We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Interior, Great Services”
Review of Wanderlust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wanderlust
Ranked #92 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Interior, Great Services”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in a Whimsical room (Tree House), the interior is awesome, but maybe more light will be nice as it is quite hard to find some stuff especially in the rainy season where there's no sunlight come into the room.
I love the bed is very comfortable, the (non alcoholic) minibar is fully complimentary and refilled every day. There is also a Nespresso machine for preparing coffee in the room.
The breakfast at the hotel is very good. I love the soft omelette. They have a very good services, they even prepared us a breakfast to go since we have early flight.

Room Tip: The tree house has a steep staircase, and the bed is located on top area of the room. I don't re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Nana F,

Hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us, and that you enjoyed the treats provided in the rooms. As our Whimsical rooms are themed differently, you may like to try out a different theme the next time you are with us. Alternatively, you can try out another room category to experience a different aspect of the hotel.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    327
    99
    40
    18
See reviews for
56
441
97
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was unsure whether I had done the right thing booking this hotel, since for this (return) visit to Singapore I was travelling alone and being old enough to have grandchildren perhaps it would be a bit too trendy for me?. I need not have worried - the staff made me very welcome, the room (origami) was lovely,great shower,nice bed - some drawers would have helped but not a problem.The breakfast was good, and I really like Little India, feeling perfectly safe walking around alone in the evenings and enjoying the Deepavali festivities and crowds. There are plenty of places to eat locally and the mrt is within walking distance - once armed with an ez-link card travel around Singapore is quite straightforward and inexpensive. The only downside is the noise from next door,next time I would ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nannaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear nannaq,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are happy to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that the team was welcoming and friendly. We hope to have you back with us soon!

Until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Having stayed in Wanderlust's sister hotel before, I was excited to find a chance to stay in this cool boutique hotel. Listed as one of the hotel in Singapore under the Design Hotels collection, from the building facade, to lobby to its 3 different room types, Wanderlust provided a different experience to the hotel guests.
We were lucky to have our Whimsical room early, and the check in procedure was fast. We were brought up to our room by the hotel staff and introduced the facilities of this hotel. It is shamed that there jacuzzi was under renovation, though we will unlikely be using it, but I do want to experience the nice design around the jacuzzi area.
When we entered the room, the room turned out to be much smaller than I'd expected. I'd requested for "Bling" or "Space" room, which I thought the size of both room would be the same, since both were under the same room category. But the room I'd got, "bling" room, was almost half the size of "space" room. (I managed to checkout the other designed rooms when the housekeepers were cleaning the room). The "bling" room, a loft room with a comfortable bed on the second storey, have a pretty steep ladder to access to the bed, underneath the partitioned bed area, was the shower area, with a bathtub nicely placed adjacent to the toilet. Though the space was cleverly utilized, the shortage of lighting especially the basin area made it challenging for us to groom ourselves.
It was a nice gesture to provide free mini bar with juices, coke and coffee, but we didn't really take the advantage of it, maybe the selection weren't to my preference. The breakfast is a must-have. I'm not a breakfast person but after all the fellow reviewers' recommendation, I woke up early to have a try at it. And I really enjoyed the tasty breakfast. Not the ordinary buffet breakfast you find in other hotel, but a semi-buffet that lets you choose your mains and free flow bread, muesli bar servings, which is good enough to get your day started.

All in all the stay was good for a staycation over the weekend as what we wanted at a comfortable yet cool hotel.
I would have given a 5-star rating if it is not for the smaller size of the room which I felt a little disappointed with. Wanderlust should have another room category for rooms like "bling" room, which is slightly lower than whimsical room, at least I will fell that the amount I'd paid for was worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear hawick,

Warm hellos from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous review.

We are disappointed to hear that the Bling room was not what you had expected. Wanderlust is certainly not your typical hotel, and the design and layout of the rooms are very individually configured. Every room is uniquely designed to fit the constraints of being housed in a conservation building. Perhaps the next time, you may like to try a different room to experience a different aspect of the hotel.

On a brighter note, we are pleased to note that you had a great stay overall. We do hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Wanderlust for three days during my recent trip to Singapore. The hotel is very special and has a very interesting interior design.
The rooms are very special unlike anything I have stayed in before. I got the white room, so everything was white. It almost seems like entering a large bathroom. There are two frosted glass cubicles in the room, in on is the toilet and the other the shower. At the end of the room there's a large bed. The (non alcoholic) minibar is complimentary and refilled every day. There is also a Nespresso machine for preparing coffee in the room.
The only drawback is the lack of storage space. I had to keep all my things in the suitcase on the floor.
The breakfast at the hotel is very good. It is a semi-buffet meaning some things like cereal, juices and toast are available from the buffet table. In addition to that, they serve a warm dish of your choice to the table. You can choose between bacon and eggs or pancakes etc.
The hotel is situated on a small on way street in Little India and due to a rather large road construction nearby (Nov '12) there is very much traffic in the early evening so getting there by taxi/car can take a long time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Niko H,

Greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and thought that the breakfast was excellent. You may like to try our other room categories the next time you are with us, as each floor is designed by a different local design agency.

We hope to have you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great boutique hotel in Little India. We stayed in the orange room for 3 nights in May and had a lovely stay. The room is on the small side, but contains everything you need: great rain shower, Kiehl shower products, Nespresso coffee machine, comfy bed, good lighting and great aircon. The room was kept spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. We loved the a la carte breakfast and muesli bar. Great start of the day.

On our next visit to Singapore we'll definitely stay at Wanderlust again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear yumyum5,

Warm greetings from the team at Wanderlust!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased that you felt that the rooms were well-provided for and that the team was helpful and friendly. Each floor is designed by a different local design agency, so the next time you are staying with us, you may like to request for a room in a different category.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and in the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

When i come, i need to wait until 3pm to get the room. The spa is broken and nothing is offered to compensate it. But the main disturbance is they still callling room at 2.30 until 4 am repeatedly only to check if i had extra guest who stays over. 2.30 am can you imagine? Terrible. Might be intending to charge another 100. I can book much better hotel at 350 and without all the hassle receptionist is stalking everything i do. The design is nice, but with the ill manner reception i recommend to stay out. This is my second time here and sure will be the last.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Irsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Irsandy,

Greetings from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that your stay fell short of expectations.

Our check-in time is 3pm, and any early check-in requests are subject to room availability upon arrival at the hotel.

In order to better serve our guests, we are currently undergoing refurbishment for our Jacuzzi.

We understand your frustration, however, it is the hotel's policy that only 2 registered guests are allowed to stay overnight in the rooms. It is stipulated in the hotel’s confirmation letter that unregistered guests have to leave the hotel’s premises by 2300hrs, and failure to comply will result in extra adult charges.

We seek your kind understanding on this matter, and we do regret any inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a Pantone room, only issue was access to bed but once in very comfortable.Excellent service from very friendly staff, great breakfasts and we were given late check out as Spa closed for renovations.Quirky,different but overall we would highly recommend this hotel Only complaint was noise from open air restaurant next door ..Next time we would upgrade to a normal room on next level

Room Tip: Pantone rooms better for younger guests as bed access difficult
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgcolin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at Wanderlust, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear mgcolin53,

Hellos from Wanderlust!
Thank you for your great feedback.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Housed in a conservation building, we recognize that some of the rooms are quite compact. Perhaps you may like to request for a quiet room in the Mono room category the next time you are staying at Wanderlust.

We hope to have the opportunity to impress you again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Lloyd's Inn
#58 of 312 in Singapore
784 reviews
Little India
The Daulat Hotel
The Daulat Hotel
#133 of 312 in Singapore
213 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#47 of 312 in Singapore
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel YAN
#56 of 312 in Singapore
333 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 312 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanderlust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanderlust

Property: Wanderlust
Address: 2 Dickson Road Wanderlust Hotel, Singapore 209494, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#86 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanderlust 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wanderlust in Little India draws madcap, curious voyagers to the old ethnic enclave. Made for guests with a sense of adventure, we invite you to walk the unconventional path where a radical hotel experience awaits.Its history began in the 1920s as the Hong Wen School, where the building at No 2 Dickson Road still retains its old-world charm with an unchanged façade. Situated 10 minutes from the cosmopolitan stretches of Orchard Road and the Central Business District; Wanderlust also offers door step access to a bustling, colourful street life. The four storey boutique hotel has 29 rooms. Just as no 2 rooms are identical, the same can be said for each floor in the hotel. It features the groundbreaking works of award-winning Singapore design agencies. Each agency was given full creative freedom to design an entire level in the hotel, resulting in four, different ‘in-your-face’ themes – ‘Industrial Glam’, ‘Eccentricity’, ‘Is It Just Black and White?‘ and ’Creature Comforts.’ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wanderlust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanderlust Hotel Singapore
Wanderlust Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing