We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miles away and miles in front of his Sydney restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waku Ghin

Waku Ghin
Ranked #156 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Waku Ghin, recently ranked 39th on the coveted 'World's 50 Best Restaurants' list. The name 'Waku Ghin' is derived from two Japanese words: ‘Waku’ means to 'arise' (like water pouring forth from a hot spring) and 'Ghin' means 'silver', which is Chef Tetsuya's favorite color found throughout this stunning restaurant. That same personal imprint and attention to detail is also on exhibit in the main dining room which seats 25 guests per seating, for an exclusive view of the Singapore skyline. Chef Tetsuya is the first person appointed Sake Ambassador outside of Japan, making his selection the best in the world.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miles away and miles in front of his Sydney restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

The product that Tetsyua uses in this restaurant is quite amazing, the dishes are simple, yet they still seem to change on the 3 visits we have had. His Sydney restaurant over the years has become dull and boring, though this is where you can feel a new sense of energy in the dining private communal rooms. Everything was faultless, the abalone and wagyu courses were divine!. Only qualms I could have were the service staff seemed a little lost for such an establishment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suiyee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    44
    23
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

A beautiful meal prepared in an exceptional way. Everything was so fresh and of the best quality. The deserts were beautiful as we'll. Only problem was the price $1570 Singapore dollars was far too much for a single meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A long long way to go for dinner.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Restaurant Waku Ghin , Number 7 on the list of Asia`s best restaurants , Number 50 in the World 2014 and the Singapore base of Japanese chef Tetsuya Wakuda, a bit of a shining star of Japanese cuisine and media. The only reason I went to Singapore was to eat here so i was expecting big things and to be honest the `Meal of a lifetime`.The restaurant is situated within Singapore`s Marina Bay Sands hotel which nowadays is the country`s most identifiable landmark…..think of Singapore and you immediately connect with the triple towers and the swimming pool table top. The cost of this complex was “8 Billion” Singapore dollars.
The restaurant itself is a bit of a strange place to get to so allow plenty of time if you`re going. Its on the first floor above the huge casino. I tried to get in via the casino but was politely turned away as i didn`t have my passport. I was sent through the exclusive shopping mall , up a lift and onto a totally deserted floor where i had to scout around before spotting the Waku Ghin restaurant sign.

When i arrived i was the only diner in the restaurant. It got a little busier throughout the evening but generally i found the atmoshpere to be a bit awkward. No music…only silence.

Waku Ghin ( Spring forth and Arise / Silver ) interior is split into various small rooms, each containing a set of seats and a counter housing an immaculate griddle. The restaurant where i was dining only had 5 counter seats so that was 5 of us dining on the early sitting. The other two couples arrived shortly after i had been seated , both couples arrived and sat in silence.It was bloody awkward to say the least .I chose not to drink wine as the prices were bordering on plain silly so i went for a cold Tiger Beer at $16 (£7.60) and a bottle of mineral water at $20 (£9.50) Justify that if you can.
I left the restaurant feeling as though i`d just been kicked squarely in my Gonads . I very rarely whinge about a meal as you`ll see from my many blog posts but on this occasion i felt very differently. My Bill came in at $ 513 dollars ( £244 ) with no wine. The Tasmanian Beef course was omitted from the menu.The Abalone was “portion controlled”. The fine flavoured Wagyu was overpowered by the fresh Wasabi.The signature Cheesecake never appeared and i was served a “slice of Melon”…….We live and learn. I had a relaxing stroll around the stunning Marina Bay , took aboard a few thoughts on my life and then went and spent $2 dollars on an amazing bowl of Chicken noodle soup and a stir fry in Chinatown……finally , the food hit the mark.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cumbriafoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Yum Yum for Freshness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I don't like its location, walking past the Casino to get to the restaurant didn't do that much for me, casinos aren't my thing. The restaurant is designed so that you get to sit at a counter in one of about half dozen rooms that seats probably up to about 12 people, which is nice and intimate, watching the food being cooked in front of you, I love that. Food was presented to you in its unprepared state and you were told about its origin. Each dish once cooked and served came with a full explanation of the ingredients. The freshness of the food was outstanding. Each dish was presented in such away that your taste buds were screaming out Yum Yum. For dessert you were escorted to a table that overlooked the city which was gorgeous and got to see an amazing light show, very spectacular. I loved every dish that was served to me, flavours were amazing, especially the Ohmi Wagyu, that was just delicious. You are definitely paying for the incredibly fresh ingredients, but the wine was way too expensive, over the top. Would I go back......maybe, maybe not. Service was excellent, but I would expect nothing less for the price. For similar price I personally would always return to the Tippling Club though. That's my favourite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is certainly an expensive dinner, so be prepared... but if you can afford to splurge, then don't hesitate! It is a different experience than what you might expect from most restaurants. You are seated at a bar with each course being prepared in front of you. The food speaks for itself - Marinated Botan Shrimp with Sea Urchin and Oscietra Caviar, Tasmanian Abalone with Aonori, Braised Canadian Lobster with Couscous and Tajine Spice - are a few examples and are all delicious. The Wagyu Beef course was seriously one of the best things I have ever tasted. The staff is friendly and attentive. When it comes time for desert, you are moved to a table in a different room where you are able to enjoy a nice view as you complete your meal. Do it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LG1171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waku Ghin also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Waku Ghin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing