We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beary Nice indeed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
Ranked #56 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
“Beary Nice indeed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Clean, and very well maintained! I like that we were asked to leave our shoes outside, this ensures cleanliness of all the interior areas. Breakfast was a bit earlier for us than usual, the staff are nice (but not teddy-bearish!) and helpful and overall, a very satisfying experience. Even the location is smack in the middle of chinatown, cool!

Room Tip: try to ask for a bed farther from the door if you want to be disturbed less. It has "the slowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shamsia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    121
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
27
91
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

I traveled with my friend to Singapore in the early of Jan, got the hostel on the Tripadvisor, we believed the reviews and the the truth was really true. Our private room was great, really cool design and good size. Lovely breakfast and location was great in center. A big room where we could be together and enjoyed some great activities. Staffs and travelers were lovely and friendly. We would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loongbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had 2 days to stop over in Singapore and decided t stay in a hostel. To our surprise, this hostel was the cleanest, most pleasing to the eyes, well decorated, cosy and homely as well as convenient in terms of restaurants, MRT and various shop locations. Staff were very friendly and helpful like friends - we felt very much at home here, but couldn't extend our stay further due to the peak holiday season.

Most hostels look good on the outside, but here - the rooms & bathrooms/ toilets are as comfortable and pleasing as their deco on the front desk. Very well maintained.

We look forward to hostel-ing there again!

Room Tip: Choose a smaller dorm if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atmajeevasree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Breakfast is simple but gets the job done. Mere steps from the Chinatown MRT station and in the middle of it all on Pagoda Street. Very nice & helpful front desk. Comfortable beds that come with bedding. Good strong free wifi and even some netbooks for use in the common area for those without their own computer. Definitely would come back here and stay next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very good, clean hostel in two excellent locations in China town. Easy access to MRT.
Stayed at both places, because we were in Singapore for two times in December 2010 (note the selected time is wrong, b/c our traveltime was no longer available, but I wanted to rate it cos we so much liked it). Really liked this one.
Staff is friendly. We arrived at night so we had to wait for a while for someone to show up, but there were guests, who let us in to wait. Breakfast was ok, with cereal and toast and tee. You can buy soda and beer from a fridge.
Movies, games etc. available. Good wifi and a plug for every bed, so you can use your laptop in your own bed. Was nice and quite at the time of visit. Would definitely stay again and tell my friends to visit this hotel if they were travelling Singapore on a budget.

Room Tip: We stayed in big dorm, it was still really quiet. People seemed to respect other privacy and sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofipimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill K, Owner at Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Glad we remained in your memory for this long. =p
Thank you for your kind words and support. Having great guests like you folks complete our Beary Nice atmosphere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

here is comfortable and we have our rest after whole day trip here.breafast,ticket entry all can get ready here also.Location nearby MRT CHINA TOWN.we can go everywhere from here and have delicious food also.will b back next time. very well.thank =)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank May J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was certainly very nice! Impressed by the cleanliness and comfy-ness of the beds. As I was travelling with a large group of friends on a school trip of six days, we certainly felt very much at home with complimentary cereal and toast in the morning as well as free flow of hot chocolate. And also crowding around the TV in the living room watching movies and playing on the Wii after a long day of visiting Singapore. The staff were nice, helpful and friendly, especially since we were a large crowd of teenagers they were to bear up with ;) Plenty of eateries around Beary Nice, being located right along Food Street, the the MRT is of walking distance. For a first time staying in a backpacker-type hostel, it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the smaller dorms if you can :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill K, Owner at Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Thank you for your review!
It's also our mission to encourage more folks to pick up backpacking and more specifically hostel-ing. :) Glad we left a good impression and hopefully you and your friends will consider taking your travels further to South East Asia or maybe even Europe after your studies. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Burrow Hostel at Smith
Burrow Hostel at Smith
#48 of 227 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
Maple Lodge at Chinatown
#71 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#41 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Chinatown
Royal Hostel Singapore
Royal Hostel Singapore
#66 of 227 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel

Property: Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel
Address: 46B Smith Street Chinatown, Singapore 058956, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the runaway success of a beary good hostel, Beary Nice! brings to travellers the same cosy and friendly environment synonymous to the flagship hostel. Located in a brand new property along Singapore Chinatown food street - this new hostel comes with with facilities such as lift access, separate male/female restrooms and the convenience of having the subway/train station within a short 2 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Beary Nice! by a beary good hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Hotel Singapore
Beary Nice! By a Beary Good Hostel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing