We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jinshan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$420
$382
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
$238
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$180
$156
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$251
$212
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$228
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$280
$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$319
$253
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$191
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$901
$541
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$214
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
33
139
119
50
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
139
119
50
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple streetzen roomsmrt stationstreet foodshoppingdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 388 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good stay due to location. Bad stay due to cockroach found in room! And staff agree to change room but need to wait till 10am, because they do not clean new room immediately and need to wait 3hrs. Price too high as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management's attention. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We hope to welcome you and look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Insects hidden under the wardrobe and scared both my friend and me. We changed 2 rooms but yet the rooms are either dirty with rubbish and hair on the floor or insects in the room. One thing that we are glad is that the receptionist changed hotel for us which is new steps down the road, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and upgraded our room. But throughout the bad experience, we had phobia towards entering any hotel due to the bad experience we had in Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amanda_f00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed to learn of the discomfort you experienced. While we have a routine pest control practice in place, we will seek a better solution and step up our housekeeping efforts to ensure our guests can stay comfortably in the rooms. And we thank you for your feedback to this matter.
We sincerely hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again. We look forward to an opportunity to impress you with our commitment to better guest experience.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I booked a reservation despite the bad reviews. We got disoriented a bit when we got out of the MRT station because a road was closed due to construction, and it gets pretty crowded in Chinatown. When we finally made it, I was quite taken in by the ambiance of the hotel's deep red motif. The room itself was small, with barely enough open floor space to walk about. But I've stayed in smaller spaces for more money. It's fine with me. The important thing is the room was clean. But I understand that it won't be for everyone. The construction I mentioned was actually right outside our room. And yes, it was noisy. But I won't hold that against the hotel as it is beyond their control and is not a common occurrence. And yes, the location -- in the midst of Chinatown and proximity to an MRT station -- makes it an ideal base for sightseeing. This will be one of my main options to stay in when I make it back to Singapore in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotels location. We are also delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights one for my wife, our 4 year old son and myself the other room for our 19 year old daughter and 16 year old son. My wife and I left to explore chinatown for a couple of hours on the first morning, on returning we found our kids and bags packed up and told to wait in the reception area.
Of course they were upset and distressed as the hotel had insisted they vacate and pack up both rooms because they believed we had booked for 1 night only. When checked they realised that they had made an error and booked us in for another night at the same price and offered nothing but an apology. The lift wasn't working so we were left to carry the bags back to our rooms via the stairs!! If were staying any longer in Singapore i would have certainly looked for another hotel. Ps I was very proud of my daughter who handled the situation well and organised her siblings and all the baggage.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience and the distress it has caused you and your family. Your feedback is important to us and has attracted our management’s attention. We have investigated the matter and found that there was an oversight on our part with the system maintenance, causing some operational confusion which led to the booking error. We could have handled the situation better and will step up on our staff training in handling such delicate situation more carefully and professionally.
Once again, we appreciate your feedback which will certainly drive us to improve our service level to better serve our customers. We would hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location is unbeatable, right in the middle of chinatown with MRT station 100 meters away. Rooms are small and most do not have windows, they are comfortable however and good if you want a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that the location is ideal for you.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews