We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in the middle of Chinatown”
Review of Jinshan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jinshan Hotel
Ranked #269 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is great for access to major tourist spots and food points. Price-wise, its cheap by Singapore standards but certainty not nasty. My room was probably the smallest of the single rooms with no window..but that was ok, it actually helped to cut out the street noise and being located on the inside of the building also helped to make it quiet.

All facilities worked well, so no complaints there. The complimentary breakfast in a sister hotel about 20 meters down the street was ok, nothing special but sufficient to fill one up to start the day. Complimentary drinks machine in the upstairs lobby area was a bonus.

Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Will stay again.

Room Tip: choose an internal room to lessen street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are extremely pleased to know that our team provided a prompt and attentive service that made your stay memorable. We will also gladly share your positive comments to the team. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to having you back with us at Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 381 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

The location is good, near the Chinatown MRT station. However the room was quite small. The ventilation in the room could be better. The bathroom was tiny and after a shower all the moisture had to evaporate into the bedroom thus making the bedroom damp. I felt that the room needed to be vaccuumed. The carpet appeared to be dusty.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinayrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and like the hotel's location.

Your remark has been carefully noted. We have since alerted housekeeping to take the proper steps to air out and deodorize all rooms to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. Experience of our guests’ is first priority for all of us and we welcome feedback to improve aspects of our products and services consistently.

Thank you again for your sharing your experience with us here and we look forward to welcoming you again in Santa Grand!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location, right in the heart of Chinatown. Just go downstairs and you're in the thick of it. Good shopping and street food if that's your thing. About 200 metres to Chinatown MRT train station. Room was small but adequate for a couple. Hotel has free wi-fi that some of the bigger hotels in Singapore charge you for. All in all we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVM1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for recommending us! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The standard rooms were just tiny, fitting the bed but little more. Most had no window and none had windows at eye level. Moreover, I opened the room they gave me to find that it was still dirty AND occupied, even though I arrived after check in time. I got a bit (!) fed up as I had to get to a business meeting so the desk clerk offered to let me change in the cleaner's cupboard. Say what ? I got a bit more fed up and asked for a full refund. Whereupon they gave me the family room at the top of the hotel. It was just fine with lots of (high) windows and an extra alcove with a single bed. But not worth the full price, had I paid it ---

Oh, and the breakfast was chaotic and not very nice. I skipped it on the second day.

Yes, the location is good but the hotel is not particularly appealing and the standard rooms are awful.

Room Tip: The family room is fine if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaV7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

We recognize that the size of the rooms are small especially Standard Room type and it may be a bit inconvenient for some travelers which we are sorry to hear about. If a spacious room is a guest's preference, the Deluxe or Family room type would be our recommendation. We have also counseled our staff to ensure our standards of service and cleanliness are consistently met. It is through your constructive feedback that we are able to improve our quality standard.

Once again, thank you for sharing with us on TripAdvisor and we hope to have a chance to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel regularly since Yr 2011. Frequent about once a month.
In here, i want to point out an issue, which it happened for many times, and this time, i wish to share it out to all those travelers before they make this choice.
When you make a reservation in 1 week advance, on "superior room" by mentioned the ROOM number. Eventually they will assign you to a "standard double" room, which is half of the size, and giving an excuse " all room are fully occupied". ( or even it's really fully occupied )
In the website, it shows only 2 type of rooms, superior( with queen bed) & standard ( single bed), but there is another type of room which is "invincible" on web, i called it "standard double", which is a room size of standard single, with a double bed.
A small space with a large bed, it make the whole feeling inside is extremely compact.
I go to reception to beg for a room change, the male receptionist talk offensively to reject my request, ( "You booked the superior, it IMPOSSIBLE for me to change/ upgrade for you!!!" )
What he said, made me mad. so, without making any argument, i kept on stay on what they have assigned for 2 nights, then change to another hotel for another 1 night.
i faced this situation 2 times against male receptionist, female receptionist is quite patient and spoke politely to explain what they unable to provide.
i personally can barely accept the hotel assign me to the room which not i wish for, but the attitude of the male receptionist is terrible, and make me write this complaint.
One last thing ( for the good side ), this hotel have a perfect location for new comer, or solo traveler. Perfect location, convenience to public transport, shopping area.
1 last thing, the old Chinese lady serve in cafeteria is very nice. Very friendly and nice.

Room Tip: how can we assure our booking, specially on the request room. any condition which the hotel doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoneTraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for being our regular guest and we have noted your valuable feedback. We are disappointed to know that we did not meet your expectation during your stay with us.

Your feedback has attracted our management’s attention. We have taken immediate action to correct some of the areas and make improvement. Due to front desk staff lack of experience hence training has been provided and we will continue monitor his performance closely. We appreciate your kind understanding and patience and would like to assure you that we will work hard to improve our service levels and it is feedback like yours that help us to do better. It is our sincere hope that your recent experience will not deter you from visiting us again.

Thank again for your constructive feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to host you again.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is all about locaion. It's pretty close to an MRT and there are several things to walk and see in Chinatown (Lonely Planet has a good walking tour of Chinatown that was nice and convenient from our hotel).

As far as the hotel itself, it's pretty basic. It's a bit on the rundown side. The first thing I noticed in our room was a little roach bait thingy. Never saw any bugs though. The room was TINY, but all we needed was a place to sleep and shower since we were on the go so much, so that wasn't much of an issue. If you're looking for a spacious comfortable room to really relax and spend time in, then you may not care for this hotel. The room had a wall AC unit and it's good that the room was small because it took a bit to cool the room down. Unfortunately, you have to leave the key in a switch in order to work the lights and AC so you can't run the AC on low to have the room comfortable when you return. Singapore is hot.

The bathroom was clean, but small. The shower was teeny tiny and I had trouble maneuvering in it. My wife who is quite small also had trouble.

The breakfast is served at their other hotel just down the road (maybe a 30 second walk..if that) and is a pretty normal, basic breakfast...eggs, meat, toast, juice, coffee, etc.

The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Again, for this hotel, it's really all about location. There are much nicer hotels in other parts of town, but they are also further away from most of the stuff to see/do.

If you do stay at this hotel and are taking a cab, it's easiest to just tell the driver to take you to Temple Street in Chinatown. None of our taxi drivers knew where Trengganu St. was but when we started saying "Chinatown, Temple St." they took us right there and then we could just walk down the street to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and are satisfied with our location, amenities and service.Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Well worth staying if your looking for great position and atmosphere. Good value for money but its all about position. Right in the heart of Chinatown and next to the street markets. Right near MRT station and eating houses.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avcrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jinshan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! Indeed, our hotel's location is easily accessible with MRT station and perfect for leisure travelers and food lover, everything are just within walking distance. We are extremely glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#177 of 317 in Singapore
353 reviews
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#235 of 317 in Singapore
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#281 of 317 in Singapore
197 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#121 of 317 in Singapore
73 reviews
Chinatown
Bliss Hotel Singapore
Bliss Hotel Singapore
#89 of 317 in Singapore
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinshan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinshan Hotel

Address: 20 Trengganu Street, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $55 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinshan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct, Jinshan Hotel is fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Formerly known as Santa Grand Chinatown, here in Jinshan Hotel not only you will feel the traditional Singapore culture in 1960s, but also you'll feel right at home, the minute you enter our hotel, revelling in our unique Asian hospitality. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jinshan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jinshan Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing