We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and helpful staffs, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
Ranked #145 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed April 12, 2011

I stayed there 2 nights and basically enjoyed. The staffs are very nice, friendly and helpful...Location is very good as right on main road and walk not too far to MRT...Bed is good, including mattress, blanket, cover, pillow...All smelled good...Bathroom was pretty clean...The only problem is 12 beds in one room and the door in my room is the common door for 2 other rooms also...My bed is right at the door, and any time any one get in/out then always made noise and couldnt sleep...though the location is on the main road but very quite at night, except in room due to so many people get in/out...
Anyway, except that problem then i would love even to stay there again, as the owner is very nice though....

Room Tip: the bed stuffs are good, the people there nice!
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quyen224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for New Society Backpackers' Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 58 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2011

The overall experience was great. The frontdesk was very accomodating. The place was clean and well-kempt. Of course wifi is also available. Their location is very strategic. Lockers are provided to give you peace of mind. The only thing which keeps them from receiving 5 stars is that there are long-stay guests who live there and may tend to make the place rowdy or eye-sore. They should separate those who are transient and those who live there to keep up the standard. Otherwise, the place is recommendable. Oh one more thing, i hope they start serving peanut butter for breakfast. That would be a complete joy. Hehe.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeAmeer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Nice atmosphere, the people working there made us feel like home. A lot of nice people to talk to, new beds, new and clean bedsheets. Toilet and bathroom had some mould on the walls, but they kept everything clean so it didn't really matter.
Perfect location in walking distance of Mustafa centre with everything from electronics to shoes and clothes and open 24 hours a day. Close to Sim Lim square.

Great place, went with my kids aged 6 and 16, and would go there again anytime.
And free Wi-fi. Gotta love it

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaPhiPhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Ark 259 Lodge is a very cosy place. Warm hosts always concern about your needs.
Although it is my first time to visit Singapore, I don't feel nervous or uncomfortable owing to Ark 259 Lodge's nice service.

The location is near Lavender and Little India MRT station. It is convenient to the centre of Singapore. It offers free breakfast and free WiFi. For backpackers, I think Ark 259 Lodge provides sufficient and satisfied services.

I enjoyed the days in Singapore because I chose Ark 259 Lodge. I would like to recommend Ark 259 Lodge to backpackers!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satomilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

i m from malaysia......
going to singapore for my training to complete my course......
i was suggested by agent to stay in ARK259......
i had stay there for 1 month......
the person in charge all very kind, friendly and helpful......
besides that, i got to know many friends there......
they are always willing to help each others......
the room is comfortable with air-con......
but just there are too many people in a dorm......
the location is somewhere at the center of singapore.......
is a ideal location for traveler......
it is suitable for limited budget traveler too......
so if u want to find a place to stay......
u can try to choose this......^^

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyyiing90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I went there in mid-November 2010 with my mother and my young sister. We expected a female only space, with not too many people and some privacy, that's why we selected the so-called "5 female dorm" option, and booked 4 beds from there for 3 nights.

Finally, one of us couldn't join the trip, so we were 3 to go.

It turned out when we came there, that it was, according to the explanation from the host, that it meant "5 available places" in a big female dorm, which consisted of one big room and an old corridor transformed to 3 x 2-storey bed dorm. Of course, we were disappointed.

After a long discussion, the host offered us a triple room for that first night for free (except the non-refundable deposit). We agreed to find another solution the following day, since that triple room was only available that night, then already booked by someone else.

That was very kind of him, and we thanked him for that action. However, we lost the remaining time of that day to find another hotel to move to, which was pity also considering the little amount of time we had in Singapore.

Regarding the lodge itself, it is not too far from the center, but not very well located, either. The quarter was not cosy to us, nor quite clean, especially compared to the rest of Singapore city.

The lodge was small, which might disappoint you at the first look. It had been renovated before our venue, however not entirely at that time. One can see from the floor some of the old and dirty tiles. The bathroom was however very clean and spacious, with enough hot water and strong shower. The female dorm is in a separate floor with restricted access, with key cards, etc. so giving the feeling of security. Beds are clean and confortable. The triple room we had was well aired, with a window and a cabinet. There was no elevator though, so be prepared to carry your heavy suitcases up the high stairs. The staff was pretty friendly and might offer you a help with that, which was our case when coming.

Brief, if you're a group of young persons who don't mind walking and don't mind some noises from other "stranger groups" in the same room, that lodge might be your budget choice. But be careful, call or mail the host before making your reservation to avoid surprises.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The hostel is good and clean. the staff are very helpful, and the location is just across from the bus station. we had a great time here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twieeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#50 of 234 in Singapore
298 reviews
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#164 of 234 in Singapore
105 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 234 in Singapore
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#51 of 234 in Singapore
508 reviews
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
#185 of 234 in Singapore
177 reviews
Coziee Lodge
#102 of 234 in Singapore
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Society Backpackers' Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Society Backpackers' Hotel

Address: 259A Jalan Besar, Singapore 208934, Singapore (Formerly Society Backpackers' Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $14 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — New Society Backpackers' Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New society backpacker's hostel is a clean, safe, friendly hostel centrally situated along the main road of Jalan Besar, five minutes walk from Farrer Park MRT station, and tucked amidst the colourful and vibrant food and shopping area of Little India. The hostel is in an old style building with a rooftop terrace that overlooks old charmed pre-war shops, modern buildings, condominiums and shopping malls. We provide a range of services to ensure your stay is comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your New Society Backpackers' Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Society Backpackers' Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing