We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #42 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I thought this hotel was just fantastic! It had a really interesting layout and felt exceptionally luxurious. The only criticism I had was our room had a very disappointing suite area with a not so comfortable couch and it just wasn't a practical use of space. The bedroom made up for this as it was absolutely beautiful. We ate in the restaurant there and it was also beautiful. Great experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coco55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear coco55555,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning Singapore, an oasis in the park!

Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

Your compliments to the hotel are very much appreciated.

We have reviewed the concern that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the involved department for improvement to be made.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    332
    106
    43
    45
See reviews for
125
552
62
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very Beautiful great location.

This beautiful hidden gem in the park was a prefect location in Singapore, the breakfast is amazing, the park is gorgeous, the location is super convenient in the heart of the shopping area. The staff very efficient.
The rooms are great. the bed is like sleeping on clouds. its great over all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Sandra S,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning Singapore, an oasis in the park!

We are flattered by your compliments and it is very satisfying to know that you have given us full score for this review.

I am thrilled to know that you felt like you are sleeping on the clouds, and I am pleased to share with you that our sealy posturepedic mattress is especially selected to provide great support for the back and body as well as the ultimate comfy when you are slumbering.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning.


Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Fort Canning for about 12 days while we explored Singapore. We found that we loved this boutique hotel for its great hilltop location, as well as the surrounding park and pathways. The MRT, Clarke Quay, the Riverwalk, the Singapore Museum are all very accessable from this hotel. The rooms seem to have many different configurations and are very modern and very comfortable. There are 2 pools, with one being a true lap pool. They are almost deserted as many of the guests are out and about or perhaps there on business.
There are juices and cookies and coffees available in the lobby throughout the day and wine and appetizers in the early evening! The breakfasts are very good and we really enjoyed the cappuccinos. There is free WIFI. There always seemed to be events going on at the hotel, either weddings, seminars, a car show, and a couple of rock concerts in the park up the hill. We were always notified that these events might be noisy and they never inconvenienced us. The staff were very helpful and the hotel was very gracious in refunding a reservation I had made in error. We really appreciated that. We found this hotel too charming and too well situated to move.

Room Tip: Ask to see a different room if you are not comfortable, as there are several different sizes and con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Sara M,

Greetings from Hotel Fort Canning Singapore, an oasis in the park!

We are ecstatic to know that your stay experience with us was an enjoyable one. It is our utmost pleasure to have you with us.

Your compliments in this review are very much appreciated and we will like to thank you for giving us a full score for it.

We look forward welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning for another staycation.


Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Elegant hotel set in a beautiful park situated between Orchard Rd and Clarke Quay. We will return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear CarolineAndGreg,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are flattered by your kind compliments.

Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park and having located in the heart of the city, it connects not only the Orchard Road shopping belt and the Clarke Quay entertainment hub, but also the Central Business District, and the Civic District.

Thank you very much for your wonderful support. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

This place charms before you even see it. As your taxi turns up into Fort Canning Park, you know you are in for a treat. Overlooking the city, it is removed from it, yet walking instance downhill to many major attractions. The rooms are futuristic and it's 2 restaurants and two pools are unique as well. Yet the price is well below some ofthe over rated stars of Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddiemf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Freddiemf,

It is gratifying to know that you are able to reach out for what you need to do conveniently during your recent stay with us.

Hotel Fort Canning is the first hotel in Singapore that introduces VDA intelligent hotel system which integrates lighting, air-conditioning, curtain, internet, entertainment and mood controls; all in one touch-screen panel. You don’t have to leave the bed at all to get some of these jobs done right at your fingertips.

We are flattered by your kind compliments and will continue to strive even better for our guests.

We look forward welcoming you and your partner back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Kind Regards,

Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hotel was in good location, clean, well managed and the included breakfast was terriffic. Enjoyed morning runs in the gardens surrounding hotel and felt very safe. It was a little confusing for the cab driver to find, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYork5family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear NewYork5family,

Thank you very much for taking time to write this review.

We are glad that Hotel Fort Canning is your preferred choice of accommodation. Your kind words of praise to the hotel are very much appreciated and we are happy to know that your gastronomic experience with our breakfast buffet selections was filled with satisfaction.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed here recently as my usual choices were booked out (conferences in town).

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It has been renovated to a very high standard and the rooms unique and are ultra modern.

The only downside is that you must take a cab and there aren't always cabs waiting at the hotel. This is the tradeoff for staying in the middle of an inner city park, which is peaceful.

I was a little dissappointed by a few things in my room that required maintenance - the door handles on most room doors seemed broken - they aren't used because of the lock system used but this looked shabby. There were some other minor defects in the room also.

Breakfast wasn't wonderful, but was adequate.

Amenities were of a high standard and the TWG tea was a good touch. If my usual favourites weren't available, I wouldn't have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Had a premium room - anything smaller would be too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPW-BNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, Front Office Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear PPW-BNE,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your recent stay experience with us.

Your kind words of praises to the hotel are very much appreciated.

We have reviewed the concerns that you have highlighted and it have since been emphasized to the involved department for improvement to be made.

We will continue and take every effort to increase and create awareness among the taxi drivers to familiarise with our unique location.

Once again, thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning.

Kind Regards,
Jasmin Faruk
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#49 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#8 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#42 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing