We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant outdoor terrace”

Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)
Ranked #604 of 11,375 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 12, 2014

There is an enormous choice of similar restaurants here, but this was a great puck. Good choice of tasty fusion food, with Thai, Indian, Australian and other choices. A healthy drinks menu with great beers and fresh juices. Shame they do not offer tap water though.

The Tom um soup I had was amongst the nicest I've had in a king while. Served hot with noodles and all the right bits in it... The drinks were served promptly as was the food. They happily let us longer on our drinks and were not rushed at all. The other diners also seemed equally friendly and relaxed, meaning this place attracts like minded people. Drinks a little on the $$ side, but the food was good value and excellent taste and quality and well presented. Friendly staff too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waltervp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Love the food here, and I like the Mom and Pop feel to this place - its not too big, so always seems packed, but also cozy and warm! The wait staff are good and do whatever they can to let you know how long the wait will be, or to accommodate you somehow! The best part of course is the food, its delicious! They have three menus, Western, Indian and Thai. We've had the western and Indian, and the dishes always were delicious. Tha thai we've not had the luck to try, since their Thai chef leaves at 9 or some such thing!! Its mostly outdoors, so weather is part of the gamble here, but when its good weather, the riverside ambience can't be beat.

Thank HelloWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Robertson Quay BBBS is a great spot to people-watch and enjoy a quiet beer and great food. We enjoy this spot as it offers a range of food options under one roof - good Thai, good Indian, and good western.

The quay is very social and allows you to enjoy delicious food and observe the passing traffic. Well worth a visit!

Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The Indian and Thai food is great, and reasonably priced. The service is ok, could be better and waiters lately have started being a little short and a little less friendly. However, worst bit is management has gotten greedy and is now charging for water. It's a pet hate of mine so I won't be back.

2  Thank nikkiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_1517, General Manager at Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay), responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Hi Nikki,

Thank you for your kind comments on our Indian and Thai kitchens. Staffing has already been increased over the past 2 weeks, and our usual manager at our Robertson Quay outlet is still the same, who does try his best for service at all times– if you have been continuously insisting on free water though, do pardon us if he eventually is less friendly toward you :P

You have already reached out to us on our feedback portal tellus@bbbs.com.sg, to which we replied you in person, explaining the reasons for having to charge for water- “In many restaurants, tap water is served because the cost of drinks have been factored into the food prices, and/or service charge. This is not the case at BBBS (all outlets practice the same policy), where the bar does not make any money at all from food, yet provides full table service, while absorbing service charge and GST. If we offer water for free, that's akin to a coffee shop or hawker centre doing the same- they won't be able to cover rentals or head count. Can you imagine asking the kopi-tiam aunty for free water? We'd probably only get an earful in return!”

Our bottled water prices are as affordable as many coffee shops; by that same token, are the drink stalls at coffee shops and hawker centres greedy? They are simply running a business; not a charity. You mention that we offer great value- let’s all do our part to continue keeping it this way for everyone.

thanks and regards,
Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Indian fare is mostly restricted to North & North Western India. This place has an Thai & English cuisine as well. Their Tandoor Naans & Rotis are very fluffy & fresh. Most Veg or Non Veg accompaniments are very tasty. Make sure you time your order well, as the chefs are super quick & the order may arrive in 10min.

Tank beer ( Drought beer/tap) is available for most European beer brands. Kronenbourg Blanc is my personal favorite. 1664 is great as well. Some good wines can be explored here in peace. It is a must go dining & bar place if you want to experience cozy river side dining on evenings.

Since the place is an off beat location, take a cab to Rodyk Street or walk from Miramar Hotel/River view Hotel.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 347Karthik77347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay) also viewed

 

Been to Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing