We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Relaxation”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The old British Fort has been remodelled into a very modern relaxing hotel in Fort Canning Park
The stand alone bath took ages to fill, it was so deep and a god send after an afternoon in the Singapore heat
The hotel has modern amenities and was very clean, with a very spacious room overlooking the park. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is close to Doby Gaut rail interchange and Orchard Road. Great breakfast selection. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Sharon R,

What a delight it was to have you as our guest and to read your lovely review!

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us (especially the deep bath in your room!) and found your room very clean and very spacious, and the bed extremely comfortable. Our city park location is one of our Unique Selling Points and we are glad you liked it!

Our Culinary team are also chuffed with your "Great breakfast selection" comment. And thank you for recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

805 - 811 of 1,298 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have just had a wonderful 3 night stay at this old character outside and very modern inside boutique hotel. The staff were all outstanding and could not have been more helpful. The position is lovely,inside the Fort Canning Park where we went for a lovely walk. The MRT is only 5 mins walk away and getting a taxi is very quick as well. The room was large and very well furnished and the bathroom was super cool with a huge bath and park views. Breakfast at the Glass House was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Barbara R,

It was a pleasure having you as a guest at our hotel, and thank you for your fabulous review!

We like to think of ourselves as "heritage on the outside, contemporary on the inside, hospitable all over"! Thank you for highlighting our unique city park location that is also close to the Dhoby Ghaut MRT Station and Plaza Singapura shopping mall.

Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff, facilities and breakfast, and for recommending us to other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you to Hotel Fort Canning again in the near future!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fabulous stay!!!

It was my second time to stay at Hotel Fort Canning. Strongly recommend for both personal and business trip as you won't feel that you are in SG at all. Good view, great room and excellent friendly services.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STantiyanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear STantiyanon,

Thank you for staying with us again, and for the fabulous review!

We are so glad you enjoyed the views, the room and the service, and we thank you for strongly recommending us to other travellers for both personal as well as business trips.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Couldn't have asked for anything more from everyone at this hotel. Such a great location hidden away in parkland away from the hustle and bustle, but still very close to all transportation needs! Every single staff member was so kind and helpful, the food and breakfast were outstanding (such a great selection!), and good cocktails too! Would highly recommend, and would definitely revisit. It was a great way to kick off our honeymoon in the absolutely stunning city of Singapore!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Thomas C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review! We are so happy that you chose share your honeymoon with us!

It was so nice to read that you found the location peaceful, yet convenient, the staff kind and helpful, and that you enjoyed the food.

Thank you also for highly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My first impression with this hotel is fabulous. Room very clean. Nice interior design. Bed very comfy. Breakfast is more than enough to start the day. This boutique hotel located in Fort Canning Park so every morning you can walking/running around the hotel with so many trees like in the forest. After stay in this hotel I will choose this hotel for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: If you do not mind with rate choose the room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunawan_karnata8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear gunawan_karnata8,

It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us, and an added pleasure to read of your appeciation for Hotel Fort Canning!

We strive to be fabulous to our guests, so we are glad you found us so. Our city park location is something that many guests enjoy and we are happy that you did, too.

We are very gratified to hear that you will choose Hotel Fort Canning for your next visit to Singapore, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you then!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am very impressed about Hotel Fort Canning with the service, hospitality and friendliness of the Staff. To the Room which I stayed was really nice and loved the interior design keeping the colonial style plus with the modern touches. To breakfast service we were serviced right away and escorted to our table, the staff at the glass house was very attentive and very professional. As I studied hotel management I was very attentive with the staff and observing them very closely.

My conclusion:
I recommend Hotel Fort Canning strongly and I will want to come back when I am back in Singapore again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinMartinez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear KevinMartinez86,

Thank you for staying with us and for your Excellent review!

We are so pleased that you were impressed with Hotel Fort Canning's service, hospitality and the friendliness of the staff, that you liked the ambience and appreciated the breakfast service.

Thank you for recommending us strongly to other travellers, and we are very glad to know that you will want to come back when you are next back in Singapore, which we certainly hope will be sooner than later!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is my third time staying here and I have always enjoyed this charming hotel. The staffs are very friendly and give personal attentions as much as possible, although this is quite a sizable boutique hotel. They are always helpful to the guests. Thank you Cielo for always being so attentive.
The location is convenient too as it is actually within the CBD so the taxi rides to most places in the city is rather short. For shopping, it's only a short 5 minutes walk down hill to Plaza Singapura - an all inclusive complex. Just ask the staffs and they would show you the right path to take.
Breakfast at The Glass House is always that wholesome and healthy, surrounded by greens in the Fort Canning Park. My favorite is the muesli with honey from the honeycomb, healthy combination! One never over indulged and besides there is a state of the art gym just below The Glass House.

Room Tip: There are rooms with normal bathrooms if one prefers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear Seng G,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are very happy to note that you have stayed three times with us and we certianly look forward to welcoming you back again!

We are glad that you have found our staff to be very friendly, giving you personal attention, and we have shared with Cielo you kind compliments for which she thanks you.

We are also gratified that you find our location convenient, and our Chef is delighted with your comment on the breakfast at The Glass House being wholesome and healthy!

We hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,339 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 319 in Singapore
1,732 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $204 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing