We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay if on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Ranked #145 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay if on a budget”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

There were three of us traveling and paid for the room with 4 beds to have some privacy. The inn is located in a quiet neighborhood but a bit far from the main tourist areas. The Lavender MRT Station though, is about 5 blocks from the inn. If you're staying there on a weekend, expect some noise in front of the inn where people tend to stay up late and hang around in the food courts.

There is free breakfast of coffee, tea, toasted bread, jam and butter. For some people who feel this is not enough, there are several food courts nearby offering more food variety at a cheap price.

The shower and toilet were shared with other guests, but we did not really have any problem about lining up to use it. The rooms and common areas were very clean.

Although Singaporeans are not really naturally warm people, the owners were very helpful and tried their best to make their guests feel at home.

In general, this is a good place to stay if you're on a limited budget or in Singapore for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AletaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
20
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wallis and Futuna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

we stayed there 3 days. the hotel is run by a nice couple who will answer all your questions. you get breakfast, clean beds, one free internet pc (free wifi), helpful information, and a modern, friendly atmosphere. it is not in the center of singapore it is right behind little india in a nice quiet street. on the opposite there is a 24h restaurant and 7eleven is around the corner. from there you can walk through little india to center mall area then orchard road and finally chinatown. you will see a lot of singapore but it is just for those who like to walk, for others take the train,bus, or taxi. it is very easy to come around. you can also book city tours at the reception.
All in all i would recommend this nice little backpacker hotel and i would stay there again. Nice place for nice people.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuke-retroactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul, korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Traveller's Inn is located within walking distance of two MRT lines, and just two stops from City Hall. The place was really clean and inviting. Jenny and Daniel are very helpful, and were able to answer any questions I had about my visit to Singapore. You can tell that they love having visitors to their home country and encourage them to stay beyond the two or three days that most travelers spend here. I

The cons: The beds in the mixed dorm were really creaky. The frame moved a bit when I moved around on the bed, which I do quite often. I felt like everyone stayed to themselves, so it was hard to meet people.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awsfnbb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed at Traveller's Inn for 3 nights in late August. Being a solo traveler, I chose the female dorm - only 3 bunk beds and everyone has its own locker. Jenny and Daniel own the place and take care of everything. They are lovely and always ready to help, with a lot of information about the city, attractions and maps! They also arrange tickets to the Zoo, Night Safari (I did it, highly recommended) and Universal Studios.
Singapore is a pedestrian-friendly city and from the hostel you can easily walk to everywhere. It is close to 2 MRT stations and there are plenty of 24-hour eateries around - one just in front of it! But for me, the best one was the big hawker centre behind the buddhist temple. Yummy!
Speaking about the room itself, the hostel is very new so is everything inside it. Jenny and Daniel have very strict rules to keep it that way, like no bags on the bed (to prevent bed bugs) and no eating in the room. The ac temperature was just fine and I didn't freeze during the night (but if you do, don't worry, because they provide you a blanket and all the linen as well - and the bed is ready when you arrive!). I had troubles falling asleep in the first night but not because of the bed - there were 2 lousy girls in the room, who started packing at 1am to leave at 5am!
The pantry and bathrooms stay in the back of the building and are also very clean and organised - didn't have to wait to use the shower, very important! Hot water and they also have towels to rent/sell in case you forgot yours. The common area in the hostel has a pc free to use and they also provide free wi-fi for your laptop.
I had a great time chatting to the owners and I'm glad to recommend it - will stay here when going back to Singapore, but probably will choose a double room (which they also provide, as well as a family room!).

Keep up the good work, Jenny and Daniel! Thanks for the lovely time and for the chats!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrtaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed at the Travellers Inn for 4 nights.
Its right next to a 24 hour hawker center so food is always available but because its just people buying food (not a nightclub or anything) its never noisy.
Silent Airconditioning unit. Very clean rooms. Free Breakfast (toast, tea & coffee).
But the best thing was the friendly owners... Jenny and Daniel are their English names, Siew Lan and Pek Sewell are their Chinese names. They were always there, always friendly and welcoming. ALWAYS helpful and knew almost everything about the city (except about the art galleries) and the best thing...
they also have tickets available for things like the Night Safari which make your trip a lot easier than trying to find out how to get these things yourself. Also their tickets are cheaper because they buy them in bulk and its just easier. You can sort these things out yourself but if you have a bus ticket from them, then you are guarenteed a seat on the bus to wherever you're going (and back again) and they get very busy... and if you get the universal studio tickets from them then when you get to the theme park they give you discount vouchers for food and gifts.
Great atmosphere
comfy beds (although my bed was the only one in the hostel next to a street light, i put my towel up over the window and slept fine)
Lockable lockers
a FOB entrance key so only registered guests can get in an out at night.
and friendly interesting people that stay there.
Oh and great location. We could walk into town very easily, walkable distances to both little india and the arabic district, and the main quays in town... i recommend if you can stand the heat just walk everywhere... if you can't then you have lavender MRT on one side, and Farrer Park MRT on the other side... great location.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

(+) The hostel is brightly painted and and well-furnished and decorated, creating a warm and 'at-home' ambiance. Daniel and Jenny (owners) are very friendly and helpful! They mingle with all the guests and make sure you are enjoying your time at the hostel and in Singapore. The dorm rooms are spacious and clean, and equipped with fan and A/C. Showers and toilets are also very clean. There is a hawker center located right outside the hostel, offering a variety of local food 24/7. As well, there is free breakfast (toast and coffee/tea) and wi-fi in the rooms.

(-) Just some really small things. The hostel is quite a walk away from the nearest MRT stations; roughly 10 minutes from Farrer Park (NE Line) and 5 minutes from Lavender (EW Line). However, I think a new MRT line bisecting both the NE and EW lines is being planned and so this will probably change in the future. Also, there is only one computer available for use, so you might have to wait for use.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkm91450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Traveller's was great! The accomodations were clean and a/c'd. We stayed in the dorms and it was standard backpacker far. The bathrooms were clean and the have internet, laundry, and breakfast - who can ask for more? The location was central to metro and bus stations, which was a bonus, but the biggest pro is the staff. They were super friendly, offering lots of info and suggestions and help. I really enjoyed my stay and recommend Traveller's.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedeuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#163 of 227 in Singapore
56 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 227 in Singapore
290 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#38 of 227 in Singapore
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#42 of 227 in Singapore
480 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 227 in Singapore
483 reviews
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
#180 of 227 in Singapore
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar

Property: Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Address: 290A Jalan Besar Travellers Inn, Singapore 208953, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 227 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Hotel Singapore
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing