We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #225 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location but dirty room”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good stay due to location. Bad stay due to cockroach found in room! And staff agree to change room but need to wait till 10am, because they do not clean new room immediately and need to wait 3hrs. Price too high as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for bringing this matter to our management's attention. We are disappointed we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

All our hotels are contracted with a pest control company to safeguard and maintain the quality of the environment. We have since stepped up the pest control activities, and we thank you for the feedback.

We hope to welcome you and look forward to your continued patronage.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    129
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Insects hidden under the wardrobe and scared both my friend and me. We changed 2 rooms but yet the rooms are either dirty with rubbish and hair on the floor or insects in the room. One thing that we are glad is that the receptionist changed hotel for us which is new steps down the road, Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen and upgraded our room. But throughout the bad experience, we had phobia towards entering any hotel due to the bad experience we had in Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_f00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed to learn of the discomfort you experienced. While we have a routine pest control practice in place, we will seek a better solution and step up our housekeeping efforts to ensure our guests can stay comfortably in the rooms. And we thank you for your feedback to this matter.
We sincerely hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again. We look forward to an opportunity to impress you with our commitment to better guest experience.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Los Baños, Laguna, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I booked a reservation despite the bad reviews. We got disoriented a bit when we got out of the MRT station because a road was closed due to construction, and it gets pretty crowded in Chinatown. When we finally made it, I was quite taken in by the ambiance of the hotel's deep red motif. The room itself was small, with barely enough open floor space to walk about. But I've stayed in smaller spaces for more money. It's fine with me. The important thing is the room was clean. But I understand that it won't be for everyone. The construction I mentioned was actually right outside our room. And yes, it was noisy. But I won't hold that against the hotel as it is beyond their control and is not a common occurrence. And yes, the location -- in the midst of Chinatown and proximity to an MRT station -- makes it an ideal base for sightseeing. This will be one of my main options to stay in when I make it back to Singapore in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our hotels location. We are also delighted to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will work hard to improve our service and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products consistently.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back again at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights one for my wife, our 4 year old son and myself the other room for our 19 year old daughter and 16 year old son. My wife and I left to explore chinatown for a couple of hours on the first morning, on returning we found our kids and bags packed up and told to wait in the reception area.
Of course they were upset and distressed as the hotel had insisted they vacate and pack up both rooms because they believed we had booked for 1 night only. When checked they realised that they had made an error and booked us in for another night at the same price and offered nothing but an apology. The lift wasn't working so we were left to carry the bags back to our rooms via the stairs!! If were staying any longer in Singapore i would have certainly looked for another hotel. Ps I was very proud of my daughter who handled the situation well and organised her siblings and all the baggage.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
We are very sorry for the unpleasant experience and the distress it has caused you and your family. Your feedback is important to us and has attracted our management’s attention. We have investigated the matter and found that there was an oversight on our part with the system maintenance, causing some operational confusion which led to the booking error. We could have handled the situation better and will step up on our staff training in handling such delicate situation more carefully and professionally.
Once again, we appreciate your feedback which will certainly drive us to improve our service level to better serve our customers. We would hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The location is unbeatable, right in the middle of chinatown with MRT station 100 meters away. Rooms are small and most do not have windows, they are comfortable however and good if you want a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing us a review. We are glad to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that the location is ideal for you.
We hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The room I had did not resemble in any way the rooms shown on their website. It was tiny, dirty, had ants everywhere, and very damp. (It was less humid outside.) It was such an unpleasant experience I left Singapore early rather than spend one more night there.

It should be noted that their website states every room has a DVD player. They do not. Also, I watched people walking in off the street getting prices nearly half what I paid when booking through their website.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing us a review. We are disappointed to hear of your less than pleasant experience and apologise for the displeasure it has caused you.
Our rooms are designed to retain the original feel of Chinatown in the early days, compact and functional. We do have different room types available to cater to guests with different requirement. Our Deluxe rooms are of a bigger size and are available at a slight premium that may appeal to your liking. There has been some inaccurate information previously but we have since corrected to the actual rooms. Please be assured our room rates are kept competitive relative to the market price and hotel type.
We appreciate your feedback for it helps us to review our services better and we look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back.
Regards
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Little can be critized about Service or the Quality of the room.
However it was not possible to Log into the W-lan with a Laptop. Others in the Hotel had the same Problems.
I vote the breakfast however the worst ever in the whole world: a tray with one in gladwrap wrapped Sandwich and one apple with no Drinks, delivered on a tray to the room is either the worst nightmare or the best joke. I couldn't decide which.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about our service and we have shared your concerns with the team for immediate attention to improve our guests' experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#172 of 312 in Singapore
347 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#259 of 312 in Singapore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#137 of 312 in Singapore
45 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#272 of 312 in Singapore
192 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#85 of 312 in Singapore
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing