We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buzzy vibe that's perfect for a great night out. Just keep the drinks comin'”

Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM
Ranked #2,402 of 10,524 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $12 - $21
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Voted #1 sushi bar in Singapore in 2009, awarded top sushi bar by City Nomads and Weekender, Standing Sushi Bar is Singapore's premiere casual Japanese restaurant chain. The outlet at 8 Queen Street is Standing Sushi Bar's flagship and it offers great sushi, robatayaki, and many Japanese food favorites. There is also a large selection of sake and shochu to keep everyone happy. Standing Sushi Bar is known for their fantastic value and welcomes everyone to the Bras Basah neighborhood.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buzzy vibe that's perfect for a great night out. Just keep the drinks comin'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Ive been to Standing Sushi bar maybe 30 or so times, and always had a great experience there. The food is decent, value-for-money, always tasty and their sashimi is fresh. Plus drinks are good value too. They have some great quality sake bottles that are surprisingly easy on the wallet. I like the place so much I've even thrown my birthday party there - and service and food were both great.
But they've gone and outdid themselves with their Monday promotions. Sashimi, sake and a bunch of other stuff are super cheap every Mon. Suffice to say a bellyfull of salmon and sake on a teensy bill made me and my friends a happy camper last mon. Plus, the friendly n good looking crowd don't hurt!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacsupergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    35
    14
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Sets in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This restaurant is a rare fine that does not get the attention it deserves. Their Japanese sets are real value for money, if I am not wrong, ranging from $15 to $25. Their sashimi is always fresh and tasty, and I have a particular fondness for their spicy salmon hand roll. I've ate here several times, as I live close to the restaurant. The only down side is that their a la carte menu does not seem to be that value for money. I've never ordered from the a la carte.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hi Lynn, thanks for your review! We're in the process of revamping our a la carte menu so your comment is definitely taken into consideration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best salmon sashimi in Singapore.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

I have a deep and important relationship with salmon sashimi. Like the frumpy girl who lived next door throughout childhood, I refused to give raw fish the time of day till my 20s. Then one day that girl turns up at Prom, lets her hair down, takes off her glasses, and thus begins the greatest love affair of my life. So it has been with salmon sashimi.
The cooling, refreshment of gulping down that first luxurious piece of pink pleasure is one of life's great joys, and I found the best salmon sashimi in Singapore at Standing Sushi Bar.
They have one outlet for the businessmen around the CBD, but I prefer the one at Queen Street neat the Art Museum.
All of the fish and seafood is wonderfully fresh; prices are totally reasonable as Japanese restaurants go; and they do have seats and tables - don't be misled by the Standing name!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thanks for the review! Yes, salmon sashimi is delicious... while many people love otoro and the premium fish, it's really hard to discount just how tasty salmon is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Japanese food, adds up pretty quick”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

From my international knowledge of Japanese food (not having been to Japan) this seemed authentic enough. Sashimi and Sushi of a reasonable quality. Not the best out there but a tastey night out. The staff seemed a bit miserable but were efficient enough. I suspect bored on a quiet night so I am happy to give them credit. Final bill including 300ml of sake 130 SD.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aerodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Hi there, thanks for taking the time to write a review for Standing Sushi Bar! I'm glad to hear that you found the food tasty. Sorry about feeling some "sad" vibes from the staff. Usually we're quite a cheerful team! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sets and Art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I was surprised they had seats! I had heard about this restaurant and I thought they were a restaurant with no chairs Turned out that it was a different branch that is the standing concept.

Tried out the robatayaki set and a teriyaki chicken set. It was cool that you could see the chef grilling the skewers in the restaurant but it did get a little smoky at some point. Perhaps that's the Japanese authenticity kicking in. I met the owner, he told me even the charcoal is from Japan!

Overall it was a great meal. The teriyaki chicken had a lightly sweet sauce that was not overpowering and you could see the care the chef took while preparing the robatayaki sticks.

It's not a fancy place, but has adopted that modern / stark look that seems to be popular at restaurants these days.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Edwin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talk19, Owner at Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thanks for coming to the restaurant and it was good to meet you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Standing Sushi Bar 8QSAM? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing