We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River City Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River City Inn
Ranked #14 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. Great staff, location and general feel to the place. Everything is in walking distance and when I wanted to go somewhere less well known the staff rang ahead to make sure it was open, saving me one unnecessary trip. To me the place to stay when in Singapore.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SarahMDevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    198
    30
    11
    8
See reviews for
35
65
344
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great hostel - very friendly staff, all the areas were really clean and for the price it was a great place to crash for a couple of nights. Its location is great as well if you're coming from the airport as it's close to Clarke Quay MRT, and all of Singapore's sights are a short walk from the hostel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_dean_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my first time travelling alone and it was too expensive to book a hotel room in Singapore so I started looking into hostels instead - i can came across River City Inn which was the PERFECT accomodation for a budget traveller (and groups too!).

LOCATIONS: it is about 5-7min walk from Clarke Quay SMRT station and is very accessible. The street is very safe and across from a 7-11 store. It is also about 5 min walk from a major shopping center called Central.

STORAGE & SAFETY: luggage is kept under your bunkbed and valuable/personal belongings can be stored in a locker (about 1m x 30cm x 30cm) next to your bed.

AMENITIES: there is shared bathroom and toilets (3 of each) which is always kept very clean. There is a laundry service ($8SNG/load) that is on offer too.

COMMON AREAS: there is a common area with couches, TV, books where you can relax after the day of walking around. There is also a dining room table with full kitchen utensils, tea and coffee. There is a fridge were you can store your food and drinks. To keep the hostel clean, once indoors, there is a no-shoe policy which means that all shoes needs to be kept outside in a box.

ROOMS: there is mixed dorm with 26 beds (bunkbeds) and two 6 bed dorms. Each bed has own bedlight and power plug (electric plug converter provided). For privacy, there is curtains that can be drawn on either side of your bed. There is a 9pm lights out policy in which the lights are switched off and the doors closed to each room which provided much needed quiet for those travellers who wanted to sleep early.

BONUS: fantastic high speed FREE wifi (also two computers for public use) and also FREE breakfast (basic fruit, bread, jam and butter, tea and coffee)

Overall, it was fantastic experience living in the hostel and it provided the perfect gateway for me to explore Singapore. The reception staff were extremely helpful in providing me tips and advice for places to travel and they also have special offered on tickets too.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank just_is_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my 2 friends had a very nice experience here. We we're greeted nicely by the inn keeper at that time. It's just like we've known each other for a long time. We suddenly felt home in this hostel and in singapore. We were treated like a family here, not as a guest. The location is perfect, 2 mins from nearest mrt station, and most importantly near the river. If you like to chill in the nice bar or restaurant alongside the river, this is the place for you. So river city inn its a highly recommended place to stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanJanJanuar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranas, Sweden
Level Contributor
121 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location to a reasonable price. You get what you can ask from a hostel. Wifi, ac, light breakfast and a good bed. Friendly and helpful staff. Location is good and you won't find many options at this price in central Singapore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed here for six nights
very nice to live here
a clean, warm atmosphere, and quiet at night

Service was very friendly
we made ​​at home

Place strategic enough to make us not to bother if we want to travel

Close to Clarke Quay MRT, maybe it only takes about 5 minutes
For eating places can also be found in the Central Mall and there prices are very affordable

and we will definitely return to this place

Room Tip: If you are easily awakened, do not get near the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_samuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only hope the room mate really tolerant in early morning , keep make the noise . Other than than I had good stay so far : )really convenient place , clean ( it was super clean ) , comfortable . If I visit Singapore next time defiantly will come back to stay here again .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koonwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Park Regis Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
#3 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Furama City Centre
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#16 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River City Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River City Inn

Property: River City Inn
Address: 33C Hongkong Street, Singapore 059672, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River City Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River City Inn is a family-owned and operated hostel. As travellers ourselves, we know that affordability should never compromise hospitality. Everything you need to provide a comfortable stay are available: Free Wi-Fi, Clean Sheets, Good Breakfast, Air-Conditioning, and more!But at River City Inn, we aim to offer something more. After you have explored the winding streets of Singapore, experienced the different cultures, delighted your taste buds and worn your shoes under the sweltering heat, we want to welcome you back. We want to offer you a place to unwind, write your journal, talk to other travelers and share stories. We aim not only to provide a bed for the night, but a space for the exchange of ideas, inspirations, personal reflections and growth. Because that is what traveling is about.Terms & Conditions:• All rates are inclusive of taxes• Check in time: 2pm to 11pm. Please note that we DO NOT accept check-in after 11pm. Please respect our check in time after 2pm as we have to adhere to our cleaning schedule (12pm to 2pm) to upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel. Our reception operates from 7am to 11pm.• Check out time: 12pm• If you have an early flight, you may check in early(after 7am on the check in date)and use our facilities or you can leave your bags with us whilst you head out to explore the city.• Likewise, if you have a late flight or bus to catch on the day of your checkout, you may leave your bags with us at no additional cost.• To keep our prices low, we accept cash only for payment.• To upkeep the environment of a backpackers hostel, we do not accommodate children below the age of 5. Children aged between 5 and 11 years can be accommodated in private rooms only, and not in dormitories. Children aged 12 and over can be accommodated either in private rooms or in the dormitories.• Due to our limited capacity at our Inn, we do not accept Singaporeans/returning locals/PR/Foreigners holding work permits. Please contact us before booking whenever in doubt.• Please note that we are located on the 4th floor of a heritage shophouse without a lift.• To upkeep the cleanliness of the hostel, no footwear is allowed indoors (except in the toilets). Guest may wear socks if they are not comfortable barefooted.• We do not accept big groups above 8pax. Please contact us for clarification.•Please note that not all our rooms or dorms have windows. If you need to stay in a room with windows, please check with us before booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your River City Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River City Hotel Singapore
River City Inn Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing