We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic teppanyaki-omakase dining, the best in Singapore.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waku Ghin

Waku Ghin
Ranked #156 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Marina Bay
Description: Waku Ghin, recently ranked 39th on the coveted 'World's 50 Best Restaurants' list. The name 'Waku Ghin' is derived from two Japanese words: ‘Waku’ means to 'arise' (like water pouring forth from a hot spring) and 'Ghin' means 'silver', which is Chef Tetsuya's favorite color found throughout this stunning restaurant. That same personal imprint and attention to detail is also on exhibit in the main dining room which seats 25 guests per seating, for an exclusive view of the Singapore skyline. Chef Tetsuya is the first person appointed Sake Ambassador outside of Japan, making his selection the best in the world.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic teppanyaki-omakase dining, the best in Singapore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We ate at Waku Ghin in early April - my wife, 10yo daughter and I. Enough has been said here about the nature of the food already - it's exquisite, and the local, Tetsuya-trained chef at your table will not disappoint. All courses will be memorable, but for me the grilled Tasmanian abalone was just divine. They were great with our daughter, and she shaved the wasabi for the table with the chef who was warm, attentive and personable in a way that we've rarely seen here. There are staff aplenty quietly swarming behind you to ensure that everything runs smoothly, and the service is of a very high standard. At the end of the meal, you're escorted into the dessert room, an elevated, large glass-windowed space of tables from which you view the light show at the Marina (a little reminiscent of Quay in Sydney). By this stage, I was only able to manage coffee and petit fours, having been wonderfully and cheerfully fed some of the world's best food. Expensive, but I'd happily recommend this as easily the best possible restaurant experience in Singapore.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    44
    23
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“"Very Posh Nosh" at an Exceptional Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

A fabulous experience, one not to be missed. Tetsuya's Singapore restaurant is amazing, the service is perfect, your meal is prepared by your own private chef on a high tech teppanyaki grill, and the food is absolutely amazing. 10 courses which were the perfect size so not overly full at the end of the meal. Sea Urchin, Wagyu Beef, Lobster, and more, just fabulous. After dinner, coffee taken in a lounge area, along with dessert wine and Petit Fours overlooking Marina Bay and the last laser light show of the night. An exceptional evening, with a price tag to match.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very special dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eating at Waku Ghin was truly a memorable evening for me and my wife. Firstly, this was a meal to celebrate our marriage just a few days ago. Also Tetsuya is my culinary idol (unfortunately I have not had the opportunity to meet him as he has never been at his restaurants each time I have dined) and we were going to Singapore as a stopover on our honeymoon, so Waku Ghin was a perfect excuse to splurge on a mind blowing meal.

The service here is top notch, you get your own private chef, and the food is absolutely amazing (as the restaurant sources only the finest ingredients in the world). Truly one of the best meals I have ever had!

For detailed review of Waku Ghin, please see the following link:
http://foodmab.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/waku-ghin-singapore-15-june-2011.html

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
686 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
“Cannot be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Hard to understand the some mixed assessments of this extraordinary place. WakuGhin really deserves to be among the highest evaluted gastronomique places in the world. Five minutes in walking distance from the Marina Bay Sands, take the way thru the gallery of the casino (impressive), you enter a world which first reminds you on a simple teppanyaki grill. To a certain extent it has similarities, but what and how the food is prepared and presented is a class on its own. You must choose the menu, which is worth every cent, starting with unforgettable Gillardeau oysters, a Sea urchin, which cannot be better in Sicily, a fillet of Tasmanian Grass-Feed Beef, which for us won against the Wagyu and, and ..... Just order and let surprise yourselves, you won't forget the evening. And talk to the sommelier or to the well experienced service staff. If you like Pinots ask for what is not on the wine list. We had the recommended Ontago Burn Cottage, a dream to this menu, so the second bottle was a must.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travexperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“very good but also very expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Like many fine dining places in Singapore, the fitout is top notch, the service is faultless and the quality of food is usually very good. all these qualities were evident when dining at Waku Ghin. the food was delicious and very theatrical watching them prepare it all on the hot plate in front of you. the produce is fresh and the uni dish is amazing. however, there is a big price tag that comes with it. having dined at Tetsuya's in Sydney, i think it is a lot better value for money and i left feeling very full. i was not fully satisfied when leaving Waku Ghin. albeit a very different style menu at Tetsuya's compared to Waku Ghin, i prefer his original restaurant in Sydney.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Juztina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waku Ghin also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Waku Ghin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing