We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of choices but food so so only”
Review of Tung Lok Seafood

Tung Lok Seafood
Ranked #1,118 of 10,676 Restaurants in Singapore
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lots of choices but food so so only”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Went for Mother's Day ala carte buffet dinner at the Jurong outlet and were quite disappointed with the services n food served
We ordered the items n half of which never came n were being missed
We had to remind the staff and chased after them for the food to be served
The chilli crabs supposed to be one of the attrractions was taken off the menu !
Some food were way below standard
Service a bit slow but understandable due to Mother's day celebration
Will not go back again as out of the way to in Upper Jurong near Safti

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CuteCuteMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    44
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was planning to go to the Seafood Centre for dinner, but was tired from spending the day at the zoo and didn't want to take the kids and have to deal with the inconsistant services provided by the restaurants there.
So I decided to go to Tung Lok Seafood at Orchard Centre which was within walking distance.
The service was superb.
The staff were efficient and the lady who seemed to be in charge was happy to make some of the dishes kids friendly.
You might be able to have great food but poor service can easily spoil your experience, and there is no worries here.
The food may not be exceptional but good and I had the most relaxing and pleasant time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,853 reviews
1,139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
“Good lunch deal, and better than expected”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I'm not usually a fan of Tung Lok, and in terms of chinese food chains, would rate it a distant 3rd behind Imperial Treasure and Crystal Jade. My colleagues suggested to go to this place for lunch and i was surprised to see an a la carte buffet deal for SGD25. I was skeptical so started with low expectations and an open mind. Ordered the standard dim items - pork pastry, pork buns, chicken feet, they were all surprisingly good. They even had fried fish with salted egg yolk which was unusual and tasted good. Fried rice was ok, a little too oily. The congee was too tiny a bowl to share. Desserts were not as fascinating as the earlier dim sum. Overall a good experienced and i was pleasantly surprised, probably due to my low expectations. Would i return when convenient? I suppose so. Are they now better than Imperial and Crystal? Probably not

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food and excellent service”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Orchard Central’s branch of Tung Lok Seafood, which is located high above on the 11th floor. It was crowded and buzzy when we arrived, but nobody looked frazzled and I have to say the service here was the best. The Auntie provided sage guidance on the menu and we tried Steamed Marble Goby, Honey Chicken, Wasabi Prawns, Garlic Beef, Baby Kai Lan and Spicy Noodles.

All was excellent – but special credit definitely goes out to the Wasabi Prawns (picture above) which were deep-fried perfectly and covered in a light wasabi mayonnaise which had a bit of a kick. The Garlic beef was also cooked so that the insides were still slightly pink with shards of fried crispy garlic on the top.

They are popular for their Pepper Beef and Singapore Chilli Crab, but they also serve sashimi, oysters and seafood platters.

Definitely make a booking! Well worth a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best seafood in the West”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I frequently take my business associates the branch at the Jurong Arena Country Club. The decoration of the restaurant was so-so, looked kind of old and not well kept. The food was good though. However, I would advise you to order the a la carrte, rather than the buffet. The buffet looked like it was cooked in mass production (jointly with other table’s orders). In terms of freshness, not all fish is fresh every day, so best to ask the waiter/waitress on what is the catch of the day. A recommended dish would be their chilli crab. Also, It would be nice to have someone who speaks Chinese with you, as not all attendants can speak English.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tung Lok Seafood also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Tung Lok Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing