We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Ranked #32 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hostel is in very good location. It's only 3 minutes walk to Clarke Quay MRT station & bus station. The location is in walking distance to Marina Bay, Clarke Quay and Boat Quay. It is only one station away from China Town and Dhoby Ghaut (when you want to Go to Orchard Road), and two stations away from Harbor Front (when you want to go to Sentosa Island). It is a very small hostel, though, but it offers you the best value of money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyung123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (805)
There are newer reviews for River City Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 805 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Staying at River City Inn during my trip to Singapore was probably my best decision. The hostel is conveniently located on Hong Kong Street, which is close to Clarke Quay and Boat Quay and not too far from Chinatown. There was a metro stop across the road, but I ended up walking everywhere because it was more enjoyable.

The hostel is clean, well decorated, and provides a great atmosphere. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remi317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

It was nice stay at River City. Friendly and helpful and funny staff, located so convenient area accessible to any night spot Clark Quay and bar Boat Quay by foot. Facilities're also confortable.
Yeah so I must stay again. Thank you guys, see you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 997koji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

it's clean and safe, but have just 3 bathroom and toilet that is not enough. This hostel closed to public transportation, china town, clark quay and many interesting place nearby hostel that i can walk. That why i recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wooddy_BKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It is very clean and safe. I strongly recommend it. It is very close to the MRT station and the location is excellent. There is wifi available and the breakfast is included. The breakfast is until 12 am so you don´t have to wake up early.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebastianMartinezDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

clean, a bit hard to find but superb location. Close to pretty much everything and also close to the public transports BUT pretty quiet lol. Kind staffs, fast wifi why not going back? People might think there are too many beds in one room but each bed has own locker and a plug where u can recharge stuff. Universal adapter which converts electricity from different countries to the Singaporean one in each of the plugs reaaaallllyyy impressed me. I would go back for 100%!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BossHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Warmly welcomed on arrival by Cindy and the team even though I arrived out of hours. A small but homely hostel near to Clarke Quay station and near to the amazing Chinatown area. The hostel was clean and comfortable, with internet access and breakfast available whilst there were plenty of storage options. Very quiet in the evening and surrounded by numerous pubs and restaurants and also close to numerous transportation links. I would definitely recommend this hostel as a great place to stay in Singapore!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank neilconnor1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Quarters Hostel
#39 of 234 in Singapore
277 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $19 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing