We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great F&B!”
Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #36 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Had lunch at the glasshouse recently. What a great outlet. Set in lush greenery with equally good food to boost! I had a set menu and the lamb was done so wonderfully! Kudos to the chef!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leong34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel! They have done a magnificent job of maintaining the architectural heritage of the building while also being sleek and modern. Every part of the hotel oozed sophistication and serenity. Its location is fantastic- set in the grounds of a park- and you feel much further away from the noise and hustle of the city than you really are. It was a relatively easy 10-15 min walk to Orchard Rd.

Our room was gorgeous- it felt authentically colonial and high-tech all at the same time. There were some beautiful design elements that I really appreciated.

Pool area was beautiful as well.

There were nice touches like complimentary sweets and beverages set out for guests throughout the day as well as a cocktail hour with drinks and appetizers.

Staff were professional and helpful. We arrived from the airport (with two tired kids) at 6am and they did their best to get our room ready as soon as possible.

Would most definitely stay again... is now high on the list of my most favorite hotels!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This was one of the best hotels
Perfect rooms, hi-tech with a wonderful reception hall with all sorts of amenities
Eventually the breakfast was a bit average for this type of hotel, as in construction and not 'living' enough - cold, but still a very good standard

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTW300474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My husband and I had a 3 night stop over in Singapore, and after reviewing many hotels , We settled on Hotel Fort Canning, so glad that we did, we had a fantastic time.
We stayed in a Premium Room overlooking the Park, The furniture and all the special touches were great. The Pillows are amazing. The bathroom are stunning, loved the shower.
The Nespresso was great we used it daily , also joined in the complimentary wine and nibbles before heading out to dinner one night ,it was fun. This Hotel is in the middle of Fort Canning Park, perfect location, just a 5 minute walk trough the park, we always felt safe even walking home after dinner late at night. After days of shopping and sight seeing it was always so nice to come back to the Hotel, as it is so quite and serene. We had a swim in the Pool on our last evening, good size but shallow.
All the staff was great,
The only negatives was the breakfast buffe, could have been better, we did love the pancake and the egg station, great pancakes, always made and served with a great smile, and the cleaniness of the hotel should have been better.

We will definitly stay at Hotel Fort Canning, next time we are in Singapore,and can highly recommed this small unique, historical Hotel

Room Tip: Premium Room overlooking the Park ( has a separate bathroom)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evaandjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed only one night at the Fort Canning, and it was a very enjoyable experience. Staff are very friendly and the room was immaculate with a good espresso machine and free wifi. Stylish decor and nice location. Highly recommended (though for business I preferred being close to the financial area due to traffic).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed at Fort Canning for business. I was upgraded to a suite which may have made my experience of the hotel even better than it would have been but this is a fantastic hidden gem in Singapore. So hidden that most taxi driver cannot find it. It opened just about a year ago. The rooms are very modern and functional (although not unusual in Singapore) with views of the park that surrounds the hotel. The staff was really efficient whenever I asked for something. Had room service twice. It is very well presented. You may find the portions a little small. Very quiet room and very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while at a conference. Being Australian the history of the hotel was very interesting, yet we would never have considered staying here if is wasn't for the conference. Located in a central but quiet location - the gardens are just beautiful to wander through and the spice garden is heaven. Taxis from any shopping area are no more than $10 S. Rooms are a bit cozy but tastefully decorated with all the mod cons. Sitting back in the little sun room's comfy chair watching the joggers go by, looking out over the garden, sipping a lovely g&t from the mini bar (need I say more?). Breakfast was lovely and I really liked the individually cooked to request eggs/omelettes. I had the fluffy light pancakes and the lovely made to order coffee. Restaurant and bar are pleasant and service is of a high quality. A delightful find we would love to go back as a couple and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something of tranquility and nostalgia in Singapore.
Best features - the pillows and the gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenbunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,405 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 317 in Singapore
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 317 in Singapore
1,302 reviews
SO Sofitel Singapore
#28 of 317 in Singapore
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#36 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $201 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing