We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Fort Canning
Nearby Hotels
$242
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
One Farrer Hotel & Spa(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$187
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$299
$216
Panpacific.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$264
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$202
Fullerton Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore(Singapore)
$290
$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$227
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$143
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Clarke Quay(Singapore)(Great Value!)
$114
$92
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marina Bay Sands(Singapore)
$528
$313
MarinaBaySands
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,447)
Filter reviews
1,448 results
Traveler rating
799
414
134
50
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
414
134
50
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass housepremium luxe roombattle boxcolonial buildingorchard roadhigh techbustling citydhoby ghaut mrtnespresso machinebeautiful hotelcomplimentary drinksboutique hotelevening drinksclarke quayplaza singapurahotel guestsrain shower
Filter
Updating list...
926 - 931 of 1,448 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for a staycation for CNY and it was a lovely experience all round. The hotel gives you a feeling more akin to a country mansion than a hotel in the center of Singapore, which is fantastic. It is a good respite from the hectic city life. The staff were pleasant and helpful wherever they could be.

The food was delicious and was good value too. The pool was fantastic and the staff in the pavilion were always willing to take an order no matter what time. Only one thing I noticed is there seems to be a bit of maintenance work needed on painting the outside doors which are all flaking, little things. Additionally I feel there could be more done to the downstairs bar to make it more welcoming and comfortable, it feels sparse and a little soulless, which is all surprising considering it has just been refurbished in 2012. Don't let me take this away from the fact that the rooms are beautiful and extremely well equipped with the latest technologies. Overall a great hotel with a beautiful surrounding. Thank you for my pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe Premium for extra space
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWAScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear CWAScot,

Thank you for staying with us over the Chinese New Year long weekend and for the very nice review!

We are delighted that you had a lovely experience at Hotel Fort Canning and your description of the hotel being more akin to a country mansion than a hotel is really the kind of feeling we hope more of our guests have! As a luxury boutique hotel, we want our guests to feel pampered and welcome. We are glad you found our staff pleasant and helpful, and that you appreciated the food, the swimming pool, and even the electronics in the rooms.

Thank you for your feedback on the peeling paintwork. Our refurbishment work ended in November 2010, so it has been more than three years and touching up the paintwork on the heritage doors is currently part of our maintenance programme and is a work in progress. We are sorry that the touch up work had not reached your room yet, but please be assured that all this is being carried out.

Thank you also for your feedback on the Tisettanta Lounge, which we recently inherited from a tenant whose lease ended at the end of last year. You will be happy to know that there is now more "soul" at the lounge.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have been in many hotels over the past 20 years, but this one was unique and quirky. the room layout was unconventional but very nice !

the electronics in the room - for lights, curtains and air conditioning were intuitive and worked very well. Most places I end up trying to figure these systems in the 2 days I spend

I have to take a name here and that is Mr. Ganga. He was particularly courteous, discrete and well caring. I am a vegetarian and he always managed to find me during lunch/ dinner times and took good care of making sure my meal preferences are adhered to

Thanks

Shekhar ( stayed from Jan 16-22 of 2014)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GShekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear GShekhar,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you for your lovely review!

We are indeed proud of our unique and quirky room layout and are delighted that you found it "unconventional but very nice". We are also glad that you found our electronics intuitive and easy to use.

We have shared your compliments with Ganga and the rest of the team to motivate them that good service through warm care and concern is appreciated by our guests - we are very happy that Ganga added to the enjoyment of your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very nice experience at Hotel Fort Canning from the point you arrive and check in to your departure. The staff is very friendly and eager to please. The rooms (at least mine) was spacious and fun. It is a bit on the pricey side, but definitely worth a splurge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Bruce S,

It was delightful having you stay with us and thank you for your short but very nice review!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Fort Canning "from the point you arrived and checked in to your departure".

Thank you also for showing appreciation for our staff's hospitality and warmth.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent Christmas here and it was a nice experience. I can't think of anything bad except for their food.

Cons:
1) Afternoon tea and evening cocktails are literally just choices of tea, coffee, wine, and one cocktail. That's it. I know it's a botique hotel but since it was festive season I guess I expected more.
2) Blant breakfast and limited choices.

Pros:
1) Pool. Loved it.
2) Rooms are clean.
3) Helpful staff.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HappyMumbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Lani C,

Thank you for spending last Christmas with us and for your review.

We are very glad you had a nice experience and that loved the swimming pools and helful staff, and that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room.

We have noted your feedback on the food quality and variety, and are pleased to inform you that our new Executive Chef, Randy Torres, has come on board earlier this month and you can expect huge improvements to our F&B offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My girlfriends and I decided to have a bridal shower gathering cum staycation at Hotel Fort Canning over the weekend. The hotel was idyllic, in the midst of lush greenery and away from the busy city area. It really felt like we were out of Singapore as it was really quaint and quiet. We loved the spacious and comfortable room, especially the beautiful open concept bathroom. The room controls were really high tech. All in all, we had a great stay. However, I felt that the hotel staff were not friendly. They were not smiley, nor welcoming. I think this is really an important factor for a hotel. I hope someone will look into this because it's a pity if this small BUT important issue takes away from a customer's overall experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisarazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear nisarazak,

Thank you for staying with us for the bridal shower gathering cum staycation and for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed the "city oasis" feel of the hotel and that you loved the spacious and comfortable room, especially the beautiful open concept bathroom.

We were, however, very concerned to hear that you felt that our hotel staff were not friendly, smiley, nor welcoming, and that it affected your overall experience at our hotel, and we sincerely apologise for it. We have always exhorted our staff to be warm and hospitable towards our guests, and we have had many good reviews on our staff's helpfulness and friendliness. Never-the-less, we take your feedback seriously and will remind our staff of this.

We hope your next experience of our service will be a much warmer and more pleasant one.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews