We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in little India”
Review of Moon 23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon 23 Hotel
Ranked #265 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Oasis in little India”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a great time at this hotel, Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are very small but clean, modern and good for spending a couple of nights(not for someone with more than 1 bag each). Mini bar in room is free and restocked daily and there are free drinks every afternoon from 5pm. Great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window when booking as some rooms do not have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrens793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    176
    148
    56
    49
See reviews for
27
243
48
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked for a deluxe room that comes with a narrow bathtub. Sufficient amount of toiletries were provided. Room size is not a problem for travelers with small luggages. Although we stayed during the Christmas period in an almost fully booked hotel, but we were comfortable with the crowd during buffet breakfast and evening complimentary cocktail session. Hotel locates in the middle of Bugis & Little India. Newly renovated hotel but sandwiched between some old shophouses. Comes with free minibar. Great value for money I would say.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muahcheee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This should not be allowed to call itself a hotel.
Some rooms don't even have windows, just a curtain covering a wall!!
The bed is simply a mattress on a concrete extension of the floor.
You can only get in on one side.

Whilst the staff are personable and always smiling, they are extremely inexperienced and often need to be reminded 3 or 4 times before something gets done. E.g. When asked for a hand mirror because there wasn't one in the bathroom.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chetholiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We thought we were staying at a bed and breakfast when we booked this hotel. There was a bed and there was breakfast, but this was no bed and breakfast hotel. The hotel is nicely decorated, the staff is very nice and the hotel is not far from the metro; however, unless you are single, have no kids, not a lot of luggage, and are traveling as a backpacker - I'd recommend you skip this place. The first room we were assigned was only big enough to fit a queen size bed and a bathroom. There was no place to put the luggage, no place to walk and the little entryway was not wide enough for us to walk around each other. We did have an air conditioning problem with the room so the staff easily "upgraded" us to another room which was slightly better. This one had a window although it was in the bathroom so there was little privacy unless you drew the curtain, and there was a bit more room, but really, still too small.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

i stayed at moon hotel for 3 nights. it is at a good location close to bugis and orchard road. there are 2 metro stations very nearby. also very close to the marina bay and singapore flyer by taxi. the room is very small, but somehow i really liked it. the bed was very comfortable. and they do not charge for the minibar which is having daily 2 beers, some juice and water. plus you have 5 cocktails free a day between 5 - 7 pm. they say cocktails, but it does not have to be a cocktail, you can get beer, wine or anything, you name it.

getting to the hotel is easy. i was not in a hurry when i arrived at the airport, so i just took the metro from the airport. and if you need to take a taxi, all drivers know the dickson road.

the staff are young and very helpful. internet is free and we did not experience any signal problem at anywhere inside the hotel. the hotels offers a nice continental breakfast. i enjoyed the breakfast even though it did not have lots to offer. i guess once you like the place, you already like everything they provide. i really liked this hotel, so i did not really look deep to find flaws. i had chats with some other guests and they were happy as well with the hotel.

all in all, i am happy that i stayed there. if i will ever travel back to singapore, it would be my choice again (if i still did not hit the jackpot).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prof_dumbledore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nice and cozy hotel, one of the very few in Singapore which includes breakfast. Highlight of it is it serves free cocktail and snacks everyday at 5 pm. Nice soft music is played in the hotels. Rooms has good amenities, body scrubber, nail filer, speaker to plug in your own iPod or iPhone. Free cans of juices and beer in your mini bar.
Location wise is very good, outskirts of little india, walking distance to Mustafa, Sim Lim Square and OG mall.

Room Tip: The standard room has no window... But it does has a large curtain on the wall which gives the feeli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saowalaksethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Good location in Little India, with colour and bustle at night, and easy walking to the centre of Singapore and Orchard Road.The room was a standard double, but so compact that there was nowhere to put our suitcases that didn't involve climbing over them to reach the door. The 2 shelves in the wardrobe were 6 feet up, above the hanging space, and therefore totally unuseable. Only 3 hangers were provided, but the very sweet lady from housekeeping did bring some more on request. The bed was a mattress on a platform with an 18 inch step which, together with the suitcases, created a logistical problem in reaching the bathroom safely during the night. The room had no window, except the one to the bathroom, which made going to the loo a voyeuristic experience. The shower and loo were a combined wetroom, so after a shower, we had to paddle to use the loo. No table with chairs was provided, so the only place we could sit and read was on the bed. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the place was spotlessly clean. We paid about £85 per night for bed and a very average continental breakfast, so not expensive by Singapore standards. Would we stay there again? I don't think so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgxtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#135 of 314 in Singapore
219 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#92 of 314 in Singapore
824 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#150 of 314 in Singapore
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#196 of 314 in Singapore
21 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#160 of 314 in Singapore
562 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#154 of 314 in Singapore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon 23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon 23 Hotel

Property: Moon 23 Hotel
Address: 23 Dickson Road | Little India/ Bugis, Singapore 209507, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 314 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon 23 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon 23, a Boutique hotel nested along Dickson Road. Moon 23, provide 80 keys with various décor of either designer bed frame or the contemporary design both providing a TRENDY comfort, CLASSY modern & COSY feelings. We are connected via three main MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) line in Singapore all within 10 minute walk Little India Station- NE Line (Purple), Bugis Station- EW Line (Green) & Rochor Station- Downtown Line (Blue) . Walking distance mall include Bugis Junction, Bugis+, Bugis Village, Sim Lim Square & 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. For the business traveler we are 15 minutes ride to major commercial buildings within the CBD. For the shoppers a mere 15 minutes train ride will take you to the fame Orchard Road shopping belt or Marina Bay Area (Marina Square, Singapore Flyers & Marina Bay Sands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Moon 23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon 23 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing