We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, but convenience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Ranked #223 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Xiamen, China
1 review
“Small, but convenience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The room is really small. But, the location is perfect.
I've study in Singapore for 4years. I love Chinatown this place in Singapore. Its really very convenient for food hehe. And, it is very easy to go everywhere. MRT and but stop is just close to hotel. Its perfect location. Thus, it's worth choice to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imtigeruu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown situated in a perfect location and is easily accessible with the MRT stations, Chinatown food street, and attractions just a stone throw away. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    127
    102
    37
    36
See reviews for
65
76
88
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Pros:
The Chinatown MRT station is just right round the corner. The staff I've met are all friendly and accomodating. Free hot drinks 24/7. Nearby hawker stalls sell souvenirs at a lower price than any other tourist spots I've been.

Cons:
The room and bathroom are rather small, and carpet needs to be changed. No room view.

It's Great For:
Those who come to Singapore to enjoy what it has to offer, and spend most of their time outside where the hotel is just a place to crash and sleep.

Not So Great For:
Those wanting to have a leisure and relaxing stay within the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank han_hjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you liked the hotel’s location and have enjoyed your stay with us.We appreciate your feedback about the carpet, we have shared your feedback with the team and made improvement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Santa Grand was my first experience in Singapore and too my horror the rooms were tiny with no space for 2 luggage pieces. However the room did have free wi-fi, decent LCD TV and landline phone too. Add to that the hotel did provide some great value for money in an expensive city... very close to Chinatown MRT, right next to lots of restaurants and Maxwell food court, and located right in the heart of the main shopping streets.
Breakfast provided was very basic but always hot and timely, add to that staff were very courteous at all times and able to even give recommendations on places to see and directions to get there.
The rooms are a slight disappointment as they are a bit too cramped even by budget hotel standards... and the smallest toilet/bathroom I've ever seen. The lack of windows in the room and constantly malfunctioning toilet was annoying.
Overall, would recommend the hotel for a short stay if on budget and dont like to travel far. Especially meant for backpackers.

Room Tip: Not much difference in the rooms here as small building with similar structure throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AV1Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time write us a review. We are glad that you like the hotel’s location and convenience in Chinatown.

We recognize that the size of the toilet and some of the rooms especially Superior room type are small and may be a bit inconvenient for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear about. If a spacious room is a guest's preference, the Deluxe room type would be our recommendation.

However, we do have other Santa Grand hotels in our chain, like Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen just a minute walk from Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown, Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel East Coast to meet the diverse need of customers.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

In the middle of Chinatown makes it a perfect location for easy access to great food, markets galore and the information center and MRT are both within 2 mins walk from the hotel. The room was very small but adequate for a solo traveler. The carpet could do with a good clean though. The bathroom was very clean and air conditioner worked well. Breakfast is basic but staff friendly and eager to help. Overall I was really pleased with the price, location and staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank martimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown situated in the heart of Chinatown and is easily accessible with the MRT stations, Chinatown food street, and attractions just a stone throw away. We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

As regards of the carpet, we have taken your feedback and made improvement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Good location. It is near MRT. There are so many resturant which is very good around the area. It locates in the walking distance to Indian temples. The room is quite small. There is no shower curtain makes water spilled. The room does not smell very well. The HBO channel does not work. However, they nicely changed the room to a bigger one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSitthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review. Indeed, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown situated in the heart of Chinatown and is easily accessible with the MRT stations, Chinatown food street, and attractions just a stone throw away. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are sorry about the HBO channel problem occured during your stay. However, we are glad that you got your room changed. We appreciate your feedback about the shower curtain, we have shared your feedback to the team and made the improvement.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Santa Grand Chinatown Hotel is located really conveniently, the good atmosphere of Chinatown right at the doorstep and downtown and many sites within reach. The room, though, was rather small given the price; especially the bathroom was too small: taking a shower soaked the toilet and washbin as well. And although my room was free from street noise, noise from the corridor and neigbouring rooms was just a bit too much now and then.
The free WIFI was really convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emblaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you liked the location and our free wifi service.

The streets in Chinatown can be a little bustling at night, and whilst it reflects the ambience in this heritage area, it can be troubling for travellers like you, which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Clear rooms,cheap and good in service, this is only i want..... I will suggest my friend and family to stay, if they would visit singapore. The location near MRT and shoping area. Over all it's great hotel.....

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chi4ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us!
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We really look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#168 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
#252 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#195 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mono
Hotel Mono
#187 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Chinatown
Park 22 Hotel
Park 22 Hotel
#269 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown

Property: Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown
Address: 20 Trengganu Street Jinshan Hotel, Singapore 058479, Singapore (Formerly Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is located in the highly dynamic Chinatown precinct. Fully intertwined with the rich history and industriousness of Singapore's early pioneers, this location brings forth the sights, sounds, tastes, smells and customs of the Chinese community. Blended into the history and culture of Chinatown will be the tourism and sightseeing benefits that make modern day Chinatown a must visit. Featuring relaxed and open "Hacienda Personality" of the Spanish countryside and in a location that immerses guests in a new experience, Santa Grand Hotel Chinatown is pitched to appeal to the western individual traveler who wants to experience all that Singapore has to offer - from the kampong sweetness and famous Chicken Rice to the exotic local delights Kway Chup noodles, Chilli Crab, Roti Prata and many more. Adding diversity are the nearby historic Sri Mariamman Indian Temples and newly opened Buddha Tooth Relic Temple and Museum along with the many Chinese Medical Halls and shops that pepper Chinatown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jin Shan Hotel Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing