We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for the family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)

Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)
Ranked #678 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Asian, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Quays
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great spot for the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Robertson Quay BBBS is a great spot to people-watch and enjoy a quiet beer and great food. We enjoy this spot as it offers a range of food options under one roof - good Thai, good Indian, and good western.

The quay is very social and allows you to enjoy delicious food and observe the passing traffic. Well worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    89
    36
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Used to like this place until they started charging for water!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

The Indian and Thai food is great, and reasonably priced. The service is ok, could be better and waiters lately have started being a little short and a little less friendly. However, worst bit is management has gotten greedy and is now charging for water. It's a pet hate of mine so I won't be back.

Helpful?
2 Thank nikkiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_1517, General Manager at Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay), responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi Nikki,

Thank you for your kind comments on our Indian and Thai kitchens. Staffing has already been increased over the past 2 weeks, and our usual manager at our Robertson Quay outlet is still the same, who does try his best for service at all times– if you have been continuously insisting on free water though, do pardon us if he eventually is less friendly toward you :P

You have already reached out to us on our feedback portal tellus@bbbs.com.sg, to which we replied you in person, explaining the reasons for having to charge for water- “In many restaurants, tap water is served because the cost of drinks have been factored into the food prices, and/or service charge. This is not the case at BBBS (all outlets practice the same policy), where the bar does not make any money at all from food, yet provides full table service, while absorbing service charge and GST. If we offer water for free, that's akin to a coffee shop or hawker centre doing the same- they won't be able to cover rentals or head count. Can you imagine asking the kopi-tiam aunty for free water? We'd probably only get an earful in return!”

Our bottled water prices are as affordable as many coffee shops; by that same token, are the drink stalls at coffee shops and hawker centres greedy? They are simply running a business; not a charity. You mention that we offer great value- let’s all do our part to continue keeping it this way for everyone.

thanks and regards,
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Softest Indian Breads in the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Indian fare is mostly restricted to North & North Western India. This place has an Thai & English cuisine as well. Their Tandoor Naans & Rotis are very fluffy & fresh. Most Veg or Non Veg accompaniments are very tasty. Make sure you time your order well, as the chefs are super quick & the order may arrive in 10min.

Tank beer ( Drought beer/tap) is available for most European beer brands. Kronenbourg Blanc is my personal favorite. 1664 is great as well. Some good wines can be explored here in peace. It is a must go dining & bar place if you want to experience cozy river side dining on evenings.

Since the place is an off beat location, take a cab to Rodyk Street or walk from Miramar Hotel/River view Hotel.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 347Karthik77347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Found this place near our hotel, The Miramar. It do Thai, Indian and European food and compared with many Singapore eating places it is very good value. No service charge or GST added to menu prices. Went last night and will be there again tonight. Can't wait.
Good value and smiling service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaxyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Pad Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Really enjoyed the low-key, great value and ambiance as well as an excellent Pad Thai and quick service. Will be frequenting this place a lot more often!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank NSabrinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay) also viewed

 

Been to Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing