We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Ranked #147 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The owners, Jenny and Daniel, have created a brand new, state-of-the-art, hostel. The dorm rooms are immaculate, the showers large with thoughtfully placed shelving and hooks as well as hot water, and the toilets clean and constantly stocked with toilet paper. The wifi/wireless is the best we have experienced in 11 months of traveling. The air conditioners, on between 7 pm and 11 am, are strong enough to chill entire dorms even at higher settings. There is a communal space for watching videos, several tables and chairs, and a computer with excellent upload speeds. The staff is helpful, professional, and present from around 8 am till 10 pm. The location is near Little India and some wonderful food and shopping opportunities. A major bus stop is within 100 feet of the door and two MRT lines can be accessed with a 5-10 minute walk. We are two older travelers (49 and 63) and found the dorms comfortable and quiet by our early bedtime!

Room Tip: We are glad we got the "deluxe" 10 person dorm beds as the built in cubicles were rock sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
20
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The hostel has great security and attention to detail such as a powerpoint and reading light for each bed and hooks & a shelf in the showers. Helpful staff, cheap eats nearby and well connected to the rest of Singapore

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering_Widge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have already stayed at Travellers Inn Hostel some years ago before they moved to a bigger building with more space. I loved it the first time and now I loved it again.

First of all the area is really nice. Restaurants, shopping malls, Little India, food hawkers, 2 MRT Stations - all just around the corner.

The pretty new hostel has a really nice big common area, where you can hang out, watch a movie, chat with other guests or use the very fast internet (but it also worked in my room).

I have stayed in a ladies 6 bed dorm. The dorm is really clean (like the whole place), you have enough space, the lockers a big enough to put a backpack in, the aircon works perfect.

The bathrooms are big, nice equipped an new. I never had any trouble to find a free shower or toilet.

And for me the most important thing is, that the staff is really friendly, helpfull and nice.

But Partypeople beware, it is not Party-Hostel. You sleep at night :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hostel is about a 10 min. walk from the MRT. Depending on what you are planning to do or where you are coming from, there are two convenient lines which you can get off/on. At night the streets are dark, so it is probably best to explore the different routes to the MRT stations during the day.

The actual hostel location has actually moved down the street from when i stayed there, so I won't comment on the facilities. However, the owner couple was very nice. Right after checking in, a map was opened out to explain the general area of what was near the hostel. She asked what i planned to do and gave me suggestions of where to shop, where to eat, what to see, etc., since i was fairly flexible.

The breakfast of bread with jam/peanut butter is simple, but enough to get you started out for the day. The coffee and tea were below average, and not sure if we were supposed to "refill" the big thermos ourselves when they got empty, so I just went with the other choice. it didn't seem like anyone was there to keep an eye on the table.

The streets around are big and dark at night, so while the owner said it was very safe and there was nothing to worry about, i did make sure to stay alert of my surroundings as i walked back to the hostel, since there were always people walking by, along the streets. Inside the hostel, the owners actually seemed to be around until pretty late, and there are clear signs for people to not let anyone in, so I felt very safe there.

There are hawker centres nearby (before it was directly across the street) so food should not be an issue. Although i recall when walking to the MRT stations in the morning, many of the shops seemed to be closed still.

For a hostel, the price is unbeatable for the value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazUCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
245 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

When we stepped in the door we were impressed by this place. It is a clean, modern hostel with staff who go out of their way to be helpful.

However, our experience was not a good one. Unfortunately there is a night club right next door and we didn't sleep well at all. Until 3am there was constant noise coming from outside - chattering rather than music, but it kept us awake. Perhaps on a week day it will not be as bad. We only stayed one night before moving on to a much better hostel nearby.

If we had been in one of the busiest streets in town, we would have expected a disrupted nights sleep. But this is actually otherwise a very quiet neighbourhood.

The six-bed dorm room smelled really quite iffy. That was perhaps because of the personal hygiene of the hairy topless man lying in his bed with all his belongings scattered around him. But whatever the source, it wasn't pleasant.

Free breakfast is included - it is a simple offering in the form of toast and coffee, but perfectly adequate for us. The location is decent too, not far from two subway stations.

This is a nice hostel and undoubtedly deserves its many decent reviews. However, our experience was a bad one because of the noise.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnInspectorCalls_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravellersInn127, Manager at Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest, we are glad that you are impressed with our staff services and Hostel setup which were unfortunately not enough to score a better overall rating from you. For the record, we are situated along a main road - Jalan Besar and there is NO night club beside the Hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I spent 5 great days in the Hostel. It's a small and cosy place right next to a 24h food court. When I was there in November, most of the people staying there were Asians (a nice difference to all the europeans in other hostels).
The Hostel is near little India. It's a 5min way to the MRT at Lavender (direct MRT to Bugis Street, City Centre and airport). It is also very close to a mrt station of the violett line which makes it quite comfortable to travel.
The highlight of the hostel are the owners. They are very nice and help you whenever they can (in my case: always). They even helped me to get the right chilli crab walking with me along the foodcourt.

The only bad thing is the dorm room. It is quite full and there is not much space for tall men. Additionally, when I was there a man was snoring terribly. However, this is just bad luck...

In total, it's definitely worth going there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a lovely hostel, in a great location with very warm and friendly owners. The rooms are basic but clean. Little India, Arab Street and the MRT are all withing walking distance. Having stayed for 4 days in one of the 4 start hotels in the city, it was good to have one night in a normal place that doesn't charge for wi-fi etc.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeem27HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#163 of 226 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#11 of 226 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#36 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#54 of 226 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#42 of 226 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar

Property: Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
Address: 290A Jalan Besar Travellers Inn, Singapore 208953, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Hotel Singapore
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing