We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fort Canning

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fort Canning
Ranked #39 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

I was on a short holiday in Singapore with my husband, and at the last moment we decided to extend our stay. The hotel we were staying at was full for the extra nights, and so were most of the other hotels we tried (we looked at quite a few!). We stumbled upon Hotel Fort Canning by chance on the internet and decided to give it a try, despite the negative reviews we saw, as at that point we did not have any other option.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, it became apparent that we would be getting our money’s worth. As an unexpected bonus, we were upgraded to a Premium Luxe room as the hotel was full. The room was great – the décor and design were both tasteful and luxurious; the bed was extremely comfortable and the ‘pillow menu’ was a nice touch! The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast at the Glass House was also quite good, and all in all we really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

The only downside would be the walk to/from Orchard road. While it is not far, the route is quite steep and cuts through a parking lot and across the road to Dhoby Ghaut station. Actually, getting to Orchard road is easy as the hotel provides shuttle transport to ION Orchard and Takashimaya SC; the difficult part is getting back (as there is no return shuttle). For shopaholics like us, climbing up the hill back to the hotel was quite hard, especially considering we were laden down with shopping bags! For more senior guests I would recommend just taking a cab.

All in all, I think that the problems mentioned in the earlier reviews have been sorted out. Given the hotel is quite new, I would say that those were probably just teething problems. The hotel is great and certainly worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruwani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Ruwaniebell

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    339
    107
    43
    45
See reviews for
127
565
63
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I am a frequent traveller to Singapore and have stayed in many hotels in town. Heard about Hotel Fort Canning and decided to give it a go.

Upon check-in I was informed that I was to stay in a premium room.
Check-in was good, with a welcome drink being offered. Nice touch.

The room was well layed out with a large bathroom with rain shower, nice amenities and a large bath tub.
Wireless internet is free and fast. This should be standard in all hotels!

A Nespresso machine is available. I love that as I am a Nespresso fan and dislike staying in hotels without one. Gone should be the days with the terrible instant coffee!

The separate sitting area is nice and well appointed.

I had no issues with the touch panel lighting system or the airconditioning so it seems the previously reported issues may have been sorted.

The pool area is quiet large for an 80 room hotel, giving it a bit of a resort feel.
The bar is good with friendly staff and italian restaurant is simpy excellent.

Breakfast in the glass house is good and again, staff is friendly and helpful.

Throughout the stay, staff has been good.

The location in Singapore is excellent. In the Fort Canning Park, very quiet for a good night sleep, yet in the centre of the city.

I highly recommend this hotel and as a matter of fact, booked my next stay.
(I am NOT a PR firm...) just love good boutique hotels and see through some of the teething issues...

Room Tip: stay in a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Dutchkiwi

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay with us. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind words of praise in your encouraging note are very much appreciated. Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

"Architect has run amok" review was right! The hotel design is terrible! This has/had the potential to be a great hotel in Fort Canning Park with green surroundings but whomever designed this hotel must have been smoking something.

The hotel has tried to cram too many rooms into too small a space. They could have sacrificed a few rooms to increase the per room size a little bit and made this a great hotel. I shouldn't have to lower the blinds just to avoid watching my wife use the toilet but that is what you have to do. The bathroom takes up the whole window which means you have to choose between daylight and privacy. The blinds aren't that difficult to work out but are a bit of a fiddle.

It is not just the rooms. Try to get a taxi driver to get round the mini-roundabout in the driveway and they can't because it is not quite wide enough for a standard car.

The exit out of the lobby towards the breakfast restaurant has 2 steps that make it difficult to navigate a baby buggy over the steps. A little bit of common sense thinking from the designer, that some customers might have a buggy or even a wheelchair, would have solved the problem.

Even the walk from the main building to the restaurant. There is no real path. You have to dodge the plants to get round the randomly positioned elevator shaft to get to the restaurant.

On the positive side, the gym is very good and breakfast was also good.

It is all such a shame because all the things which are easy to change (service, food, staff, free Wifi) are all excellent. But they are shackled by the problems which will cannot be easily changed. Currently the hotel doesn't work for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSBHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear LSBHK

Thank you for staying at Hotel Fort Canning, and for your feedback on your stay.

From your description of the room, we deduce that it was one of our Deluxe Garden Rooms with the unique design feature of having the bathrooms in the bedroom. This design feature is actually a highlight of Hotel Fort Canning and we have had many positive comments about it. We do have some other rooms for guests who prefer a more traditional layout, and we would have gladly changed your room should you have informed us of your preference.

Being a conservation building we have limitation in changing its structure. Hence, this has led to the development of various sizes of rooms and placement of some of our facilities in another building.

We have also addressed your feedback on difficulty navigating with baby stroller. Please be informed that we have onsite baby stroller ramps that will lead you to the restaurant and lift leading to the main street.

However, we appreciate your compliments on our breakfast, gym facilities as well as your kind words of praise of our service staff. These compliments will be duly conveyed to them.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments. Should your travel plans take you to Singapore again in future, we hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you.

Yours sincerely

Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed in the Premium Luxe room for two nights, and it was great! The room was comfortable, furnishings were elegant and of a high quality, and there were a ton of HD movies free on the hotel smart TV network. Its not for technophobes, though, as everything was controlled by electronic touchpads. I had trouble getting used to the tapping keycard system as well, but that was mainly because the door handles seem to be set a little too close to the doorjam.

Bathroom was beautiful, bathtub was amazing. Rainshower was great too! And the cozy chair was great for relaxing. A huge number of large mirrors in the room and bathroom as well, great for narcissists! However, we felt the bed was a little too soft, had some minor neckaches in the morning.

Service was consistently excellent, and at the lobby lounge, there was free champagne every evening and complimentary coffee and tea and snacks throughout the day.

Breakfast left much to be desired, however. Not the best we've had, not by a long shot.

Being on the top of hotel fort canning, its also a bit of a walk (and climb) from Orchard road.

On the whole, a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear jd3000

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

Your kind compliments of our service staff are very much appreciated and these will be duly conveyed to them. Indeed, your heartening response and feedback will be shared with all our staff and these will undoubtedly motivate them to strive for even better service for our guests.

Hotel Fort Canning is the first-ever hotel in Singapore that introduce the VDA intelligent hotel system which integrates lighting, air-conditioning, curtain, internet, entertainment and mood controls; all in a sleek touch-screen panel. You don’t have to leave the bed at all to get some of these jobs done right at your finger tips. Our Sealy Posturepedic mattress is also especially selected to provide great support for the back and body as well as the ultimate comfy. Choice of various types of pillows is also available for your selection.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

It was the best hotel I had stayed with in a long time. The rooms are beautiful and clean, lovely amenities, good location in the city but still with the green and tranquility due to the park, excellent breakfast, free evening drinks and beautiful pool, and above all, incredibly friendly and efficient staff.

The staff were very helpful and enthusiastic - it is a nice change from the bigger hotels where you are merely processed from check-in to check-out.

The minor downsides are that it is a new hotel and some taxis don't know precisely how to get there, and the walk from the MRT may be a bit too steep for some. Also the hotel may do better improving the staircases in the back to make it more safer and easier access to the MRT. There was some minor work going on but wasn't disturbing at all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

I highly recommend you dont waste your pennies at this hotel. While the exterior is lovely and the staff polite, the rooms are rediculous. The beds are so soft that I had back pain just from sitting on them, cramping while sleeping, and they are newly renovated beds and rooms. The location is reiculous, its not on any of the major tourist maps and you cant get there easily from the station. The rooms have no privacy for the toilet and shower, and there is no mirror in the bathroom to either shave or apply make up. The stairwells are very slippery the minute it rains, and you have to walk in, then out, then back in again to get to your room. The pool has no towels, and they randomly took my towels from my room before i had even used them (and didnt replace them). If you are looking for old world charm, there are plenty other boutique hotels in singapore that charge sinilar rates and offer superior facilities. A shame, because I was really looking forward to trying this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller808031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hfc_GM, General Manager at Hotel Fort Canning, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Traveller808031

Thank you for choosing Hotel Fort Canning as your choice of accommodation in Singapore. It is indeed our pleasure to have you with us.

We were dismayed to hear of the back problem you had. We are pleased to share you that our Sealy Posturepedic mattress is especially selected to provide great support for the back and body as well as the ultimate comfy. We have also addressed your feedback on various areas to the departments concerned for improvement to be made.

Hotel Fort Canning is relatively new and therefore it is yet to be listed in some of the major maps. Nevertheless, we are working with the relevant parties to include Hotel Fort Canning in their guidebooks and maps in the future.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Fort Canning soon.

Yours sincerely
Supriya Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

I must admit the choice for this hotel was made as I had a sudden business visit to Singapore and not able to find rooms anywhere made a booking in here. The first look of the property is impressive as we go uphill in near the park area where this place is located as an hide way. I arrived early and could not get a room instantly but the very courteous staff led me to the health club where I could take the shower and get to my business before they could check me in. Later in the evening when I got into the room, it was cozy and something different in terms of the architecture as the washroom heads to the what is a balcony and if we lift the curtains up, it gives us the look of the very beautiful green Singapore. The feel is colonial architecture with the concoxation to the modern needs of a hotel property. The downside is the limited menu and service during late nights for vegetarians and one has to wait for the taxi unless you are willing to walk almost a mile from the juggle of the park mall located nearby. Go to this place if you like seclusion otherwise frankly there are better choices in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrVikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.7 mi away
Naumi Hotel
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#43 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vagabond, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fort Canning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fort Canning

Property: Hotel Fort Canning
Address: 11 Canning Walk Hotel Fort Caning, Singapore 178881, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#36 Business Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fort Canning 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the lush greenery of a historical park, the heritage Hotel Fort Canning offers a discreet sanctuary of calm in the vibrant city and an epitome of style and modern comfort in each of its 86 guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fort Canning reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fort Canning Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing