We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and value for money”
Review of Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jayleen 1918 Hotel
Ranked #189 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed September 23, 2013

It's a small hotel on carpenter street, clarke quay area with a friendly staffs and good service. Price is acceptable, concerning to facilities (rates including breakfast for two and location close to mrt station). Small problem when i left my bottle of vitamin in the room refrigerator and when I asked to hotel staff about lost and found things they couldnt find it, though its only one day. They asked my number but noone ever called.

Room Tip: Try standard/superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andriyanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

189 - 195 of 271 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Jayleen 1918, used to be, Best western Jayleen, is a nice little hotel, in walking distance to Chinatown. The rooms are quite small, but clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is in walking distance to MRT station.
Goog value for the price

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laulund62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A little pricey, but it's Singapore, but the location is perfect. It's just a 10 minute walk from Chinatown, 5 minutes from Clarke Quay and the MRT. It's clean and comfortable, the staff are helpful and friendly. I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaigonMangoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel was still a Best Western property when we reserved but on arrival we learnt that the owners had decided to take it "private" with the current name, hence we had to learn, after the fact, that we would enjoy no BW Rewards benefit whatsoever with the stay. We had a more satisfactory experience with this hotel after they changed our room to a quieter one as we could not sleep in the original room due to the incessant noise from the other guests. The noisy room was next to the lifts and seemed to have had very minimal sound-proofing on the door. The new room was far from the lifts and had no noise issues even though it faced the street. Breakfast was acceptable but better options could be found nearby the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had been looking at lots of hotels for 2 months when I finally discovered this. All the other hotels were either too expensive, had bad reviews or had a bad location.

By far, tehbest things at this hotel are the LOCATION and price. It easy to walk to shopping areas, nightlife area (Clarke quay), Marina Bay area, Asian Civilization Museum. It is close to MRT, yet the taxi in Singapore is not that expesive even compared to medium European prices.

The room was very small but ok for 2 adults and all the things where put in that room taking into consideration the small place. It was nicely decoreted and had all the necesary facilities. It was a bitweird to have the basin in the room, but you get used to it.

The local people seem to think the distances are much bigger than the reality (e. g. the taxi driver told us it is not possible for a woman to walk all the way to marina bay and I walked that distance very easy and twice a day).

I had a room with window seeing the beautifull suspended trees on the building.

The breakfast was ok, not great. I would go there again.

Room Tip: ask for a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlekimms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a night during our visit to Singapore. The hotel location is pretty decent. close to clarke quay mrt. Check in was smooth. The room was pretty small I thought for the price we paid. The bath was neat, but again small. The wash basin was right in the room itself which was a major irritant.Also, we could hear the person upstairs in the bath and the flush too. We took a room with a window for which the charge was a little more, but the window just overlooked a room across, but yeah there was some natural light. The breakfast was ok, there were no staff, more like a self service breakfast. Being vegetarians our choice was pretty limited, but it can pass. It said third person is chargeable, but there was no way a third person could stay here, maybe a kid can, but not 3 adults. Since we were here to visit our son who is a student, we were hoping he could stay with us, but it was not possible due to the room size. Fort Canning was just a 5 minute walk away. Good for a night stay, but not more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prema_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

i stayed in this hotel for one night with my 4yo daughter on a singapore stopover. it is a small hotel that does not offer a lot of facilities but is centrally located to the subway and clark quay and decently priced. Good for a stopover visit. For the size of the hotel, breakfast was good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaramati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Clover The Arts
#164 of 317 in Singapore
294 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Riverside
#174 of 317 in Singapore
889 reviews
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#177 of 317 in Singapore
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Clover 5 HongKong Street
#143 of 317 in Singapore
331 reviews
Santa Grand Hotel Boat Quay
#215 of 317 in Singapore
11 reviews
Chinatown
The Inn at Temple Street
The Inn at Temple Street
#187 of 317 in Singapore
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jayleen 1918 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jayleen 1918 Hotel

Address: 42 Carpenter Street Jayleen 1918 Hotel, Singapore 059921, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#82 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $88 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jayleen 1918 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Jayleen 1918 is affordably priced and located right in the City Centre, close to the Singapore River, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay Entertainment District.It is walking distance to Raffles Place, Chinatown, The Esplanade, and within 2km to Suntec City Convention Centre and Marina Bay Sands Convention Centre and Hotel.Both Tourists and Business Visitors alike find this hotel ideally located and suitably priced.The Hotel has a heritage look, both on its external facade, as well as in the decor of its rooms, while being modern, recently built with Free Wifi and Free Local Telephone Calls. A sumptuous American Buffet Breakfast is also included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jayleen 1918 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore
Jayleen 1918 Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing