We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #34 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great hotel, good location. Stayed here for two nights, would love to come back to Singapore and stay here again. Hotel room had lovely views over Singapore. Very modern facilities and staff were very helpful.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank john46075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Recently stayed here for a few nights. The room was spacious and comfortable, with wonderful views over the park and city from the bathroom.

All the staff were very friendly, especially those working at the breakfast. Quite a good breakfast buffet offering.

The pools were wonderful and never crowded.

Would definitely stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelrcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Fort Canning in a Premium King room in June, it was a wonderful experience overall. With the working station and the restroom overlooking the park, it is just something you can't find it in Singapore! The only - point is the air conditioning, it is a bit too noisy, spoken to staffs at front desk and realised that it was due to technical problems.

The breakfast provided at the Glasshouse was average compared to other hotels in Singapore, however, the ambience was good and the place is indeed perfect for relaxation.

Staffs in HFC are friendly, responsive to our requests and they are always willing to help when you need them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is restored from a heritage building, but interiors are so modern and comfortable you wouldn't miss the high-tech comforts of home. Service was top-notch as of hotels of its class, and the staff warmly extended their help in planning for a birthday surprise.

The free drinks and snacks offered at happy hour are a nice touch, but food disappeared within seconds of being served. Breakfast did not offer a very wide range, but was adequate. The only thing is that the breakfast area was too small, such that guests had to wait an average of 15-25 minutes to be seated. I believe they were offering weekend buffet brunch for outsiders as well, which caused over-crowding. I am not sure of this though, but certainly there were not enough seats for a hotel of this size.

Swimming pool is a tad small, but adequate if you are looking for just a relaxing soak.

Overall a good hotel that is near enough to the city centre but in which you feel is an escape from the hustle and bustle of Orchard road.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in June 2012 in a premium room. The hotel is well appointed and the decor is excellent, it is in a very quiet and tranquil setting and is perfect for a relaxing getaway. We found the buffet breakfast to be quite average in terms of both food quality and service. We also dined in the Italian restaurant and found the service there to be quite average as well and were surprised to find that meals could not be charged to the room so had to go and upstairs to get my credit card. The afternoon canapés were good but lacked variety in terms of the type of drinks and food on offer. The room was well appointed with a nice large bathroom in the premium room, the room controls in terms of lighting and airconditioning were unique but after getting used to these were quite functional. The fitness centre is well appointed and the pools are in a nice garden setting. By far the best thing about this hotel is the character of the old fort and tranquil tropical gardens, this would be an excellent hotel if service and food quality was improved.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have been to Singapore about 12+ times over the last 35 years and have stayed in 5 star through to a more moderate 3 star. Over this whole time I never knew about Hotel Fort Canning or that there was even a park called Fort Canning.

If you want a tranquil oasis in the middle of Singapore, then this is the place for you. It has been various things or the years, including HQ for the British before WWII. Forget the Raffles and stay here. It is. Ore like a private club than a hotel.

It was nice to be able to get up early and take a walk or jog through the park - if you like that sort of thing.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The Italian Restaurant in the hotel was absolutely fantastic. Food was great and compared to other similar restaurants , not too pricey.

On the less positive side, the breakfast, although adequate, was ordinary. Mbuffet small - but I guess with a hotel this size, it may be hard to out on a full buffet like a HUGE hotel.

Getting in and out of the "city" is not so much a challenge, but a little unusual as the closest MRT at Dhoby Gaut is a about a 10 min walk through a car park. Going is ok, but in the heat of the day coming back up the hill can be challenging if you suffer from the heat. My suggestion would be that the hotel put on a shuttle to do a round trip, say, on the hour, dropping people at Orchard Road, Marina Bay and so on.

We had a premium deluxe room, which had a separate bathroom, not stuck in the middle of the room like the others. It wasn't the biggest room we have stayed in, but it was nice to look out in to the park. Bathroom could do with two basins. Aircon tok some getting used to.

Overal, we enjoyed our stay and I would stay here again. If you want to be in the thick of it - then maybe choose something on Orchard Road.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jorgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fort Canning Hotel whilst on an overnight stopover in Singapore. I had selected this hotel based on previous reviews that I had read, but was a little disappointed with what they delivered. The rooms are of an average hotel room size and bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was quite unusual only having a large mirror over the bath a metre away from the basin and so made makeup or brushing teeth a little difficult. My main concern was the hotel is also used as a function space. The night we were there it had a Asian food channel event on so most of the outside seating area was closed off from the hotel guests. When anyone pays a good room rate you would expect to be able to access all areas! The other disappointment was the buffet breakfast which was only a western breakfast with not a lot of options. There are plenty of other options in Singapore which we will try on our next visit. Glad we tried it though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa_keddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,358 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SO Sofitel Singapore
#30 of 317 in Singapore
1,744 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $204 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing