We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, good location”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #94 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a spacious Mono room and had a great stay. The hotel was modern and refreshing, plus excellent value for money by Singapore standards. The bed was huge. The breakfast was amazing. We travelled with a 12 month old baby and had requested a cot when we made the booking (thru expedia). This was waiting in the room for us when we arrived! We did think about trying to squeeze the cot into a Pantone room, but we saw into one of these rooms and I think this really would have been tight. Our only complaint was that the jacuzzi was not open.

Staff were very helpful. They even fully refunded a booking for 2 of our friends who had to cancel their trip the day before we left for medical reasons. There were earplugs in our room but we didn't need them. Our room was away from the road but there was an alleyway outside our window. However the cafe on the alleyway wasn't particularly noisy.

The location was good. Nearest MRT station was 10-15 minute walk. Decent selection of restaurants (including 1 or 2 Western style) available at shopping centre near Bugis MRT.

Room Tip: Mono rooms are significantly larger than Pantone rooms, if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markcanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear markcanz,

Warm hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your fantastic compliments.

We are truly pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was unfortunate that the Jacuzzi was undergoing some minor refurbishments when you were staying with us. We hope that you will be able to enjoy the full facilities of the hotel when you are next with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (835)
There are newer reviews for Wanderlust
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 835 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this nice hotel wich has a very artistic vibe. Every room has a different character, our room for example was completely pink and reminded a bit of a cubicle. It was very tiny but absolutely clean and neat. Best shower ever! :-)
The hotel is situated in the middle of "little india" wich is a very colourful and nice area of Singapore. We enjoyed it there very much.
Also the staff was really nice and friendly. The helped us a lot with different things. And they did have a great breakfast.
They do also have a jacuzzi, but we didn´t had the time to check it out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear lilahk,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you greatly enjoyed the designs and uniqueness of Wanderlust. We are also glad to hear that the team went over-and-above to make your stay memorable and without want.

We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really liked this hotel; the staff were wonderful, the rooms were beautifully decorated and the location was great. The only issue we had was the room layout. The bathroom was incorporated in the room which was not a problem, except that the shower and toilet were in frosted glass boxes, with the toilet cubicle being the closest to the bed. This was a little disconcerting. The layout would have worked much better had the shower been the closest to the bed, not the toilet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhainesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear mhainesuk,

Hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the team was hospitable and helpful. Wanderlust is indeed rather quirky, what with the various room categories each having its own theme and layouts. Perhaps you may like to try out our other room categories the next time you are staying with us to experience another aspect of the hotel.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you like unusual and quirky hotel, the Wanderlust fits the bill. All rooms are individually designed by Singapore creatives. It's zany, some outlandish with loft beds with ceiling of 'stars', bold murals and edgy features such as seats swinging from chains in the ceiling and mood lighting. The rooms are quite compact being converted from shophouses in Little India, a lively ethnic quarter of the Indian community. Service is very attentive and efficient. Free Wifi and Nespresso coffee machine in rooms. This bijou hotel is an acquired taste but it is fun for those who want to shy away from conventional rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms with natural light from windows are better than darker rooms facing the airwell. Rooms with be...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenOon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear HelenOon,

Warm greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

With each floor designed by a different local design agency, Wanderlust is certainly not considered your average hotel. We are pleased that you loved the quirky rooms, and that you enjoyed the unique cultural experience that is Little India. Do give our other room categories a go when you are staying with us next.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

this hotel is fantastic.
Conveniently located near two well-located RMT stations, in a slightly calmer street of Little India.
Every room has its own unique design that is really funky and fun, the pantone rooms are each have a song/colour theme. there is a slight spacey / capsule feel to them, but the rooms are decent sized so not claustrophobic.
The bed was easily the best hotel bed i have ever slept in.
Perhaps most importantly, the staff are incredibly accommodating and helpful, with lots of good suggestions for places to eat.
We had a 2am flight the next day so when we checked out at noon, the guys at the front desk told us to keep our bags there, and to come back later and they'd give us a temporary room for a shower to freshen up before we left to the airport. These types of things really make the difference and set hotels apart - I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends going to Singapore.

Room Tip: Pantone rooms are super cool, however if you have a lot of luggage might want to upgrade to a larger...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear A A,

Hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time staying with us. It was great to note that the team was exceptional in their service to you, and that that really made your stay with us all the more memorable.

Each floor of the hotel is designed by a different local design agency and has its own theme, so you may like to try out a different room category the next time you are with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

stayed in the loft treehouse for a night and was sorely disappointed. the design of the room is very poor, inadequate lighting for instance, makes it dangerous going up and down the stairs. the water kept leaking out from the shower/tub area, and the height of the tub is too high and i almost slipped trying to get out of it. sink has no counter space to put any toiletries and there is little luggage space.

surly faced staff at breakfast. receptionists (all local) were very good though, and bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilybulb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear lilybulb,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your stay with us. The comfort and safety of our guests are our top priorities. Please be assured that we have taken your feedback very seriously and the issues mentioned have been addressed accordingly.

We recognise that the unique room layouts and the quirky designs of Wanderlust may not be for every traveller. Perhaps in the future, you may like to try our sister property, New Majestic Hotel, instead. With bigger rooms and more hotel facilities, we think you may find it more to your liking.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to continual improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My review has to start with the bed, maybe too soft for some but personally it was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in....

The wanderlust hotel is a great little boutique hotel with friendly and helpful staff and a lovely atmosphere. The style of the hotel is perfect for its location in little India and met all of our needs for a whistles top tour of Singapore.

Room Tip: Even our basic room was lovely we were in the green room and it was just right for us!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Holly H,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#53 of 316 in Singapore
1,563 reviews
Lloyd's Inn
#60 of 316 in Singapore
814 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#129 of 316 in Singapore
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#9 of 316 in Singapore
1,249 reviews
Hotel YAN
#50 of 316 in Singapore
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#83 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $108 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing