We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great Stay in Singapore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fabulous stay!!!

It was my second time to stay at Hotel Fort Canning. Strongly recommend for both personal and business trip as you won't feel that you are in SG at all. Good view, great room and excellent friendly services.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STantiyanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear STantiyanon,

Thank you for staying with us again, and for the fabulous review!

We are so glad you enjoyed the views, the room and the service, and we thank you for strongly recommending us to other travellers for both personal as well as business trips.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    339
    107
    43
    45
See reviews for
127
565
63
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Couldn't have asked for anything more from everyone at this hotel. Such a great location hidden away in parkland away from the hustle and bustle, but still very close to all transportation needs! Every single staff member was so kind and helpful, the food and breakfast were outstanding (such a great selection!), and good cocktails too! Would highly recommend, and would definitely revisit. It was a great way to kick off our honeymoon in the absolutely stunning city of Singapore!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Thomas C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely review! We are so happy that you chose share your honeymoon with us!

It was so nice to read that you found the location peaceful, yet convenient, the staff kind and helpful, and that you enjoyed the food.

Thank you also for highly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other travellers, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

My first impression with this hotel is fabulous. Room very clean. Nice interior design. Bed very comfy. Breakfast is more than enough to start the day. This boutique hotel located in Fort Canning Park so every morning you can walking/running around the hotel with so many trees like in the forest. After stay in this hotel I will choose this hotel for my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: If you do not mind with rate choose the room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunawan_karnata8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear gunawan_karnata8,

It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us, and an added pleasure to read of your appeciation for Hotel Fort Canning!

We strive to be fabulous to our guests, so we are glad you found us so. Our city park location is something that many guests enjoy and we are happy that you did, too.

We are very gratified to hear that you will choose Hotel Fort Canning for your next visit to Singapore, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you then!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I am very impressed about Hotel Fort Canning with the service, hospitality and friendliness of the Staff. To the Room which I stayed was really nice and loved the interior design keeping the colonial style plus with the modern touches. To breakfast service we were serviced right away and escorted to our table, the staff at the glass house was very attentive and very professional. As I studied hotel management I was very attentive with the staff and observing them very closely.

My conclusion:
I recommend Hotel Fort Canning strongly and I will want to come back when I am back in Singapore again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinMartinez86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear KevinMartinez86,

Thank you for staying with us and for your Excellent review!

We are so pleased that you were impressed with Hotel Fort Canning's service, hospitality and the friendliness of the staff, that you liked the ambience and appreciated the breakfast service.

Thank you for recommending us strongly to other travellers, and we are very glad to know that you will want to come back when you are next back in Singapore, which we certainly hope will be sooner than later!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This is my third time staying here and I have always enjoyed this charming hotel. The staffs are very friendly and give personal attentions as much as possible, although this is quite a sizable boutique hotel. They are always helpful to the guests. Thank you Cielo for always being so attentive.
The location is convenient too as it is actually within the CBD so the taxi rides to most places in the city is rather short. For shopping, it's only a short 5 minutes walk down hill to Plaza Singapura - an all inclusive complex. Just ask the staffs and they would show you the right path to take.
Breakfast at The Glass House is always that wholesome and healthy, surrounded by greens in the Fort Canning Park. My favorite is the muesli with honey from the honeycomb, healthy combination! One never over indulged and besides there is a state of the art gym just below The Glass House.

Room Tip: There are rooms with normal bathrooms if one prefers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Seng G,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are very happy to note that you have stayed three times with us and we certianly look forward to welcoming you back again!

We are glad that you have found our staff to be very friendly, giving you personal attention, and we have shared with Cielo you kind compliments for which she thanks you.

We are also gratified that you find our location convenient, and our Chef is delighted with your comment on the breakfast at The Glass House being wholesome and healthy!

We hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

For a business trip, I hadn't expressed a preference for hotel but expected to be placed in one of the larger well-known hotels towards the bay.

The hotel is difficult to fault for its charm - it's all very low-rise and understated. The views are amazing and, for one of the busiest cities in the world it is amazingly calm and quiet.

The room was perfectly fine, clean and stylish with a very comfortable bed - two small niggles, noisy AC, even on a minimum setting and a bizarre shaving-mirror-on-a-stick that wobbled terribly and spoiled the view out of the window.

Breakfast was good, a buffet with plenty of choice and omelettes available cooked-to-order. Honey from a fresh honeycomb was a nice touch.

Despite this being a random allocation, the hotel was a pleasant place to stay in a nice location (even if some of the taxi-drivers seemed a little unaware of its existence !).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetrarch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Tetrarch2,

It was a delight to read your review - thank you so much for all your nice comments and observations of Hotel Fort Canning. We, too, enjoyed having you stay with us and would like to thank you for making us part of your business trip.

We are glad that you found the room "perfectly fine, clean and stylish with a very comfortable bed" and that you enjoyed breakfast at The Glass House.

We will certainly take note of your feedback on the air-conditioning and the shaving mirror.

Being a small, independant boutique hotel, we rely a lot on word-of-mouth publicity, and that also applies to the taxi drivers! It is thanks to guests like you that more taxi drivers get to know of our existance!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

If you are looking for a charming place with a historical twist, in a superb location - this is a place for you. The hotel is an old colonial style building, located on a small hill in the very heart of Singapore. It is surrounded by a green park - cars need a few turns to make it to the top, while on foot you need ab. 10 mins to get to Doby Ghaut station/Orchard Rd (hint: take a lift to the parking level, and another in the plaza across the road). The rooms are very clean, well equipped and spacious - exceptionally so for Singapore standards, you will have a plenty of room to unpack and move around (and we had but a deluxe room, which is actually the basic standard in this hotel). The decor tastefully matches the old character of the building (but expect high tech solutions - lightning, sound, etc.), the little jazz music playing in the lobby. There are two pool areas - one being a more 'fun/relax' area, and one being a more 'sporty' area. The pools are clean and the water is very well filtered, swimming is a real bliss - especially after a long day. A few points on the food: The breakfast buffet is very generous (served in Glass House), definitely worth taking; You can have a lunch/snacks by the pool, they are brought in picnic baskets; There is also an Italian restaurant adjacent to the main lobby (rather elegant, but you may as well order a tasty pizza to the room); Kith eatery in the plaza on the way to Doby Ghaut is a great place for a quick lunch hop. Last but not least - service is excellent and staff are very helpful - many thanks to Cielo for her help and advice.

Room Tip: Perfect for singles, couples, and professionals. Ground floor rooms have little gardens with canopie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OandP_nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Oliwia_11,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning and for such a lovely review!

We are so happy you enjoyed your sojourn with us, and liked the clean, well-equipped rooms, convenient location, mineral salt filtered pools, and "tree-tops" breakfast at The Glass House.

We are particularly gratified that you appreciate our service - we have shared your very kind comments with our staff, and especially with Cielo, who is thrilled that you remembered her in your review!

We so look forward to your next stay with us, which we hope is soon!

Best wishes,

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing