We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Artistic place for Sunday brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artichoke

Artichoke
Ranked #402 of 10,424 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brand new, fabulous food at low prices, excellent presentation, a jewel in the rough
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Artistic place for Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My colleagues organized a brunch at artichoke on Saturday. I must say for a hidden place on Waterloo street, there was a good crowd. This place serves moorish food so it had a very Mediterranean feel to it. The menu was limited in its selection, but the bacon chop and scrambled eggs were excellent. The mimosa was also deliciously refreshing and I also enjoyed the gelato. Service was a bit messy- very hard to get a waiter, but overall it was a nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SnowmanSnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    85
    17
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A place where food is the focus, but the staff are excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and went here for our anniversary dinner and the staff were really nice and made us feel like it was a celebration. The manager came and always checked that everything was perfect. My wife is gluten free so they brought out a menu which the chef had ticked everything which she could select from which was a lot of the menu. The food is exceptional! I had a shared tapas as our starter with my wife, then we had slow roasted lamb shoulder which was melt in your mouth with sides of stewed spiced veggies. Both exceptionally tasty. Our food was preceded by a gifted complimentary glass of champagne each which was nice as we said we were on a budget. Our meal with a bottle of wine, entree, main and deserts cost SGD188. Pretty good considering it was an excellent 3 coursed meal with wine in Singapore.
The restaurant is not pretentious and food is great. It is nicely hidden away in the back corner of the Sculpture Square corner. The area is split up into areas and corners so groups could operate well without interfering with couples. The food has a middle eastern focus but is not overwhelming.
Thank you to the staff and the chef for a excellent night out. The fact that they were allergy aware made the night particularly good for piece of mind for myself and my wife.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickcoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Laid back and friendly with tasty middle eastern dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is one of those places you wouldn't expect to find tucked away in the city. A quaint courtyard with plants and herbs is the al fresco section. The atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious. Tapas were great, particularly the hummus with smoked paprika served with crisp ciabatta. I ordered the scallops paired unexpectedly with cauliflower and pomegranate, which was yummy. Hubby ordered the lamb (signature dish), loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenbennhoutbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great middle eastern restaurant tucked in a quiet area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was craving for a middle eastern cuisine and thought about trying this resto near Bugis. Its like a hidden gem tucked in a quiet area at Sculpture square. Artichoke has that cozy atmosphere and chillout vibe that's great for a relaxing dinner with friends or partner. I went with a friend and we both enjoyed our food. We ordered hummus & labneh (w/their oh so good bread), organic mushroom, spinach garlic in truffle oil, black angus ribeye steak and date pudding for our dessert. The food are simply plated and presented yet the taste of each food is rich and delicious. Their food is meant for sharing as they promote communal dining. I would recommend this place for other foodie who once in a while want to spend a bit for a great meal. Its quite funny just below the total bill amount states "the damage". A clear indication of the pending damage to your wallet. But its all worth it.

The staff service are okay, they're friendly and attentive to our needs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank engr_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hurray - new chef. Seriously better than 6 months ago. We couldn't get into our most favourite restaurants so with intrepidation we thought we would try again.
So pleased we did.
Thank god the ridiculous macaroni cheese is off the menu.
Best dishes: scallops. Pulled duck. Green salad (very ottalingi) and the usual mezze dips.
At our table of 6 we ordered almost all the menu items and were pleased - and let me tell you in this town getting a decent meal where you can say 'that was great and be honest about it' is rare.
The only trouble you will be kicked out (nicely) by 11.30.
Wine is mid tier $70 bottle.
And staff who know what they are talking about and like what they do! Another rare experience.
Good work will be back Tuesday night for the chefs choice menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noshtrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artichoke also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Artichoke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing