We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel. Off Little India.”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #110 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good hotel for honeymooners, foreigners ( Americans / Europeans ).Hotel has a good French restaurant. Mostly frequented by Europeans and Americans. Very few people from India. Very unusual hotel. Old building renovated and tastefully decorated. My room had a old bath tub - more a decorative item.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisLakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hi KrisLakshmi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Wanderlust Hotel during your recent trip to Singapore!

Previously a school, the Wanderlust Hotel was renovated with each floor designed by a different design agency with varying themes. What we like to term as an adult playground, the hotel has quirky rooms with themes such as Industrial Glam on the Ground Floor, Eccentricity on the 2nd Floor, Is It Black or White on the 3rd Floor and Creatures of Comfort on the top floor.

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Unlisted Collection group of hotels!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 853 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

A great and unique room we stayed in the yellow room. Quirky and interesting decor and a very good central location

It's such a shame the room was overlooking the main road as it was a little loud at night. The hotel did offer ear plugs to help.
If you don't mind a little noise then it's a perfect boutique hotel in a great city!!!

Plus they offer complimentary wifi, water and coffee in the room.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bristolbakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hi bristolbakedalaska,

Greetings from the Wanderlust Hotel!

We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that the ear plugs proved useful. Despite the noise at night, Little India is a charming neighbourhood with bustling activities taking place in the day and closely located to other sights on Singapore.

Should you be heading to London for a trip, do feel free to check out our sister properties - Town Hall Hotel & Apartments, One Leicester Street and 196 Bishopsgate!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Unlisted Collection group of hotels!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Singapore is a “bucket list” destination. The city has a seemingly endless array of attractions and experiences to satisfy even the most jaded traveller. As a first time visitor I quickly learned that Singapore's appeal extends beyond Raffles Hotel, Orchard Road and the gargantuan Marina Bay Sands (with its infinity pool and observation deck).

Little India, for example, is a riot of colour, aromas and commerce that overcomes the senses and makes you immediately aware that you are a long way from home.

Unless, like me, you are calling Little India “home” during your Singapore stopover.

Tucked away, down a narrow street lined with restaurants, markets and electrical supply shops you will find the funkiest and most exciting boutique hotel I’ve ever stayed in – The Wanderlust.

Our cab driver (clearly local) seemed unconvinced that the hotel would be located where I’d instructed him to drive. But it was there and it was, in a word, brilliant.

Readers acquainted with boutique hotels such as Melbourne’s The Cullen will have no difficulty in interpreting the Wanderlust’s rooms, though its scale is smaller, much smaller.

The ground floor consists of a modest reception, lounge area and in-house restaurant. Though this description of the ground floor does not do justice to the inventiveness and creativity of this space. Its all dark and mood – in a good way. Think old barbers chairs, sixties furniture and a foosball table in the middle of the floor. Think of lights above the bar constructed by glass bottles filled with coloured liquid. Think antique and eclectic knick knacks placed artfully in corners, of neon signs embedded in shiny black walls and wooden sideboards in the French infused dining room, Cocotte.

Access to the accommodation rooms is via a small internal elevator which, through significant re-design of the internal space, ascends fours floor up via a glass atrium, the base of which is a koi filled pond illuminated by natural light from the top of the atrium which is exposed to the elements. It’s a brilliant way of allowing the outside to come inside, but remain on the outside, if that makes sense.

The room, a “Mono”, is located on the third floor. It is small and lacks storage for luggage (as pointed out by other reviewers). But who cares, our room packs sufficient “wow factor” punch to overlook the restraints of the original buildings internal room dimensions. Access to the room is granted by waving your room “card” against the door (giving some indication of the technology built into the place). The room reveals a king sized bed underlit by slowly pulsating coloured neon light, a trend continued across the walls and ceiling of the main room.

The bathroom consists of two glass cubicles the size of telephone booths (one housing a shower, the other a toilet) and are separated by a vanity. The small black and white tiling adds drama to the space with a band of glass frosting providing the only privacy between the bathroom elements and the bedroom. Familiarity with one’s room mate is therefore a requirement in this type of room.

There is a Nespresso machine, iPod dock and a large wall mounted flat screen television. I did not find the neon lights to be a distraction. If anything, they were calming but for those not prepared to accept such an unconventional design element, there is a control panel built into the bed’s head board that enables the impact of the lighting to be modified.

There are a selection of other rooms, all completely different. But all, nonetheless, follow the same guiding principle when it comes to design – to blow your mind.

A complimentary daily re-stock of the mini bar’s (non-alcoholic) items was a surprise bonus, as was the breakfast which was served in Cocotte and consisted of cereals, juice, coffee and a choice of hot cooked items, pancakes or the most delicious fruit compote I’ve ever tasted in a hotel (all dragon fruit, grapes, raspberries, blueberries, paw paw etc . with natural yoghurt and lime zest).

Another surprise was the jacuzzi, a square colourfully mosaic tiled spa situated on an elevated deck with grass and artful deck lounges located at the rear of the second floor. To top it off, there was complimentary guest wifi and genuinely delightful staff who couldn’t do enough to ensure our comfort.

As to the bill, creativity does come at a price, but that price is significantly below what you’ll encounter in downtown Singapore and it did include wifi, breakfast and complimentary minibar.

If you’re the sort of person who’d prefer to visit Raffles or Marina Bay Sands (as opposed to reside there) these landmarks are easily accessed via the MTR rail system (as is the rest of Singapore), with Little India station a mere walk of ten minutes down the road.

Wanderlust, without a doubt one of the funkiest and most enjoyable places I’ve ever stayed. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hi Jas O,

Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Wanderlust Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the hotel's offerings. Nothing beats having a fellow traveller who enjoys a bit of good ol' fun like we do when on a holiday!

Do keep a lookout around your area as the Unlisted Collection group will be opening a new property in Sydney in the coming year and we definitely look forward to welcoming you back to the Unlisted Collection group of hotels!

Wishing you many more exciting travels ahead and till next time!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed in the purple room for 1 night, and was pretty impressed by it. Even though the room was quite small in size for the price we paid, but we loved the design and enjoyed the overall experience! Their themed rooms were very special. We wanted to get the space room, but unfortunately it was booked for the night, but the purple room was great as well! And kudos to their attention for detail. Sheets were clean and comfy; and because the hotel was located near the road, they provided earplugs for us just in case! Even though ultimately we had no need for them (the noise level wasn't as high as they claimed it could be), we were impressed by how they had attached a small apologetic note to the earplugs. To top it off, breakfast was GREAT. Thoroughly enjoyed the pancakes! I will definitely look out for a promotion to stay over again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joycjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Greetings from Wanderlust Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and breakfast at Cocotte! It was a pity that you did not get a chance to try out the Whimsical Lofts. We have several different friendly "monsters" in our Whimsical Lofts and it is great fun the discover each one of them.

Do come back and try our 2 other room categories at the Wanderlust - Mono rooms and Whimsical Lofts, and make sure to join us for lunch or dinner at Cocotte where we serve hearty French communal food at. There is more yummy goodness where that pancake came from!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights at their loft room. we got the typewriter themed room.

check in was a breeze, however first room they provided had a faulty aircon. transferred us to another room (same theme but much smaller) aircon working fine, and in the corner.

pool was small but comfortable as no one was there when my kid and husband were there. with cute rocking chairs to lounge on and little metal elephants to sit on.

recep was kind to assist in printing my email confirmation for a booking at sea aquarium singapore.

will stay here again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank serieiliyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi serieiliyah,

Thank you for your kind compliments!

We consistently strive to make our guests at home at the Wanderlust Hotel and do try our best to assist in any way possible. We are delighted to hear that your family and yourself enjoyed your stay in the Typewriter room as well as the Jacuzzi!

We would love to have your family and yourself back at our Unlisted Collection group of hotels and do feel free to check out our sister properties - Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed at Wanderlust while at Singapore for a music festival. We booked here to be near our friends at Bunc hostel right behind it (which was fully booked) and also we preferred to have an ensuite bathroom.

Check in was easy and good even though we arrived past midnight. We got the "Blue" room which gave us a right shock when we opened the door, as it felt like we entered through the Bathroom and then we saw the bed and it was just strange! Blue bathroom like tiles on the walls - then there was two glass enclosures which seemed like the feature of the room, one is the toilet and the other is the shower. The toilet enclosure was RIGHT BESIDE THE BED! My friend and I refused to use it cause it felt so wrong?! The pillow was also weird, a really long pillow for two people to share and my friend had flattened her side while she slept, and all the filling was on my side of the pillow, giving me a good sleep and her a terrible one!

We checked out the jacuzzi and it was kinda sad.

Plus points, NESPRESSO machine in the room was great!! There were also plenty of channels on the telly. The decor in the lobby and dining area was very charming. The breakfast was delicious. I had the pancakes on the last day there and have been dreaming of those pancakes since.

Room Tip: Stay away from the blue room, unless you have a weird fantasy of sleeping in a bathroom! It was sooo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliealmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hi Elliealmeida,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback of the Wanderlust Hotel.

We do acknowledge that the Pantone Rooms may not be everyone's liking. As the hotel is located within a conservation building, we do try to maximise the space in each room with the Pantone Rooms stylised after capsule rooms.

In each of our rooms at the Wanderlust, we provide 2 pillows and a bolster for guests to use and should you require additional pillows you may feel free to call our Front Desk and we would be pleased to assist.

Nevertheless, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the in-room amenities as well as breakfast at Cocotte! Perhaps during your next visit to Singapore, you may wish to check-out our sister property - Hotel 1929 located in the historic Chinatown with all rooms equipped with elevated beds and a stone's throw away from many sights and shops.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the Unlisted Collection group of hotels and we will strive to further improve ourselves to better your impression during your next stay with us!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Wanderlust during a stopover in Singapore and I really enjoyed the stay.
Pros
- The hotel is has a really cool modern design, we were in the blue pantone room
- Breakfast was lovely! Loved the french toast and fresh pastries
- Coffee pod in rooms... i would have drank them all if I wasn't pregnant at the time =(
- Really friendly and helpful staff. We had to have luggage repaired by the airport and we dropped off luggage to the front desk who organised all of this for us
- Was a competitive price for expensive singapore standards!

Con
- Like others have mentioned the rooms are small, and my issue was the that the small platform leading up to the bed is tiled which is... odd
- the bathroom is like two glass bubbles in the middle of the room (to one side) seperated by the sink. I was with my husband so thats fine, but may be inadequate privacy if with a friend
- the location means it is a 10min walk to most things, but you have to walk through hardware shops and construction sites. So while there are shops around, its not the type you would browse at unless you suddenly wanted to buy fruit/veg or a new rice cooker

Overall, I would stay here again, but only for the right price as i think singapore has a wide range of accommodation that may be better suited

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 7leafClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Marketing Executive at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi 7leafClover,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Wanderlust Hotel.

We do acknowledge that our Pantone Rooms may be slightly more compact and that the beds on the floor may not be very convenient for pregnant ladies. We do try however to maximise the space within the rooms and to offer guests a different experience at the Wanderlust.

Perhaps you would like to consider our other 2 hotels in Singapore during your next visit - Hotel 1929 and New Majestic Hotel which are located in the historic Chinatown neighbourhood.

Whilst in London, do pop-by our sister properties - Town Hall Hotel & Apartments and One Leicester Street!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Unlisted Collection group of hotels and restaurants and wishing you a safe delivery!

Warm regards,
Yan Goh
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#116 of 317 in Singapore
241 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
1,600 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#53 of 317 in Singapore
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#59 of 317 in Singapore
454 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,187 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#10 of 317 in Singapore
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
#93 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $116 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing