We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, not the best value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #226 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small rooms, not the best value”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Good location in chinatown and friendly staff. The rooms were very small and did not look like the photos on the net. However the rooms and facilities were clean. I would try another hotel next time I am in Singapore as I would not consider this one the best value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austravld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    129
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived at 1.30 am after 20 hours of air travel so we were not going to argue, any bed would have to do.
However after relooking at the online photos I think that this place is a fraud.
As others have noted the bathroom is small and it is a wet room. No problem, it's what you should expect.
The room however was not. It smelt. There was no window. You have to keep the aircon on whenever you are in the room and its like sensory deprivation. You have no idea of day or night.
The bed was enclosed by four walls, one with a big circle opening. It was impossible for the person sleeping on the far side to get out without waking the other person.
I complained that it was not what we expected and was told if I wanted anything else it would cost more
Also, although not stated when booking, this hotel wants payment in full up font..
All in all is was an unpleasant experience.

The only plus, a great position. I think you could find better though.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scheppes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

every rooms (my room+my mother's room+my sister's room+my brother's room) do not have any kettle for boiling water and the kettle in second floor do not have enough water at night, my mother was sick at that time and need hot water and I couldn't get any of it. The place surrounding the hotel is good, near food market, near mrt. When I check out I did'nt receive any promotion voucher, but my brother got it. Maybe I should listened to my friend's advices to book V lavender hotel because the price is not difference so much.

Room Tip: I am not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Medan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is the smallest room and bathroom I have ever stayed in. Amazed that they can make a bathroom this small. Concierge stated this was due to hotel being heritage listed. The room would be acceptable for a single person but difficult if you have a large amount of luggage or have a disability and require a rolator as it is difficult to get around objects in the room. Room we had was noisy as it overlooked Temple Street and noise coming from vendors packing up, cleaning and then resetting up in the morning. No coffee/tea making facilities in room *(probably due to size of room) and only available in the lounge are from 7-11 am. The position of hotel is great but would not recommend this hotel to anyone with a mobility issue. Staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Get a family room that is a little larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank pinzel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear pinzel1957,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your stay in Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your room. It is due to the building being heritage listed that there are some limitations to the rooms designs. The more spacious rooms are the deluxe and superior rooms. The hustle and bustle of touristy Chinatown is sometimes an attraction to guests, however it is unfortunate that it affected you. We will take your feedback into serious consideration and make the necessary improvements.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is strategically located near Chinatown MRT station. Since I have read reviews about rooms having no window, I sent a request when I made the reservation and luckily we got one. There is self service cofee/tea making facility and TV on every lobby floor. Wifi is okay. The bed was comfy, shower room tiny. I really did not expect the room to be spacious, as rooms in SG are not cheap. There is no room service but looking somewhere to eat is not a problem. There is a restaurant called Yum Cha on the 2nd floor (we tried their xiao long bao and siew mai, it was okay) and all other restaurants just around Chinatown offering local dishes.

The staff in the morning shift are very helpful. We asked help to have our documents printed and they were ready to assist us. They were very accommodating to every inquiry we asked while the OTHER male receptionist on the evening shift needs MORE improvement on his COMMUNICATION and CUSTOMER SERVICE skills. Not even courteous enough to be a receptionist.

I would recommend this hotel for those who are not claustrophobic. A perfect location for commuters who want an easy access to the MRT, many souvenirs and other local shops and restaurants too.

Room Tip: If you're looking to get a discount on their rooms, make sure to book at least a month before or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Cathy D,

Warmest greetings from Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. We are thankful for your time in sharing with us your experience at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our convenient location, being near Chinatown MRT station and surrounded by plenty of restaurants and souvenir shops. While we are happy to hear that the morning staff have been prompt with their service, we are sorry that the service standard was not consistent. We value your feedback greatly and would certainly strive to maintain high standards throughout our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure of your return stay!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Room has a lot cobweb.
Room is not soundproofing. The last night that I had stayed, the guest in the next room was quarrel loudly from 0.05 am until 4.00 am. I could not sleep.
Room smell musty.
The elderly male staff is very friendly and good service.
Refrigerator is necessary more than safe box.
ฺBathroom clean and good shower flow.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suchada N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Suchada N,

We thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We regret that we did not meet with your expectations. While we are happy that our staff had been friendly and attentive, we have also taken your feedback into serious consideration and have stepped up on our pest control and housekeeping services. We welcome all feedback to improve all aspects of our services and facilities. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My 1-week stay at the hotel was quite nice. It really was a great find for an affordable price. I was lucky enough to find a promo online for a more affordable 1-week rate, and I'm glad I chose Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown because my room was clean, the room service attendants were very accommodating and would always ask me if I need anything. The place is also just a 1-minute walking distance from the MRT and the location itself made me feel secured even if I was just travelling alone. I would have given it a 5 rating if the offered free breakfast instead of just free coffee though. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to have a convenient and affordable stay in SG.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jekka C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear Jekka C,

Warmest greedings from Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. We are delighted to have provided you with a pleasant experience during your stay with us. Our proximity to Chinatown MRT station is a great advantage to our hotel guests that they all enjoyed. Guests are also spoilt for choice with our neighbouring eateries. We'd look into your feedback and continuously strive to improve our rooms and facilities. We look forward to your return stay with us!

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#171 of 312 in Singapore
346 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#267 of 312 in Singapore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#273 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#136 of 312 in Singapore
45 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#84 of 312 in Singapore
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing