We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms & Pricey Just Like Singapore”
Review of Moon 23 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon 23 Hotel
Ranked #264 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
San Diego, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small Rooms & Pricey Just Like Singapore”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The mOOn hotel was not necessarily a bad hotel. It was a decent location, close to some good shopping, although that's never hard to find in Singapore, as the whole city just seems to be a big mall. My wife and I had a nice night there, we got the "executive" room, which was bigger than the standard rooms, so I can't imagine how small those are. One thing is there was no window in our room. There was a big curtain, but no window, just a plane wall behind the curtain. Also, after we checked in for a flight out, the lady at the airline wondered why we stayed in Little India, as it's the "red light" district. We never felt uncomfortable, but it was a bit "dirtier" than most of the rest of the city. Still, the hotel was close to the MRT station, so it was convenient for us.

Room Tip: I don't know if I would get anything smaller than the "executive" as it was REALLY sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    176
    148
    56
    49
See reviews for
27
243
48
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hihi, me and my GF stayed at this hotel between the 11/11 - 13/11.

a) It took us 30 - 40 mins from leaving the airport to walking through the door (which is very reasonable, we took the Bagis MTR exit)

b) Upon our arrival we were greeted with some cold apple juice (nice touch!)

c) The room is quite compact, with a good quality shower and a toilet inside the room behind a partitioned wall. (there is no shower curtain to separate the 2 facilities)

d) The room is clean and the bed comfortable.

e) THERE WAS NO WINDOW in the room!!!!!!!!!!!!...!!!!!!.. which I suppose didn't really matter much since we were out most of the time.

f) The hotel is very close to the city center (Nearest MTR is Little India)

g) the Hotel provided free Wifi.

h) The free breakfast was sufficient, including toast, beans, fruit, yohurt, coffee, tea, juices, scrabbled eggs and cooked sausages.

i) Taxis to the airport cost $16 and takes about 30 mins,

Overall, the hotel was nice, it was what we paid for... the staff were friendly. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnthonyC010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. I had booked it through Expedia. First time when I saw the room I was shocked at its size. It is nothing but a mousehole. You just creep into the bed sleep and come out. If I had known the size I would not have gone for it. For the money they charge, better hotels are available in Little India itself. But whatever facilities they have are neat and clean. But I would not recommend this hotel for any one who needs a place to relax and refresh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rvijay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Kerobokan, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Our room was miniscule, the bathroom sink was in the room (not the one with the toilet and shower), the desk could barely hold anything on it. But the mattress and bedding were very nice, the breakfast was good, and the cocktail hour from 5-7 was definitely a reason to go home early. Good/cheap restaurants nearby. We booked the hotel, as we always do, on arrival at Singapore airport as they often have the most interesting/best deals and we're up for an adventure. PS-Don't go with someone you've never shared your smells with before!!

Room Tip: Get one with a window, or you'll feel like you're in solitary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Well this wasn't my choice to stay here but we had a mix up with booking and being a last minute trip the agent put us here as there wasnt many rooms available for this weekend in Singapore. This was advertised as a four star but really, come on in what world would this even be a 3 star? i understand rooms in SG are small but this was a closet. I counted two steps from the front door to the bed and good luck gettiing into bed without climbing over your partner. They had a glass window dividing the bathroom from the bed so absoleutely no privacy. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel as this is over priced for a college dorm style room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alec_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Nice little hotel in the heart of Little India. We live in Singapore and stayed there for one night this past weekend to get away. For us it was great as we didn't have much luggage and were just there for the night. If you have a ton of luggage this may not be the best place as you'll be stepping over it. However, for the price, location and cleanliness it may be worth it. The staff were very friendly and checking in and out was seamless. Plus the whole place is very clean and comfortable. They have a cocktail hour in the evening and 5 drinks come with each room, plus you the in-room minibar is complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junior1573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Small but cozy hotel, made it all up by providing useful amenities.

Chanced upon this hotel when I was reading a travel mag. For those looking for promotion n staying at this hotel before 31st December 2011, quote "tigertales" in their website when booking to enjoy their promo!

I didnt expect much from this hotel n indeed, it satisfied my expectations.

I stayed in a deluxe room (with the bathtub) n yes, the room is small but the complimentary amenities make up for it.
There's complimentary wi-fi, minibar (consisting of 2 cans of San Miguel beer, 2 cans of soft drinks, 2 bottles of fruit juice n 2 bottles of water), coffee n tea, cocktail hours from 5-7pm n of cos, breakfast. Wasn't a wide spread but enough to satisfy the morning tummy. Toiletries provided were more than enough; shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, shower cap, loofah, shaver, toothbrushes, sewing kit n even a nail buffer. Stayed with my bf but they only provided one pair of bathroom slippers n one bathrobe. But it's fine, don't mind walking barefooted as the hotel is very clean.

Cozy for 2 persons' stay n short term only. I stayed for a night.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#131 of 315 in Singapore
219 reviews
Little India
Wanderlust
Wanderlust
#93 of 315 in Singapore
824 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#153 of 315 in Singapore
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#161 of 315 in Singapore
562 reviews
Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
Park 22 Hotel Little India
#200 of 315 in Singapore
21 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#155 of 315 in Singapore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon 23 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon 23 Hotel

Property: Moon 23 Hotel
Address: 23 Dickson Road | Little India/ Bugis, Singapore 209507, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moon 23 Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moon 23, a Boutique hotel nested along Dickson Road. Moon 23, provide 80 keys with various décor of either designer bed frame or the contemporary design both providing a TRENDY comfort, CLASSY modern & COSY feelings. We are connected via three main MRT (Mass Rapid Transit) line in Singapore all within 10 minute walk Little India Station- NE Line (Purple), Bugis Station- EW Line (Green) & Rochor Station- Downtown Line (Blue) . Walking distance mall include Bugis Junction, Bugis+, Bugis Village, Sim Lim Square & 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. For the business traveler we are 15 minutes ride to major commercial buildings within the CBD. For the shoppers a mere 15 minutes train ride will take you to the fame Orchard Road shopping belt or Marina Bay Area (Marina Square, Singapore Flyers & Marina Bay Sands). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Moon 23 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon 23 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing