We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All very civilised!”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #33 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“All very civilised!”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

After three weeks holiday in Europe, time to head home to Australia and face reality again (frowny face), so why not have a stop over in Singapore and enjoy the humidity before heading into Australian winter. Although not a frequent visitor to Singapore, we have stayed before in Orchard Road (Hilton) and Clark Quay (somewhere equally as large hotel but can't remember its name). When at Clark Quay really enjoyed walking around Fort Canning. Didn't realise there was a hotel there until looking for accom this time. Read all about it and the proximity yet staying in parkland sounding interesting. So glad we booked and stayed there three nights. Loved the gentrification of all buildings and the conversion from barracks into lovely sized rooms with exceptional bathrooms meant a really enjoyable stay. Two pools were delightful (one a lap pool) and there was a gym (but I didn't check that out as the parklands were there to enjoy). Walkable distance to Chinatown (which I love) and easy walking to the MRT station (although via a carpark) but easy all the same. But the lovely touch to this hotel, was complimentary drinks and canapes around 5-7pm. Delightful. This hotel also had a buffet breakfast included, which was quite rare when I was looking for accommodation. Would definately stay there again and have recommended it already to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    363
    110
    43
    45
See reviews for
144
602
66
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Nice comfortable hotel on the edge of fort canning park.perfect retreat from the busy city centre. High tech rooms, nice amenities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jens2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a very good hotel. The rooms are super comfortable and have everything you might need. Its a high-tech ambience, with touch controls for the mood-lighting, curtains, TV, Internet, air-con, etc. I would definitely ask for one of the rooms overlooking the back of the hotel - there can be festivals and events held in the Park opposite which can make it a bit noisy through to midnight. But, being Singapore, its all well controlled and managed so it doesn't cause untoward disturbance.
Breakfast is taken in the restaurant and is buffet style - it can feel busy and crowded - so not always somewhere for a relaxing start to the day. We also eat an evening meal there one night. All OK but the menu is perhaps a bit limited and nothing very special - Singapore has so much more to offer. There is also a Bar and an Italian restaurant in the main hotel building which looks very classy.
We were not impressed with the pool - space for sitting and relaxing was limited and there were very few places to actually sit - only a handful of sun-loungers. Also it was not that pleasant a view from the terrace.
Generally, I felt a bit disappointed, mainly because as a boutique hotel Fort Canning seems to lack character. There are so many really excellent hotels in Singapore to choose from, though I'm sure the Fort Canning will secure its own regular set of followers. For us, however, we shall try somewhere different next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the park at the rear of the hotel (the other side to the main entra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed in over 10 luxury hotels in Singapore - but this one is my favorite. I stayed here for 2 weeks. The rooms are spacious, the bathrooms are beautiful - the bathtub is huge and the view is incredible. The hotel is within the fort canning park and if you are lucky, you can get a room facing the park (as opposed to facing the YWCA). The working table is comfortably large to accomodate everything and the lounge chair in the room is not just a piece of furniture to adorn the room.
The staff is also very friendly. The Italian restuarant serves some deliccccshhh dishes and the best part is that they can cook and season it as per your request.
The only thing that I can hold against the hotel is the taxi service. Since the hotel is not in the hub-a-bub (which is exactly what I like about the hotel), it can take several minutes for a taxi to show up at the door step to take you to work - so plan your morning accordingly.
The evening walks are a pleasure, as you the park is right outside and the swimming pool is not overcrowded.
It's just about a 5 min walk, through the park to the orchard road or a 10 min walk to the clarke quay, (again through the park). You just have to know the park routes well enough, I guess.
Like I said, this is my fav hotel in Singapore. If I have to pay from my own pocket to go to Singapore, I would choose this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rasna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great hotel, good location. Stayed here for two nights, would love to come back to Singapore and stay here again. Hotel room had lovely views over Singapore. Very modern facilities and staff were very helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank john46075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently stayed here for a few nights. The room was spacious and comfortable, with wonderful views over the park and city from the bathroom.

All the staff were very friendly, especially those working at the breakfast. Quite a good breakfast buffet offering.

The pools were wonderful and never crowded.

Would definitely stay here again in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelrcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Fort Canning in a Premium King room in June, it was a wonderful experience overall. With the working station and the restroom overlooking the park, it is just something you can't find it in Singapore! The only - point is the air conditioning, it is a bit too noisy, spoken to staffs at front desk and realised that it was due to technical problems.

The breakfast provided at the Glasshouse was average compared to other hotels in Singapore, however, the ambience was good and the place is indeed perfect for relaxation.

Staffs in HFC are friendly, responsive to our requests and they are always willing to help when you need them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 315 in Singapore
2,227 reviews
1.1 mi away
SO Sofitel Singapore
SO Sofitel Singapore
#29 of 315 in Singapore
1,626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#49 of 315 in Singapore
2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.9 mi away
AMOY by Far East Hospitality
0.7 mi away
PARKROYAL on Pickering
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#25 of 315 in Singapore
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#33 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing