We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Peranakan food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlenut

Candlenut
Ranked #340 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
364 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Very good Peranakan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

For Perananka (something different and unique to this region - the cuisine of when Chinese people came to SE Asia and encountered the spices and flavours here) this was a great experience and I'd definitely return. We usually go to Blue Ginger but lately the reviews have not been great so I thought I'd give this a try.

The food was nicely prepared and felt like it was made to order. Dishes came out nice and hot and they were a good size, especially the prawns. Flavours were nice, sour, spicy - just all around different which is what we were looking for. Service was really nice and attentive.

Only complaint is that the restaurant needs some soft furnishings - feels a little bit like a hotel breakfast room. Other than that, it's a great restaurant wish some good food and a nice selection of drinks as well.

I'll definitely come back. Good value as well.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    88
    35
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, unpretentious restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Candlenut is directly opposite the enance to the Dorsett hotel in Chinatown and on top of Outram place MRT station. The decor is plain and simple, giving it an air of a dining hall. The herbs and spices are very fresh - and there are a lot of spices! The food was well presented and when one dish - the petai prawns - was too hot for one of our party, they provided a replacement dish ( crab curry) free of charge - nice touch. The assam fish dish was nicely cooked and the banana pudding - a very light sponge, small caremalised banana and ice cream shared between two - a nice finish. Worth a visit if you are in the area, but the food is spicy. One tip - try and get the more experienced waitress- the younger ones are pleasant but do not know the menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We were interested to try Candlenut, as we had not known of Peranakan cuisine prior to our visit to Singapore. Every dish was a different flavor profile, beautiful to look at, and absolutely delicious. The restaurant looks casual, but the food is not. It is just wonderful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljljrichco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I don't like to gush, but.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Super wary of fake TA reviews, so I read through quite a few to find a good meal for our last night in Singapore... Truly this did not disappoint. The crab curry was particularly nice; the ladies fingers were the best I've ever tasted and you can tell a lot about a restaurant by the fresh vegetables it serves/ crunchy, not slimy as badly cooked (okra) can be; just perfect.
My heart sank when I saw that it was in a new complex.. But then I didn't find any in-betweens here: either a bit shabby or a bit chic!
I would describe the service time as 'expected'. The food was freshly cooked, so the prep time had to happen. It was not busy at all. Service staff were very friendly and patiently answered questions and made suggestions.
I struggle to find anything wrong, and I'll definitely be recommending it to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HppyWnderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Restored our faith in Asian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Had three nights in Singapore and having had indifferent and expensive food for 2 nights it was a joy to visit Candlenut. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the Peranakan food was as good as we experienced in Malaysia. Fresh tasty and very well presented in a modern restaurant. 3 course meal for 2 with drinks and service charge 110 sing dollars. An absolute bargain compared to previous evenings.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Candlenut also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Candlenut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing