We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pad Thai”

Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)
Ranked #585 of 10,791 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Thai, International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Pad Thai”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Really enjoyed the low-key, great value and ambiance as well as an excellent Pad Thai and quick service. Will be frequenting this place a lot more often!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SabN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    97
    39
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing like the original place”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have been to the Bar Bar Black Sheep place at Bukit Timah many times - excellent food, laid back atmosphere, reasonable drinks prices. A great place to chill out.

The outlet at Robertson Quay has managed to take the same concept and just get it wrong. The service is extremely poor, with staff who have an attitude that doing the absolute minimum is the way to go. We arrived, and found a seat, and waited. Remembering that at the Bukit Timah outlet you go to the individual stall to order, we went to find some menu's. After deciding what to eat, we went to the stall, but they said the order would be taken at the table. So we waited - and nobody came. We went to the bar to try to order, but was told to wait at our seat. We could not even order a drink.

Eventually ordered Thai and Indian food - the Thai was good, the Indian was nowhere near as good as the original outlet. We ordered wine, and asked for a glass of warm water to accompany it. "We don't serve water" was the response. "If you want, you buy". I would have thought that you could get a simple glass of water to accompany some wine.... obviously this has to be paid for too.

I was left feeling it was a shame the way an excellent concept has been ruined by lazy staff, and a "don't care" attitude. On a Saturday night everywhere else was full - this place was half full. And with service like that, it will get worse.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank nick778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_1517, Manager at Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay), responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Nick778,

Our service staff at Roberson quay have been with us for some time, and well trained even for when we are full house. it is very unusual an incident like yours would have happened, unless we were short of staff that day. They are also trained to take drink orders at the bar. Nevertheless, your feedback helps us improve, so thanks for that.

We also do apologise if you did wait longer than expected. Since our Robertson Quay outlet onward (Tanjong Katong and Cluny Court as well), guests are able to pay from all kitchens and the bar in one consolidated bill- as well as pay by credit card, unlike Cherry Avenue which is strictly cash only, Regulars at Roberson quay love this, as well as the fact we provide full table service, even though we don't implement the usual 10% service charge.

With that in place though, certain things have to be a given. None of the four Bbbs outlets (including our Cherry Avenue outlet that you love) serve ice water, not just Robertson quay - we are after all still a coffee shop. Try going to kopi tiam and asking the auntie there for ice water... We know of much more expensive restaurants with service charge that don't serve ice water! :)

Lastly, we'd also like to clarify that the Indian kitchen operator at our Cherry Avenue and Robertson quay outlets are the same, so again this puzzles us a little, but if you didn't find the quality up to your standard, you are welcome to return your item for a refund or choose something else.

One thing abt Tripadvisor is its easy to gauge how popular an outlet is without actually being present- just look at the actual number of reviews posted; a fine testament to how busy the BBBS Robertson Quay does get. If this isn't the place for you however, we are happy to have you to our Cherry Avenue branch.

thanks and best regards,
Ash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good no frills food”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Three food choices in one place, thai, indian and american. We tried an indian dish and a thai dish. The portions were generous the food very tasty and excellent value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very good indian meal”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were in Singapore on holiday where we stayed for three nights before going onto Perth Western Australia while out walking one afternoon we stumbled on the Ba Ba Black Sheep Restaurant and decided to give a go later that evening. What a find the Restaurant was busy but the service was quick and friendly the food was very good and i would go as far to say it was one of the beast Indian meals that i have had for a long time the garlic naan bread was that good i ordered another one. A must if you are ever in the area also a great place to people watch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“3 cuisines under one roof - it's USP”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Fancy having tikka for starters, fish and chips for mains and sticky mango rice for desserts..... This place is suited for the variety with 3 cuisines under the same roof (Indian, Western and Thai)....

Located on Robertson Quay facing a quiet stretch of the river, this is a good place to unwind. Food was decent...service can improve a bit but I guess it was the 2nd day of CNY holidays which was more to be blamed.

Helpful?
2 Thank roddamranganath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay) also viewed

 

Been to Bar Bar Black Sheep (Robertson Quay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing