We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue, tasty but food was cold!”
Review of La Villa - CLOSED

La Villa
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
SIngapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice venue, tasty but food was cold!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

A very nice venue in what was previously a school!! The Italian menu is very nice with lots of tasty looking options. All reasonably priced too. Even the wine is not tooooooo over the top! The staff are very attentive and did a good job.

This was all let down by the food coming to the table COLD!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Div69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awful Sunday brunch, although nice outdoor space for the kids”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Buffet was uninviting and pointless, couldn't taste the eggs. Really disappointing because with the outdoor space for the kids, great location, etc. this could be a fabulous place for brunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globaltaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
576 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, average food”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

La Villa can be a great restaurant given it's location and surroundings. So I decided to take my parents who were visiting us in Singapore. I was quite upbeat as La Villa, which is set in the premises of an old school and has alfresco dining, belongs to same group as Senso, La Nonna and Spizza.

As we'd taken cocktails and bites elsewhere, we got down to the main course right away. We ordered a premium meat platter, a veal Rigatoni and a vegetarian burger. My wife who's a vegetarian confirmed with the steward that the burger was a patty and not just stir fried vegetables as the menu seemed to indicate. Upon getting an assurance she went ahead with her order. Surprisingly the steward didn't bother to ask me the 'done-ness' for my platter, which according to me is the most important aspect of eating a steak.

When the food was served, my wife's burger wasn't a burger patty, but just vegetables. The Rigatoni was good, but nothing exceptional. The meat platter was quite filling, however, I wish that the meat wasn't as well done. Well, if I do go again, I'll ensure that I tell them how I want it.

For desserts we had a Torta which was a lemon tart. It was slightly sourer than I would've liked and hence I didn't enjoy that much.

The service was just like most other Singapore restaurants, nothing exceptional. The one drawback that I sensed was that if you are taking elderly people do make sure that you have your transport as it's difficult to even call a taxi as the lines are usually busy on weekend evenings and the walk to the main road is about 5-10 minutes for them.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Italy in Singapore”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I went there last week for a romantic dinner and i have to say that this is the place to bring a date during the week.
We were sitting outside and had an amazing choice of wine and food. I most certainly recommend the sole and sharrign a couple of appetizers.

This is a great location in singapore !!!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great italian food in a singapore heaven”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I was in La Villa last week. This is a great restaurant to have good time and good food with friends. I loved the terrace it is a perfect place to have a drink, you can also eat there. You are close on river valley but in a nice and quiet garden.
The food is great. We shared starters with friends, I recommend the carpaccio. I had pastas, there were delicious. I would also recommend the pana cotta, just ask for extra starwberries, it is even better. You can find a large choice of wines for all budget.
If you are looking for good italian food and a nice place, you must go there.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamsingap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Villa also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing