We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, good service”
Review of Watami

Watami
Ranked #6,428 of 10,933 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Orchard Road
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money, good service”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited the outlet at The Central@Clarke Quay a few days ago.

Despite a busy weekday lunch crowd, was able to get a table almost instantly. Manager, although looking flustered, managed the flow well.

Food came on time and was tasty and value for money. Staff was friendly and gave the impression that they are a motivated and well trained outfit.

Will certainly come back again and this time, hoping to get a table facing the River.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bryan288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    14
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kampong Tanah Merah, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“forgettable”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we ordered the pork katsu, which was too salty, and the ramen which lacked taste. this place is forgettable, if you want better japanese food with similar pricing, go to sushi tei instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EAndyB_0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Reasonable Value - True Casual Japanese Dining”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

CITY SQUARE LOCATION

Visited Watami City Square on opening day to try their Casual Japanese Dining and was overall satisfied. Watami City Square, being brand new has that new modern feel, with good Japanese decor. The service was a bit slow and disorganized, but nothing unexpected for the first day of operation.

In terms of food, we had the Tokyo Gyudon and Konbu Sashi Nabe (Hotpot). Both dishes met expectations. The Hotpot dish had a nice flavorful broth, and the sour dipping sauce provided was the right consistency and strength. For $16++ the hotpot was good value. The Gyudon had a nice taste but was visibly light on meat, for $10++ the gyudon was not good value, it felt like I paid for beef flavored rice instead of a real gyudon.

Overall, for a total cost of $31.30 (no drinks), the value here was reasonable. Generally Japanese in Singapore is fairly expensive so with that in mind, this is a decent option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not very good jap food!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Just simply put, with similar price range, I can get Japanese food that actually taste like Japanese food.
I did not finish my set lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good range of food, excellent value set menu”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went there 3 times over the past 2 weeks, twice for lunch and once for dinner.

Has very wide range of Japanese food, and an excellent value set meal. Not that cheap but serves more than the stated number of people. There's also a good value set lunch.

The Deluxe set is S$69 supposedly for 2, and it is enough for me (a guy who's a very big eater) plus 2 other lady colleagues. You choose or get the following (see their website www.watami.com.sg for full details of menu)

Starters (you get all 3 items)
Caesar salad with hot spring egg
Tempura moriawase
Sashimi of salmon, sweet prawn and scallops

A. Choice of main dish - I usually like the pork rice with egg in stone pot

B. Choice of hot pot - I like the beef sukiyaki. And they have unlimited top up of the soup

C. Choice of carbs - I have the udon (rice is so normal)

D. Choice of side dish - I love the katsu with egg, though I would have preferred pork instead of chicken.

And 2 drinks.

There's also a Special set at $59 which has slightly lower value starters, though the other choices are the same, and a Deluxe set at $129 for 4, though I have not tried these.

At one of the lunch, I had the set lunch had mini udon soup and some rice dish (can't quite remember what it was), and I could order a small maki at $1.90. So quite full at the end of day day with carbo overload :)

Atmosphere a bit noisy as it's quite enclosed. Service wasn't bad but could have been better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Etonian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watami also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Watami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing