We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!”
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Ranked #36 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Look no further! River city inn is the most economical and the nicest hostel in Singapore. Excellent location coupled with unbeatable staff will leave you with an fantastic impression of Singapore before you even leave the hostel. To look at any other hostel would be a waste of your time! Book River City Inn now!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregMerkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 806 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Great location, friendly staff. Great rooms... And I guess it is one of the cheapest choices in Singapore. Clark Quay is just around the corner and everything else ist rechable in approx. 20 minutes. Aircon is great as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BjoernSeeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is my first travel to Singapore for Christmas and I choose River City Inn because of the website ranking. River city inn is very easy access to MRT. It is very convenient and clean. But the defect is there is no elevator. if you carry a big luggage.It would be a big challenge to carry on for 4 level. Anyway, it is a good hostel to stay.

Room Tip: If you live in 9 persons room, I suggest you should not choose no.86 bed. It is very noisy when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccl0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Backpacker hostel is my best option when travelling to Singapore on own expenses. This is my first time selected River City Inn and overall it meet my expectation! Beside the hostel cleanliness and strategic location, the rooms or bed provided from this hostel also limited which keep the number of occupants low and it actually suit me as not too crowded. Will consider this hostel if come back to Singapore again in future!

Room Tip: If you looking for less crowded hostel, this could be one of your option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveChoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I traveled again to Singapore for Anime Festival Asia in Suntec Convention Centre, and I choose River City Inn again because of very easy access to MRT, very cheap price for the quality of facilities provided, and very helpful and friendly staff. Would love to stay here again next time if I have another convention in Singapore!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himeshinra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was my first time staying at a hostel, and the staff at river city inn has made the stay for my sister and I very enjoyable! The location is ve tty convenient, 5 min walk to mtr, closest stop is clarks quay, 10 min walk to maxwell for some hinanese chicken, 30 min walk to ther merlion. This facility was extremely clean, they made my bed each morning, I did not expect that. Breakfast was provided -toast and cereal. On our last day, the staff helped us book a cab ride and ensured everything was taken care of. Only thing I was not accustomed to was the washroom where men and women shared the same shower area. But everyone was very respectful, and I have zero complaints. At 23 dollars a night in expensive singapore, the river city inn was of eexceptional value!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobobear_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in the 21 beds room which is the biggest in this hostel. The room is nice and there's plenty of space between each bed. There are also a locker right next to your bed as well. Friendly staff , nice room , nice place in general.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank yhjoychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Jayleen Clarke Quay Hotel
#170 of 317 in Singapore
55 reviews
Quarters Hostel
#42 of 235 in Singapore
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
5footway.inn Project Boat Quay
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Met A Space Pod - Boat Quay
#21 of 235 in Singapore
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 235 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: $19 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing