We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to be at Fort Canning”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect place to be at Fort Canning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed for one night only and it was a great experience. Very private, still good access to the city. Room/suite had everything you need incl a Nespresso machine and a jacuzzi. Internet took a while to get up, and the (only) bad part is their 3 star breakfast buffet. Nice to have a 6-8PM happy hour.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wimster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    340
    107
    43
    45
See reviews for
127
565
63
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I recently stayed a week for business at the Fort Canning and i won't stay anywhere else now in Singapore. It is more like staying in a private members club than a hotel, ( What other htoel offer drinks and canops at 6pm) but with all the facilties that all top hotels offer. It is very central but being in the middle of the park and a very historicalal part of the city you feel away from the hustle and bustle but can be anywhere in 10 Mins. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, modern and with free Wi fi. The staff are soeme of the most helpful i have ever come across and nothing was too much trouble.
This is such a great hotel for a short or long stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leura, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you are over the usual 5 star, high rise hotel andare looking for something different then this the Hotel Fort Canning is it !

Wonderful, secluded location away from the hussle and bustle of downtown Singapore

Very unique premises...i love that it's located in the old British Colonial Army HQ !

Kelson, Claire and the front office team are fantastic. They're not just helpful and knowledgeable...they enjoy their jobs. It makes a huge difference.

I will definately be back !

Room Tip: ask for a garden delux room....wonderful to have access to your own private outdoor garden !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

This boutique property really surprised our senses, in a really good way. We took our parents on a relaxing short vacation to Singapore recently. Usually, we go for the 'Resort' type of accommodation, but through a recommendation by a business colleague, we went for 'Boutique'. Upon arrival, the entrance was well hidden from the main gate entrance. This was nice and appealing as it did not overcome with the fluster of the usual busy traffic to that of a resort. The classically dressed doorman welcomed us and guided us to the reception desk.
First impressions... Wow. From the stand alone wooden writing desks at reception, to the glass display floor, showing relics from earlier excavations. The reception room sweeps onto a luxurious lounge area with leather loungers available to relax on and with complimentary Nespresso Coffee, Tea, Juice & Bottled water made available to guests.
The suites are a good size, with king bed and all amenities, seperate stone floor bathrooms, stand alone bath tub & wash basin, large shower with rain forrest shower head & WC.
What places this property above others that I have stayed in over the years, is the extent of the 'Automation' in all rooms: Touch Control Panel, to control lights, air-conditioning and all the drapes & curtains. If you do not want to use the touch control, you can control using the television control panel, which also gives complimentary internet & email access. Fantastic.
The restaurant, to which we had breakfast daily, is great, not too crowded, very relaxed.
Overall, we were impressed. Looking forward to our next stay at Hotel Fort Canning

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manasetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth-WA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

This was a great experience from the start and a different side to the usual singapore hotel. Located within the fort canning parkland it is a peaceful oasis from the hustle and bustle of Orchard Road that is only a 5 minute walk away. The rooms are very spaceous with all the mod cons. The smart tv, chaise lounge and nespresso coffee machine are a really nice touch. The bathroom is the size of some hotel rooms i have been in and very well appointed with a rainshower and a huge seperate bath tub. The large window and high ceilings add to the feeling of space. A blind can be closed by using the touch pad, should you not feel ok about having it open whilst in the bathroom. The bed is the best i have ever slept in. The breakfast served in the Glass House restaurant was great, with the best selection and quality produce. We also dined in this restaurant on the first night and the meal was first class and i thought reasonably priced for a hotel. There are two swimming pools in the grounds surrounded by many forms of seating or lounges. The staff are very friendly. Complimentary tea, coffee, water and juice are available in a lounge area off the foyer all day with wine and canapes also available for a couple of hours in the early evening. Dhoby Ghaut station is a 5 minute easy walk, also a few restaurants the same distance nearby. All round this was an enjoyable stay and i did not want it to end. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

we stayed 1 day just to have fun but was great time not forget able its in our book of memory
romance day i really recommended for the couple who need to be relax, and enjoy
its was full of the romance woooooow since we got in our room till at the end of check out,
all because of the way of the room, view of the hotel,
bathroom was not problems for us the main issue here its to have romance fun,
hahaaaaaaaaaaaa

Room Tip: room on the south side, garden deluxe its the nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pretty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

very nice hotel, very central and closed to subway, in the middle of the fort canning park which is really nice.
Rooms are not so big but functional.
2 nice swimming pools where you can relax and swimm.
Breakfast : ok but not amazing. The room for the breakfast is less design than the rest of the hotel.
Service good.
Will come back again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#43 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing