is better and really the private bathroom isn't worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwicossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    55
    82
    34
    25
See reviews for
17
77
45
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

The rooms were clean and spacious. The previous hotel we stayed in Singapore was double the money and heaps smaller.

It appears to have been newly renovated. It is on a busy street close to lots of Asian food options (some 24h). You will need ear plugs if you are a light sleeper but for the price this place was perfect.

The staff was friendly and helpful, especially the young girl who works during the day.

Initially we were concerned with the location being in the red light district but we did not feel scared at all. We even walked around the area at 1am with no problem. The room does have hourly rates and some people may be concerned that prostitutes would rent the rooms. We however did not see any one who looked problematic. To be safe you can always ask for the twin bed as we did and having checked the mattresses before checking in we noticed that they were brand new.

I would recommend this hotel to all budget travellors.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank neckiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

good:
close to bus stop and aljunied stn
a lot of restos nearby
authentic chinese few steps when you go to the right
cold and quiet ac
free internet, though id did not work for us, but my friend in another room was able to use it, they were beside the stairway

bad:
hair on our blanket when we arrive
room too small, if you have a big luggage, u wont be able to move
no cable
coffee, toiletries, bottled water must be asked before they bring it to you
not hospitable, keeps on hanging up when i was asking for toothpaste
no elevator

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwanttotravelforfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

I booked for 4D3N at Amrise hotel through Agoda, as it was the cheapest available at that time. I saw the pictures online & was satisfied so I continued, & my booking was confirmed w/in 24hrs. I was a bit hesitant as the hotel doesn't have a website or contact info which I can verify my booking w/, but I'm glad that we didn't have any problems upon arriving at 1:00am. Check out was a breeze but on check-in, it took us about 5mins to get a go-signal from the receptionist to go to our room because the photocopy machine wasn't working & they needed to photocopy my passport. I was expecting a small room but was still surprised when we opened the door! Indeed, it was very small compared to other hotels I've stayed at before. It was big enough though for us & our bags to fit in, allowing us to walk around the room w/o tripping over one another. :) There was TV, phone, a/c, kettle, bottled water, & some drawers to put your clothes & stuff. Towels & toothbrushes were also provided, no other toiletries. shower room was also small but water heater was available. No curtains so half of the toilet gets wet when you shower. No remote control for the a/c so we could only switch it off when it's too cold for us. You may borrow one from the receptionist, though. WiFi was available but wep/password must be obtained from the reception too. We had to go down to get it, had access to their wifi, but for some reason, still couldn't browse through our wlan-enabled phones. There are no lifts so you have to take the stairs with your baggage (it's just 3 or 4-storey anyway). Hotel is located in Geylang (red light district) but the area's safe, also a 3-8min walk from 2 MRT stations (Kallang on the left & Aljunied on the right). There's also a bus stop just 1min walk away from the hotel entrance. When taking a taxi, be clear with the driver that it's Sims Ave (between Lor 13 & 15) and not Sims Drive. Hotel has no restaurant but a lot of food choices in the area. I'd recommend this hotel if all you need is a place to stay (sleep in, keep your baggage safe, and bathe). If you're after luxury, this is not for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank zhielaleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#225 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#240 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
BudgetOne Hotel
#237 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Chang Ziang Hotel
Chang Ziang Hotel
#186 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
Hotel 81 - Geylang
#197 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Geylang
Four Chain View Hotel
Four Chain View Hotel
#244 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrise Hotel

Property: Amrise Hotel
Address: 112 Sims Ave | Geylang, Singapore 387436, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amrise Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrise Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing