We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect from a great hotel !”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #32 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great rooms / Excellent breakfast / Very helpful reception team / Nice complimentary drinks with the other guests every afternoon / Quiet environment ...
It was an enjoyable stay.

Only one thing should be improved : sound isolation. If you decide to sleep late, you unfortunately hear everything happening in the corridor...

Room Tip: 220 is a great suite, 219 is smaller but nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinchLargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear harryh0udini,

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning and for your excellent review!

We particularly like your header - “Exactly what you expect from a great hotel!” - it means a lot to us and we have shared your lovely comments with all our team.

Thank you also for your feedback on the sound isolation. You might be pleased to know that we are taking immediate action to improve this, and we hope that you will have more peaceful nights (and mornings) the next time you stay with us.

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for a one night staycation right after our wedding in the afternoon! They upgraded our room after they learnt about our nuptials and the room was lovely! Can't remember the name of the room but it was one the few rooms with a small balcony, facing the city.
Location is lovely but would recommend you to take a taxi as it is on a hill. To get to the nearby shopping centers is a breeze as it takes a mere 7-10 mins walk downhill.
Breakfast was lovely as well. Love the pools! There were two and we swam at the one at the bottom.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noorrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear noorrehan,

Congratulations once again on your recent nuptials and we are so happy our gesture of upgrading your room added to your memorable day!

The room you were in was a Studio Suite and it is one of only 3 rooms in the hotel with a balcony. We are glad you liked the room and also the city park location of the hotel as it is one of our unique selling points! We are also gratified that you enjoyed breakfast at The Glass House which offers panoramic views of the tree tops, and the mineral water-cleansed swimming pools.

We hope to see you soon on your next visit to Singapore!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely old building. The hotel location was perfect for us and we loved the opportunity to be able to walk through the adjoining park. It is restful and quiet despite being in the centre of busy Singapore. The staff were courteous and friendly and we enjoyed our breakfasts in the Glass a House Restaurant. The hotel facilities were excellent and very happy with our room. The bathroom was modern and the bed was excellent. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: If not happy with room for any reason always contact reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Cheryl C,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for your very nice review!

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and that you found the hotel's city park location perfect, the hotel facilities excellent and that you were very happy with your room. Hotel Fort Canning is indeed "restful and quiet despite being in the centre of busy Singapore"!

We are very gratified that you found our staff to be courteous and friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfasts in The Glass House Restaurant.

We are particularly happy with your Room Tip - "If not happy with room for any reason always contact reception!" - as that is indeed the best way for us to help guests resolve any problems, many of which have instant solutions.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Good rooms, which have been well designed and are very comfortable.
here ar 2 pools , the best Gym I have seen anywhere in a hotel and some good restaurants. Gattpopardo deserved special mention as a ver y good Italian restaurant.
Another Bonus is you are in the heart of c Singapore, with wonderful walks on the doorstep in Leafy Fort Canning Park.

However the service in the hotel is not great. The staff do not have the same professional standard as some of the other hotels )mainly chains) for the same price and the lobby and public areas don't function as seamlessly as other hotels. For example when I was there there was a wedding going on in the Lobby and et guests were wandering through or sitting in part of the bar.

Room Tip: Get a room on higher floor for added privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdcryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear mdcryan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your review.

We are happy you found our rooms to be good, well designed and very comfortable, and that you appreciated the two swimming pools, good restaurants (Gattopardo is very gratified with your commendation) and "the best Gym (you) have seen anywhere in a hotel". We are also very glad you found the location convenient and enjoyed the heritage park in which the hotel is set.

We are very concerned that you found the service less than spectacular as many of our guests have actually singled out our staff as the highlight of their stay. As we are a boutique hotel, we do things a little differently from the large chain hotels, but our guests are nevertheless our reason for being. Also, being a boutique hotel, our public spaces are limited, and when we have a wedding party, the guests sometimes do spill into the lobby. Not withstanding, we would like to thank you for your feedback and will see how we can manage this better in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful inside and out. Wonderful walking paths, minutes from the shops. The staff was brilliant, nothing was too much especially with me bringing the wrong cable for my phone so they helped me out. Staff were always on hand for any directions or recommendations. Every thing was clean and tidy. Breakfast in the Glass House was lovely. I highly recommend staying at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Ani12,

It was lovely having you stay with us and thank you for this wonderful review!

We are so glad you found the hotel beautiful and you enjoyed the heritage park in which the hotel is set. We are very gratified that we could help you with your mobile phone charger - we understand how easily such mix ups can take place and how difficult it can be without the use of one's personal mobile phone these days.

Thank you for commenting that everything was clean and tidy, and that breakfast was lovely, as these are the things that are important to our guests.

We are most grateful for your high recommendation to other travellers to stay with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning in the near future!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel is gorgeous great for newly wed.. Romantic place and staff is nice and helpful everything in there was of good quality and the feel of the room was just right -We had breakfast in the Glasshouse food is good quality and the location is great with romantic Fort Canning park the historical place in Singapore and near to the Malls ..etc is everything we need..
I love the Place its very memorable for us to celebrate my Wedding at Fort Canning Hotel and Restaurant .. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank anaramosmartin28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear anaramosmartin28,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials at Hotel Fort Canning! We are so happy that we could be part of that memorable day.

Thank you for your lovely review which we have shared with our staff to encourge them further to excell in their service to our guests.

We are very happy to note that you found the place romantic, the staff nice and helpful, the food in The Glass House of good quality, and very memorable for you of your wedding day.

We look forward to you coming back for another romantic stay with us soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a four night stay at the hotel and had a great time. Decor, service and location all contribute to create a fantastic hotel. The staff are extremely helpful, the rooms were comfortable and spacious and the pools were excellent. Would highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23Luke1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear 23Luke1983,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and thank you so much for your excellent review!

We are delighted that you found the hotel fantastic because of the decor, service and location, and that you appreciated the staff, rooms and pools.

Thank you also for highly recommending Hotel Fort Canning to other Trip Advisor readers.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,335 reviews
SO Sofitel Singapore
#28 of 319 in Singapore
1,729 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 319 in Singapore
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 319 in Singapore
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $193 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing