We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furbished, nice view, great service!”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #34 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nicely furbished, nice view, great service!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It was our second stay with this hotel. We were back there for a staycation to celebrate Valentine and early birthday celebration of mine on end Feb 2013.

Great location, quiet environment as it is away from the hustle and bustle from the centre yet it is still within walking distance to the city - Orchard. Room was nicely furbished, big bathtub that we like, good room ambiance. Their services was always great. Food there was nice! Their staffs were always welcoming and smiling to attend to your needs.

For drinkers or those that loves to club, Clarke Quay was just a stone throw away. A nice place to chill and to party the night away.

The only set back was the air con was not cooling enough. They had changed their toiletries products to their in house brand from their previous one that they had used to provide which i preferred. They are not able to accommodate our late check out request anymore as we had partied late the night before.

Definitely will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    359
    108
    43
    45
See reviews for
139
587
66
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Checked in at 3.20pm but was told that there was no room available and that I had to wait. This was surprising to me as the usual check in time was at 2pm. The staff told me the deluxe King bedded room I had booked was not available and if I was ok with twin beds. It was an anniversary so obviously I didn't want twin beds.
The staff told me to wait. I waited with my fiance for about 30 minutes. During this time, no one apologised or attended to us with welcome drinks and there was a coffee machine but no cups available.

When we got the room, we were impressed with the room. Clean and spacious but when I went to bed that night, I realised I was sleeping on 2 twins beds that were joined together!

When I asked the front desk about this, I was told he didnt want us to wait any further and such had offered us the twin bedded rooms instead. (WE WERE NOT INFORMED ABOUT THIS!)

The next morning, while me and my fiance were sleeping, the house keeping staff barged into the room without knocking. Their explanation to this was, the privacy light was not on. (No one bothered to show the room to us when we had checked in and so we were not aware, moreover, they could have knocked?!)

Breakfast is at the Glasshouse. Very pretty restaurant from the outside, but small and it was extremely noisy on that particular day. They should consider having more tables al frecso.

Very bad service. They have very pretty rooms but extremely bad service.

For those intending to stay here, make sure your privacy button is on if you dont want to be disturbed and make sure you check your bed to ensure you really got a king size bed and dont bother expecting the staff to smile. They dont.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanieish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Melanieish

Thank you for your valuable feedback of Hotel Fort Canning.

Our team is evaluating the issues and we have sent you a private email to investigate and look further into the matter and we hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Fort canning is away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance to the city centre. It's also a really nice park to walk around. Pool is nice but no pool attendant. Rooms are very nice...nespresso and Bose speakers are a nice touch. Air con system needs improving. It turns on and off randomly. Breakfast is ok but not excellent. Overall a great option at this price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear John C

Thank you for your review of Hotel Fort Canning, we are very pleased that your stay has been a good experience.

We very much appreciate your insightful feedback of the Hotel, room and the facilities. We would like to clarify that we do not have a pool attendant but we do have a poolside phone for guests to order drinks and snacks, or to request for more towels.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at contact@hfcsingapore.com.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had 6 nights in this hotel in a deluxe room recently.
Positives:
Beautiful old building, very good hotel gym with good weights and cardio equipment, room nicely furnished with large comfy bed and lovely bathroom including nice separate bath. Lovely park setting with views to the city or garden depending on the side of the building. Wifi is free, toiletries ok. 5 min walk to orchard rd and dauby ghat MRT station, 10 to Clarke quay. 2 lovely pools.
Downsides:
Hotel on side of hill of canning park, meaning a large volume (approx 300) steps to the hotel from the orchard rd side. You can't escape a climb to this hotel in the heat without taking a taxi from any direction. Servicing of my room was patchy, one day I was forgotten and had to make 2 calls to have my room serviced, the following day my towels were not changed, and another day the complimentary water was not provided. The hotel has a lot of functions and weddings occurring due to the hietoric building, I felt this sometimes got in the way of good hotel service. The pool was often without clean towels, and staff were brusque bordering on rude.

Overall a good quiet hotel for couples, don't stay here if you are unfit or want to be more in amongst the shopping and bustle of singapore. There are better hotels.

Room Tip: Stay closer to centre of the building for best wifi. City facing rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Chip_blue

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Hotel Fort Canning.

Our team is evaluating the issues you have raised and we have sent you a private email to help us to investigate further into the matter and we hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I come to Singapore 45-50 times each year, so know the hotels here well. Normally stay in Raffles or the Naumi or Capella or Fullerton Bay. This time (for recreating rather than doing business) I tried the Fort Canning Hotel, for two reasons - I love heritage buildings, and the hotel was recommended by Singapore Airlines. Can't fault the building (beautiful) or the setting (green, elevated, tranquil) but caveat emptor. The rooms are small but comfortable, the beds good. But the service is extraordinarily awful - non-existent really. This hotel has all the trappings of an adequate but expensive 4 star hotel, but the service and atmosphere of a twenty dollar hostel. When we arrived, the doorman turned away to talk on his phone, so we had to take our own bags out of the car and carry them into the totally deserted lobby. When we found someone to check us in, the attitude, through the ennui, was "ok you're here but we sort of wish you weren't because we have other things to worry about". We were stil positive (anyone can have a bad night) but as it turned out, our greeting was a true reflection of the hotel's style - the feeling of hostile disregard never changed - permeated our whole visit. There are some wonderful hotels in Singapore - this is not amongst them. Steer clear.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Bret M

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very concerned that our service standards did not meet your expectation. We want to know more about it so that we can put things right as quickly as possible.

We have sent you a private email to investigate and we hope to hear from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

stayed during valentine's day and it was a surprise move from my husband.
The hotel should add day curtains or one way see thru window from room to protect guest privacy, the hotel should also consider one switch for each blind control. we left home late night and came back the next early morning, to my surprise the things in the room moved. maybe they thought i check out? bathroom only have one glass cup? suppose to have two. i had tomyam soup in the glass house but it tasted like plum soup.
afterall, jasmin the manager was very helpful and attentive she will assist you in all ways.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiaokelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Xiaokelian

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad that you selected Hotel Fort Canning as your Valentine’s Day celebration venue. Your kind compliments on our service staff is very much appreciated.

We have noted your suggestions on the curtains and comments on the Tom Yam Soup. These have since been shared with the Departments concerned for consideration and improvement to be made.

We are concerned that things in your room were moved when you were out. We would like to know more about it, so that we can investigate. Please contact us at contact@hfcsingapore.com.

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked a room here over the weekend (16-17mar) to celebrate our anniversary. Was really excited about what HFC got to offer, after seeing so many reviews and feedback. The hotel was located at a tranquil hill top, and peaceful surroundings. We reached at about 12odd in the afternoon, and we were told to wait until 2pm for our check-in. There were only 2 personnel serving, but there were many guests waiting for their check-in. Another 2 personnel came over to help, but unfortunately there were only 2 laptops to work on. There was no one to guide the check-in process, and only when my boyfriend took the initiative to start queueing behind the counter, did the rest of the guests follow. They gave us a late check-out timing for our anniversary.

After checking in at 2pm, a friendly malay lady(slightly plump) guided us to our room. She was very polite, and when we asked her if we could have a candlelight dinner in our room that night, she was all smiles and said it was possible, we just had to arrange with the front desk. We were happy upon hearing that. The room was spacious, the amenities were good, view was good, except that the speed of drainage in the shower area was rather slow. We had to wait for some time before the water managed to run clear each time. Other than that, the room was luxurious and fabulous.

We went to visit the swimming pool and gym about 7pm. Since it was clearly stated in the guest information book that towels will be provided at the pool area, we did not bring our room towels down. When we reached the pool, there were no clean towels to be seen. Only a basket filled with used towels was seen. We walked to the adjacent building(where the in-house restaurant is), and walked down to the gym. We asked the staff on duty(a malay girl) where we could find towels. she seemed abit shocked, but directed us to go down a level to get the towels. We went down and found the ladies/gents toilets, but there were no towels to be seen. We went up again, and approached her saying that we could not find any available towels. She then looked at us in disdain, and said "Did you go to the reception? It is with the reception lady."

We were taken aback with her rude response as there was no mention of going to the reception the first time we asked her. And next, she questioned us "Are you all guests here?" I have no idea why she would ask this, maybe because we were dressed really casually in sportswear and we were Singaporeans. That gave us a bad impression of the customer service in HFC.

After the swim, we went up to the room hoping to order some food in a candlelight setting. We found a complimentary bottle of red wine in the room, which was a really nice gesture well-appreciated. So we called the frontdesk, and to our dismay, the staff said that a candlelight dinner setting was not possible for the type of room (deluxe) we were in. We were quite disappointed, but went ahead the room-service order. Food was ok.

The check-out next day was the same situation as the first day, only 1 staff was on duty, and there were quite alot of people queueing up for their turn to checkin/out. They could probably add more staff/counters to aid the flow.

And so today, it turns out that I left my camera lens cap in the room and called them in the morning (about 8+am) to check with frontdesk/housekeeping. I have not gotten a reply yet from them.

Room Tip: Room was good on the second floor, with a view of the CBD area. You can choose either having a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esteller1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear estella1711

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary.
As we were running full house during the time of your stay, we regret that we were unable to offer you an early check in. We are also sorry that the check in process took slightly longer than usual.

We would like to apologise for the miscommunication on the candlelight dinner which you wanted served in your room and the inconvenience caused to you in getting the pool towel. We have since investigated the service lapses, and the employees involved have been retrained.

As for the camera lens cap, we have done a thorough check; unfortunately we were unable to locate it in the room. I believe my colleague has since informed to you on the findings via a telephone call.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Amy Cheong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 312 in Singapore
2,193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 312 in Singapore
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,835 reviews
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#20 of 312 in Singapore
2,807 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing